We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifully located but not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calipau Sahara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Calipau Sahara to your Saves list
Hotel Calipau Sahara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 5 Avenue El Walaa | lagune, Ad Dakhla 73000, Western Sahara   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ad Dakhla
london
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“beautifully located but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having stayed at this idyllic location before, I could not wait to take friends back there. The first impression (from the road) is always "we're not staying there, are we?" as the approach is as if to a shed. Thats because the hotel is built down the side of rocks onto the beach.
Once inside, the location overlooking the lagoon is spectacular, the rooms are not luxurious but very comfortable and with spectacular views, although the common parts are barn-like and always windy in my experience. The swimming pool is a bit odd and not always very clean and the spa is nice but not all advertised treatments were available when we were there.
The restaurant serves good local food and breakfasts on the terrace are lovely. The service can be iffy, but is usually friendly, although with a very young staff, you may find a willing or an unwilling response. One of our party got sick and the initial response from Reception was "sorry, can't help", although when we called the on-site owner, all the stops were pulled out!
This must be one of the world's spectacularly located hotels and, given the prices, it should be more careful of its reputation and infrastructure.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have access to the pool and terrace, first floor rooms have better views, second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    43
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
41
61
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed there 3 nights after Marrakech because we saw nice reviews on Trip. Thank you so much for your hospitality. We had a very nice stay here in this Hotel and will defintlly be recommanding it to all our friends. We were made to feel very welcome and very relaxed and we look forward to returning !! Thank you to all of the staff. The breakfast, lunch and dinner were OK. Amazing location in front of sea and sahara, we will certainly miss it.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very charming and friendly atmosphere in this easygoing and relaxing hotel. I was impressed by the kindness and availability of the whole staff in trying to fulfill each wish, what reflects perfectly the kind character of monsieur Bernard, the owner, a very pleasant Frenchman who claims in his modesty to speak only a few words in English, but is able to converse pretty well.

We spent three great days in a beautiful room in this appealing hotel and had excellent food.

It's not the place where every detail is perfect, some renovation would be good, anyhow whoever comes in this isolated place of Western Sahara and expects perfectness and pure luxury has chosen the wrong location for his holidays.

If we should come back to Dakhla, we certainly would prefer again to stay in the pleasant Hotel Calipau Sahara.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in mid-January. French is the language of choice here, but one of the staff spoke English. Balmy but not warm weather there so couldn't use the pool or the lagoon. Beautiful room number 214 with balcony and view of sea. Room was spacious and romantic with a large and comfy bed and tasteful Moroccan furnishing. Good bathroom and shower. Special requests for breakfast were attentively served. Outside tables are wonderfully located. Entire place is tastefully appointed. Good menu for supper. French wine a bit pricey. We were provided with airport transfers. The place is a bit out of town bit only a short distance by petit taxi or by hotel transport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel is very nice, 1001 night style, windy and comfortable. Nice, clean rooms, lovely SPA...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse .NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Calipau.The rooms are nicely furnished with an incredible view of the desert and the sea.The staff is professionnal ,friendly and very helpful.We only had breakfast there and each day it was different ,a mixture of French and Moroccan pastries.We had dinner in town ,Villa Dakhla is an excellent restaurant,the best table however is at La Maison du the,unforgettable red tuna ,canard a l,orange etc..
Dakhla is a real paradise on earth ,will definitely go back again .Don t forget to visit the spa
at Calipau ,you will come out completely relaxed after a nice hammam

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Group of 15 persons spent two weeks in this hotel. Our purpose in Dakhla was kiteboarding. Hotel is very nice and made in maroccain style. Rooms have enough space, are nicely furnished and are cleaned every day. Beds are perfect, very large, we slept perfect.

We ate only breakfast in a hotel. Breakfast is a little bit to "french" and same every day, but still much better than in other hotels in a city (it was not our first trip to Dakhla).

Stuff is very nice. If you have any question or require they will always help you. They can organize you everything - taxi, rent car with or without driver, transfer to kitespot... and give you all information you need.

At sum, we were very satisfied with staying in Sahara Calipau hotel and will definetely come back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Calipau Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipau Sahara

Address: KM 5 Avenue El Walaa | lagune, Ad Dakhla 73000, Western Sahara
Location: Western Sahara > Ad Dakhla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ad Dakhla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Calipau Sahara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riad Spa Calipau Sahara to Dakhla is situated in the South of Morocco under the Tropic of Cancer, quite as Havana or Hawaii and close to the Moresque border. Situated on a narrow peninsula of the Atlantic Coast, Dakhla offers you unlimited beaches of fine sand. A moderate climate all year round between 17 degrees and 28 degrees offers to this region an exceptional microclimate.The Hotel Riad Spa Calipau Sahara consists of 43 rooms and suites, 4 swimming pools (of which 3 for 3 suites), a direct access has our private beach, a spa (Jacuzzi, massages, Hammam, aesthetics lounge) sporting room, conference room, Moroccan lounge, solarium, international restaurant and an internet access by satellite. Diverse activities are proposed to our clientele on unique sites to the world: - Visit of the White Dune, The Dragon island, Excursion in Sahara, Fishing, Angling fiching , Kit Surfing, Surfing and Quad, Camel riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Calipau Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calipau Sahara Western Sahara/Ad Dakhla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Calipau Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.