We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful autumn getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City to your Saves list
Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Watson Boulevard, Johnson City, NY 13790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hotel Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful autumn getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at Traditions at the Glen Resort in early October of 2012. I was there for a wedding, and we had a WONDERFUL time! I stayed in room 3134 which has a corner fireplace and beautiful corner windows. The bathroom was beautiful too. Had I been there with a significant other it would have been the perfect romantic getaway. The entire staff (including the cleaning staff) were so friendly and polite, and yet the resort never felt too stuffy as to disuade us from having a great time. A special shout out to the bartender Dillan who made our stay extra awesome!

Room Tip: As I mentioned, room 3134 was all the way at the end of the hotel on the second floor. Though the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
29
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you're looking for a resort to host your wedding , this is it ! Everything from the rooms, spa, food and especially the service was more that we could have hoped for!
* the staff even found my lost ring a week later after an exhaustive search !! Thank you !!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton,MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a great place. My son and I had traveled from NH heading west through NY. Knowing we had to stop later in the evening, to come upon this property put my mind at ease immediately. It was near shopping malls, not too far from the highway and you drove in and up the hill. passed a white tent they used for events. It was 10 pm at night and we had not a clue what the area was like so after arriving to this welcoming environment, I felt safer and could sleep knowing I was near civilization. Sounds corny, but when traveling with a child, it was a relief. Doesn't look like much in the picture but it is clean, marble counters, rooms seem fragrance free, (which is important for me) and not much noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Our team was pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations! We feel we are in the perfect location – just removed for that resort backdrop yet only one mile from the shopping mall and major 24 hour super grocery store. We would love the opportunity to serve you and your family again should your travels bring you through the Greater Binghamton area. Hopefully, you might have the chance to arrive a bit earlier to take advantage of our additional services and amenities! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Formerly the IBM Country Club, the hotel is located on a golf course just outside of Binghamton. The rooms are small, but modern, and include free wifi. The walls are thin, however, so you can hear any little noise in the corridor. There is a complete spa on premises, which my wife enjoyed. I played golf on their course, which was reasonably priced. We also hiked on the adjacent hiking trails, which run through forested areas (very hilly, but a good workout). Tell them you have family going to Binghamton University (son, daughter) and you will get a better room rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We appreciate your constructive feedback! It is true; we are a historic site and played a big part in IBM’s history. The former Homestead Mansion was host to numerous important guests including its loyal employees!
Our Full Service State of the Art Spa and Salt Sanctuary offer various services and treatments. All overnight guests receive a discount and use of the steam showers pending availability. We are glad to hear that the Upstate New York weather was cooperative so you were able to enjoy a round of golf on our Championship Course! Remember to take use of the practice greens and driving range for warm up next time.
The next time you visit and venture out on the trails, may we suggest a slower pace and glance around. Many folks have said they have come across old water spouts from when the hillside was covered with canvassed tents known as Tent City during the IBM era.
We certainly offer special rates for our friends and family of Binghamton University! We also offer various corporate rates, packages and other special occasion discounts. Check around all major holidays as we typically have promotions then.
Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to serve! We look forward to such an opportunity in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was passing through on my way to Buffalo and had been looking for more than just the typical, boring and cookie cutter interstate motel. I found the Traditions at Glen Resort in Johnson City and was very please with the experience.

I do have to say that the room that I was given was very small and the hallway noise was evident, although didn't cause any problems in the night. The property is very nicely located and the hotel itself is well cared for. The room was extremely clean and the bed was comfortable...it was just very small.

Had dinner in the dining room / bar. There appeared to be one guy (Tony) who was bar tender, waiter, bus boy. It was alot but he did a great job.

I would never hesitate to stay here again...not sure when passing through... It was a good night sleep...certainly better than any of the typical alternatives.

Room Tip: Verify the room you are getting...maybe worth paying a little more for a suite...I wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your valuable response! It is guests, such as you, who are the reason we LOVE what we do! Our Traditional Kings are on the cozy side in keeping with the original feel of the guest rooms when it was owned by IBM. You are correct; we do have a few more spacious options at additional charges. Our Guest Service team takes great pride in providing quality accommodations for all guests.
Our Tavern is also on the cozy side offering limited dinner menu, but with an intimate ambiance. We have shared your positive comments regarding service with the team. We do also offer room service during our Tavern hours of operation.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you should you pass through the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay here. It is a four star hotel in my book. Rooms were immaculately clean, as was the whole facility. Bathroom was very upscale. The whole building and grounds are neat and memorable, so much more fun than a standard Hampton Inn with a spa and golf for those inclined. Lovely drive up the golf course to the building makes driving in memorable. Complementary free breakfast buffet was above average. Not much first class lodging in the Binghamton area. There is a library, rooms to relax. Feels more like a resort than a hotel. This has to be it. It's only downside: rooms are pretty pricey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are thrilled that recently you had an opportunity to visit with us! Our team continuously aspires to exceed every guests expectations and I am pleased we have done so during your stay. Perhaps during your next trip we could offer you a map of the hiking trails or a chance to take advantage of the discounts in the full service spa or at the championship golf course. We do also have a Tavern serving dinner nightly. We do offer guest room discounts and specials regularly; contact a guest service representative for more details! Thank you for your positive response. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were travelling from the Toronto area to New York City with two kids and wanted to break the long drive into two parts. After reviewing many hotels and reviews we decided on this hotel. We were there for one night going to New York and one night coming home. Check in was smooth, rooms were clean and continental breakfast was included. A nice comfortable stop for us. Two queen beds and a nice size bathroom. A little off the highway, but only a few minutes. We would stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are delighted that you had an opportunity to stay with us! Our team continually strives to exceed every guest’s expectations during every visit with Traditions. We do offer complimentary continental breakfast Monday through Saturday with an elaborate Sunday Breakfast Buffet separate from the room bill. There is quite a bit to do here at Traditions and in the Greater Binghamton Area for families. Let our Guest Service team further assist you during your next visit! Thank you for starting a new ‘Tradition’ with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City

Address: 4101 Watson Boulevard, Johnson City, NY 13790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an exhilarating round of golf, a pampering spa treatment, superb dining and luxurious accommodations all in one scenic, historic destination. Nestled amid rolling hills and a lovely wooded area, our hotel in the Greater Binghamton Area offers unique rooms and spacious suites, an 18-hole championship golf course, a full-service, state of the art spa, salt sanctuary and seasonal Tavern dining letting you enjoy your leisure time without leaving the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traditions At The Glen Hotel Johnson City
Traditions At Glen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.