We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak & Beer Special $12 Every Night in Bar/Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forte

Forte
114 E 3rd St, Jamestown, NY 14701
716.484.6063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Jamestown
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Eclectic, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Steak & Beer Special $12 Every Night in Bar/Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Forte has wonderful food. For value and taste, you can't beat the special available only at the bar (about 12 seats) and 3 tables in the lounge. The steak is thick and juicy; cooked to your order with perfection. Accompanied by garlic mashed and a small salad, with a draft beer from one of their many local selections. You won't find anything close to this for $12. Available every night (closed Sunday & Monday). Reservations are a MUST. Crowd in the bar/lounge is mostly young and the atmosphere bustles with fun.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you're in town, eat there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I live outside of jmtn and realized after eating there last week, I don't come here enough. Steak and beer is now 12.00. That fine. Great beer on tap. The menu is fresh. The food was hot and well prepared. All the seats were full, on a Tuesday.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Busy, worth the wait, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We arrived on a Wednesday night and without reservation (who would have guessed!) and had to wait an hour for a table in the restaurant. There are 2 rooms, one is the bar, and the other the restaurant. While waiting at the bar, one of the other patrons told us about the steak and beer special, only available at the bar. The price recently rose to $12 for this special, but it looked like an excellent value. Their meal arrived and included a good size steak, mashed potato, some salad, bread and a beer!! The couple ended up taking half their meal home in a take out container. We wanted more choices, having looked over the menu during our wait and ordered the cheese plate in the interim. For our 2 entrees, 3 glasses of wine, one coffee, the cheese plate and dessert, the total, with taxes was $79 which may be high for Jamestown, but worth the money. We had crab cakes and chicken. No problem substituting low carb veggies instead of having the potato--flexible and no extra charge. My husband is loathe to go out to dinner, but the $12 special will tempt him.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Steak and a beer for $10.00 - can't beat it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Went there with two friends for the Steak and a Beer dinner special. Was not disappointed. Sat at the bar and ate. you should make reservations or allow yourself plenty of time. It seems this is a popular place in downtown. Can't believe there are that many people working in jamestown! It is a great atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Forte was pretty good...busy (glad I made a reservation). I had the $10 steak, beer, potatoes meal...it was good. The atmosphere was exciting and unexpected for the town which is pretty run down. The restaurant was smaller than it looked online but that was okay. We went for the sushi and after we got drinks, were told it would be 45 minutes for rice...we were so disappointed! And so was the table next to us! Luckily the waiter checked again and we were able to order in 20 minutes. My husband had the shrimp sushi special and he said it was bland. They did have other sushi options so if we were in the area again, we'd probably stop and try another sushi dish.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forte also viewed

Jamestown, Chautauqua County
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
 
Westfield, Chautauqua County
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.