We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Running out of superlatives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudding Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rudding Park Hotel to your Saves list
Rudding Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Yorkshire Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
England
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Running out of superlatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Like another recent reviewer we used to stay at Rudding Park to visit Harrogate, we now visit Harrogate as an excuse to stay at Rudding Park.

We have just returned from another weekend break here which included a lunch party with two small children. The accommodation, staff and food were up to the usual exceptionally high standard.

Best of all every member of staff encountered made a real fuss of the children which is such a nice change from some of the other better class establishments we’ve been to which really just “tolerated” them.

I really am running out of suitable words to describe Rudding Park. In my opinion it is as near perfect hotel experience you can get. If you get the opportunity to try it please do; I promise you won’t be disappointed?


Thanks to every single member of staff for making our stay so perfect

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Wow, what a lovely review thank you so much!

We are all so pleased that you and your family once again enjoyed your stay with us, including the accommodation, staff and food.

We love welcoming children to Rudding Park and enjoy spending time making sure they enjoy their stay, many of us have our own children so know how important it is too keep them happy, busy and entertained!

Thank you also for recommending us to others, we constantly do our very best to look after our guests and it is great to be recognised for this.

We look forward to welcoming you and your little ones back to Rudding Park soon.

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,620
    245
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
331
1,742
36
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked Rudding Park for a one night stay including spa treatments, evening meal and breakfast.

Upon arrival we had a complimentary bottle of Prosecco in our room together with a card wishing us a happy wedding anniversary and a gift bag containing more Molton Brown toileteries - a lovely very unexpected surprise.

The spa treatments were very good but its a shame they dont have a pool and larger area for steam room etc.

The evening meal was very good although small portions for hungry men! Breakfast was served as ordred from a menu - much nicer than food being kept warm under lamps.

The hotel itself was very well decorated with beautiful grounds, the room was filled with techy gadgets and was very modern with a lovely big bathroom including Molton Brown products.

All in all we were very impressed and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Follifoot wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a great couple of days our golf club ladies had! The service from ALL members of staff was second to none, and attention to detail was amazing. Even our golf gear was accommodated overnight and batteries charged for the 'off' on the next day! What a joy to see a smiling, friendly and helpful member of staff at every turn - obviously happy in their work! On top of all this - gorgeous surroundings and great food! No praise high enough for this place! Sue C

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I think that this is my third review of this hotel and everytime we stay I probably look more closely in order to find fault. Unfortunately or should I say fortunately I struggle to find anything remotely like a black mark! This hotel is superb. From the greeting on arrival to the au revoir on departure the hotel and its staff tick all the boxes. All the staff are pleasant, immaculately dressed and show a real passion and knowledge for the job they are doing. They are a credit to themselves as well as the hotel. The menu's are exciting and the quality of the food is excellent. The prawns and sea bass which I had for dinner were probably some of the best fish I have had the pleasure to eat. Every guest is treated as an individual and any quirks which individuals may have are documented and on subsequent visits these are acted upon. For example, personally I find the hotels' policy of charging for home made biscuits in your room (only a £1 but that's not the point) extremely annoying and poultry. To the hotels credit they have this documented and whenever I arrive there is always home made bisucuits already in my room without me either having to ask or being charged for. Except on my most recent visit when I booked on line. I commented on the biscuit issue on departure and to the Receptionist's horror my booking on line and not been "synced" with my details already on their system! I have every confidence that this will have already been put right - its just that sort of hotel.
The Follifoot Wing rooms are a luxurious haven and are immaculately well kept. If you can bare to leave the hotel you will find it is well situated both for the larger towns of Yorkshire as well as the rural moorland of Yorkshire leading to the East Coast. There is plenty to see and do while staying at Rudding Park for all ages. Go and indulge yourselves - you won't be sorry and you will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent a fabulous 5 nights at Rudding Park for our 'wedding week' in June , and had an amazing time from beginning to end. We had a suite which is worth every penny, extremely spacious and luxurious. We made the most of the facilities, the Golf and Spa would compete with most 5 star hotels.I believe there are plans on the horizon for a swimming pool, which will be the icing on the cake! As for our wedding , it ran like clock work throughout the whole day, with the help of Niki , the Duty Manager, who was fantastic. I also have to thank the doorman, who is from Portugal ( I cant remember his name) , his customer service goes above and beyond expectations. Steven, the Guest Services Manager , couldnt do enough for us from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. All of our guests, 40 of whom were also staying in the hotel ,commented on the beautiful food and excellent service, We had stayed at the hotel a few occasions previous to our wedding and had experienced the same levels of service every time. It is only a matter of time before this hotel is awarded 5 star status, which will be well and truly deserved. Having stayed in many luxury hotels , some do tend lose the personal touches and attention to detail, which is what makes Rudding Park stand out from the rest
We shall definately be returning in the near future. Thanks again to all the staff there for creating special memories on our amazing day!

Room Tip: Follifoot Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. The excellence starts from when arriving a doorman takes your luggage and parks your car for you. All the staff are very friendly and well trained and nothing is too much trouble. A free Daily Paper (of your choice) is delivered to your room and there is no niggling extra charge for Wi-Fi which seems to be available throughout the hotel.
Breakfast is a delight, where you choose from a well thought out buffet and you order a cooked breakfast of your choice.
The bedrooms are tastefully modern and contain everything you could possibly want, with a huge bathroom with seperate shower.

Room Tip: Would certainly recommend a room in the Follifoot Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Well your review certainly made us all smile even more – thank you!

It is wonderful that you feel we are a fantastic hotel and that we are friendly, you are right, nothing is too much trouble for us, we love pampering our guests and anticipating their every need.

Our Food and Beverage team were thrilled that you gave breakfast a special mention, the buffet and cooked breakfast menu is something we are all very proud of, we wonder if you tried our famous kippers?!

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park soon for some more smiles.

With kind regards

The Rudding Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We live in Spain and have done for thirty years.We travelled to this Hotel to celebrate my wifes 60th birthday.We both wanted a little bit of luxury for a week.We were not dissapointed we have stayed in many hotels around the world and this one is by far the best. The rooms were fantastic breakfast a delight but above all the staff and service was without doubt the finest we have ever come across. I hope it will not be too long before we are staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rudding Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Park Hotel

Address: Rudding Park, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Follifoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudding Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Rudding Park lies three miles south of Harrogate and thirty minutes north of Leeds. The 4 red star stylish hotel includes 90 luxury bedrooms, 2 AA Rosette Clocktower restaurant, a spa, gym, 14 seat cinema and 17 event rooms. Rudding Park's 18 hole golf course and 6 hole Repton Short Course run through the existing 300 acre parkland and the Golf Academy provides state of the art tuition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rudding Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudding Park Harrogate
Hotel Rudding Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudding Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.