We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calipau Sahara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Calipau Sahara to your Saves list
Hotel Calipau Sahara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 5 Avenue El Walaa | lagune, Ad Dakhla 73000, Western Sahara   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ad Dakhla
Syracuse .NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thank you for everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Calipau.The rooms are nicely furnished with an incredible view of the desert and the sea.The staff is professionnal ,friendly and very helpful.We only had breakfast there and each day it was different ,a mixture of French and Moroccan pastries.We had dinner in town ,Villa Dakhla is an excellent restaurant,the best table however is at La Maison du the,unforgettable red tuna ,canard a l,orange etc..
Dakhla is a real paradise on earth ,will definitely go back again .Don t forget to visit the spa
at Calipau ,you will come out completely relaxed after a nice hammam

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    45
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
43
65
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Group of 15 persons spent two weeks in this hotel. Our purpose in Dakhla was kiteboarding. Hotel is very nice and made in maroccain style. Rooms have enough space, are nicely furnished and are cleaned every day. Beds are perfect, very large, we slept perfect.

We ate only breakfast in a hotel. Breakfast is a little bit to "french" and same every day, but still much better than in other hotels in a city (it was not our first trip to Dakhla).

Stuff is very nice. If you have any question or require they will always help you. They can organize you everything - taxi, rent car with or without driver, transfer to kitespot... and give you all information you need.

At sum, we were very satisfied with staying in Sahara Calipau hotel and will definetely come back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

When i was there, i really enjoyed my stay in the hotel: it is very well located, directly on the beach in a small bay, sometimes dolphins come and appear out of the water during a few seconds...it is a very poetical and quiet place, ideal to relax.
The architecture of the hotel is nice, the service is excellent, people are always available.
Moreover, wifi internet in the rooms is a highly apreciable service.
Food is very good and clean.
I was there to kitesurf and i really enjoyed the wind conditions...
This hotel is an ideal place to stay in Dakhla, a few kilometers from the city, in the serenity of the desert...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We came to Dhakla to kitesurf (great spot for that!), thinking there wasnt a lot of opportunities re. hotels (which it is!). We ended up booking a weeks stay at the Calipau. I normally don't write these reviews, but seeing how rare this location is, I feel it was important to let you know that hotel was a major let-down.We thought this was perhaps our view of it, but as we spoke to several other guest during the week it was clear that everyone we spoke to did not enjoy their stay there. Yet with a pre-paid stay, what could we all do!? They do have some nice architecture there though, and nice sunsets, but besides that, and the two friendly ladies at the reception, it was not much to say hoorah to.

* Quite bad, and very overpriced food (about X3 from even the best restaurants in the city a 30 Dirham taxi away).

Very grumpy restaurant staff, both at breakfast and dinner (ask for juice at breakfast, it takes 10 minutes, and they get really grumpy if you ask again)

A sincere lack of personality at the hotel (much due to the minimalism of the style, I assume)

A very poluted pool

Insanely overpriced excursions (i.e. 2500 to a place a taxi would take you to for a 100, all went like that). Glad we did not book any of them, as we managed to walk to most of the places they were charing so much for.

No internet during our stay, despite saying it should have it

We also found the air in the room to be a big problem. With no fan or air ducts (we had a 75 EUR a night rooms, so not the ones with sea view), we had real issues sleeping (and I normally sleep like a stone).

Next to the hotel you also find a major military camp. About 150 meter down the beach you are met with barb wire, so not much room for beach exploration.

While I would have wished to recommend this place, it does have some nice sides too, I sincerely advice you to look for another place if you are going to Dhakla (and quite some other hotels there are too!!). Dhakla has one of the best kite-spots I have ever seen, but if you are going there for that, sincerely find a better place than this!

Rant over/

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Calipau Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipau Sahara

Address: KM 5 Avenue El Walaa | lagune, Ad Dakhla 73000, Western Sahara
Location: Western Sahara > Ad Dakhla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ad Dakhla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Calipau Sahara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riad Spa Calipau Sahara to Dakhla is situated in the South of Morocco under the Tropic of Cancer, quite as Havana or Hawaii and close to the Moresque border. Situated on a narrow peninsula of the Atlantic Coast, Dakhla offers you unlimited beaches of fine sand. A moderate climate all year round between 17 degrees and 28 degrees offers to this region an exceptional microclimate.The Hotel Riad Spa Calipau Sahara consists of 43 rooms and suites, 4 swimming pools (of which 3 for 3 suites), a direct access has our private beach, a spa (Jacuzzi, massages, Hammam, aesthetics lounge) sporting room, conference room, Moroccan lounge, solarium, international restaurant and an internet access by satellite. Diverse activities are proposed to our clientele on unique sites to the world: - Visit of the White Dune, The Dragon island, Excursion in Sahara, Fishing, Angling fiching , Kit Surfing, Surfing and Quad, Camel riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Splendia so you can book your Hotel Calipau Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calipau Sahara Western Sahara/Ad Dakhla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Calipau Sahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.