We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than The Roadside Motel Options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City to your Saves list
Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Watson Boulevard, Johnson City, NY 13790   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hotel Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much Better Than The Roadside Motel Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was passing through on my way to Buffalo and had been looking for more than just the typical, boring and cookie cutter interstate motel. I found the Traditions at Glen Resort in Johnson City and was very please with the experience.

I do have to say that the room that I was given was very small and the hallway noise was evident, although didn't cause any problems in the night. The property is very nicely located and the hotel itself is well cared for. The room was extremely clean and the bed was comfortable...it was just very small.

Had dinner in the dining room / bar. There appeared to be one guy (Tony) who was bar tender, waiter, bus boy. It was alot but he did a great job.

I would never hesitate to stay here again...not sure when passing through... It was a good night sleep...certainly better than any of the typical alternatives.

Room Tip: Verify the room you are getting...maybe worth paying a little more for a suite...I wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your valuable response! It is guests, such as you, who are the reason we LOVE what we do! Our Traditional Kings are on the cozy side in keeping with the original feel of the guest rooms when it was owned by IBM. You are correct; we do have a few more spacious options at additional charges. Our Guest Service team takes great pride in providing quality accommodations for all guests.
Our Tavern is also on the cozy side offering limited dinner menu, but with an intimate ambiance. We have shared your positive comments regarding service with the team. We do also offer room service during our Tavern hours of operation.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you should you pass through the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
40
29
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay here. It is a four star hotel in my book. Rooms were immaculately clean, as was the whole facility. Bathroom was very upscale. The whole building and grounds are neat and memorable, so much more fun than a standard Hampton Inn with a spa and golf for those inclined. Lovely drive up the golf course to the building makes driving in memorable. Complementary free breakfast buffet was above average. Not much first class lodging in the Binghamton area. There is a library, rooms to relax. Feels more like a resort than a hotel. This has to be it. It's only downside: rooms are pretty pricey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are thrilled that recently you had an opportunity to visit with us! Our team continuously aspires to exceed every guests expectations and I am pleased we have done so during your stay. Perhaps during your next trip we could offer you a map of the hiking trails or a chance to take advantage of the discounts in the full service spa or at the championship golf course. We do also have a Tavern serving dinner nightly. We do offer guest room discounts and specials regularly; contact a guest service representative for more details! Thank you for your positive response. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were travelling from the Toronto area to New York City with two kids and wanted to break the long drive into two parts. After reviewing many hotels and reviews we decided on this hotel. We were there for one night going to New York and one night coming home. Check in was smooth, rooms were clean and continental breakfast was included. A nice comfortable stop for us. Two queen beds and a nice size bathroom. A little off the highway, but only a few minutes. We would stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are delighted that you had an opportunity to stay with us! Our team continually strives to exceed every guest’s expectations during every visit with Traditions. We do offer complimentary continental breakfast Monday through Saturday with an elaborate Sunday Breakfast Buffet separate from the room bill. There is quite a bit to do here at Traditions and in the Greater Binghamton Area for families. Let our Guest Service team further assist you during your next visit! Thank you for starting a new ‘Tradition’ with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location. Rooms are well equipped and spacious. The suites are lovely. Staff were very accommodating. Great customer service. Good breakfast in the am. Spa and golf are a plus. Love Traditions!

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Your comments offer our team valuable feedback as we strive to be the areas’ premier hotel and conference center! We are pleased that you had an opportunity to one of our luxurious suites adorned with a few extras. Our attentive team aspires to exceed every guest’s expectations and we are thrilled to have done so during your visit! Should the weather cooperate during your next stay and time allows, take a nice walk through the Glen hiking trails. Thank you and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a nice place with trails and scenic views. Good location to the triple city area, close to interstate access. We did not use the spa or golf but the services are available and look nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. There aren't refrigerators in all of the rooms but if you ask you can get one. You can also earn points from frequent stays. It appears the facilities are used for events on the weekends but it is quiet during the week. This is a nice getaway and is a different experience from the corporate chain hotels. Look for specials on rates by calling the desk.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for such positive feedback! Our team continually strives to exceed every guest’s expectations during each visit to Traditions. We welcome all guest observations; it is the greatest evaluation to determine we are providing unsurpassed service as we endeavor to do. Again, thank you and we look forward to assisting with your next visit to Traditions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived on a Friday night and they had outdoor barbecue and band playing at back of hotel. Our reservation was not in the system and fortunately I had printout of hotels.com with me to prove I made a reservation. First the pro's : the bed was very comfortable, room and bathroom clean, enough towels, the location is beautiful and restful, friendly staff, breakfast was good with bacon, scrambled eggs, danish, bagels, waffles, juices...
Con's : unless you booked a suite, our ground floor room was very cramped, one of the smallest hotel rooms I stayed in. The shade did not roll up, which made the dark room even darker.
The band played till 10pm, I thought that after that I was going to have a good night sleep, no such luck. There was a tent behind our room where that evening a rehearsal dinner/party? took place and for unknown reasons the staff started emptying the tent of the furniture at 10.15pm and this was done with all the racket expected, slamming doors in the hallway, loud talking, furniture scraping on the floor. This went on till 1.15am, no thought that maybe guests were trying to sleep...
Do not stay here during weekend, unless of course you are attending a party or wedding and you are up till the wee hours anyway.
I did have to laugh with the sign in the hall way that said to be mindful of the other guests and not disturb them?!?

Room Tip: Reserve a suite, stay during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for not providing you with our best standards. Our traditional rooms with one king bed are on the cozy side. The owners utilized two original rooms from when the property served IBM. We have a few other room type options which might appeal to any guest wishing for a little more space. In the summer we partner with a local radio station to provide live entertainment on Fridays and offering a lite fair menu. We have shared your feedback with regards to our team clearing and cleaning the Valley View tent after an event. For this we deeply apologize. The signs in the hallways denoting quiet zones are for guests and employees alike of which we have reminded our team. This is not a typical practice of moving equipment at such a late hour in an area guests are attempting to sleep. We make every effort to ensure ALL of our guests have a wonderful experience with Traditions. We would certainly welcome an opportunity to serve you again and exceed your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback as we endeavor to be extraordinary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband booked the Thomas J. Watson suite for my 50th birthday. It was beautiful and amazingly comfortable. We had a nice walk on the trails that wander through a nature preserve near the hotel, then a drink in the tavern with an amazing view. It was very quiet and restful. Nice breakfast. Then a treat at the spa adjoining. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfata, Assistant General Manager at Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
How wonderful you had an opportunity to join us in one of our deluxe suites for such a special occasion! It is one of our favorite rooms capturing a bit of history with its original bathroom, fireplace and wood floors. We enjoy sharing the vast history that comes with these suites. The hiking trails at the Glen, part of the Waterman Conservation Center, are a wonderful retreat. They say if you wander off the trails you might even come across some of the old water pipes that used to supply “tent city” with running water! We have gladly shared your comments with our team at the Spa also. The beginning of the week is usually the ‘quiet’ time around Traditions. In the summer on Friday nights we try to spice things up a bit with live music. We do look forward to the opportunity to serve during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City

Address: 4101 Watson Boulevard, Johnson City, NY 13790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Johnson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an exhilarating round of golf, a pampering spa treatment, superb dining and luxurious accommodations all in one scenic, historic destination. Nestled amid rolling hills and a lovely wooded area, our hotel in the Greater Binghamton Area offers unique rooms and spacious suites, an 18-hole championship golf course, a full-service, state of the art spa, salt sanctuary and seasonal Tavern dining letting you enjoy your leisure time without leaving the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traditions At The Glen Hotel Johnson City
Traditions At Glen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traditions at the Glen, Resort and Hotel - Binghamton/Johnson City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.