We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Fairmount Avenue, West Ellicott, Jamestown, NY 14701 (Formerly Colony Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Jamestown
Mount Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent a night at Americas Best Value Inn in Jamestown, NY. There's not too much choice in Jamestown and from the ad, this hotel was well located and suited our budget. They advertised internet, hairblower and breakfast. The outside of the hotel belied what was on the inside! Our room, though clean was very outdated. There was not one piece of furniture that matched and they were all very worn out. The bathroom door did not close, the bathroom mirror shelf was missing, the shower head dripped all night and the pink tile shower was covered in black mildew about a third of the way up. Unfortunately for me, the hairblower was nowhere to be found. Yes, internet was provided but not wifi and therefore useless for my tablet. Breakfast was meager but enough to get us through the morning. The breakfast room looked like it was decked out in old bar room furniture....not inviting. Will we stay here again? No. It seems to me that the price of hotels keep going up and the quality and standards keeps going down. This hotel was good enough for one night but that's it. The best part was the receptionist. She was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
14
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we were very happy clean room,lots of comforts.many workers staying there that werevery happy lots of resturants close by.continental breakfast was o.k,helped the value.other accomodations in area much cheaper than others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not much to say about this except the price was great at 55. Not bad coffee, fresh bagels and english muffins in the morning. The room is terribly dated and the bathroom needs a new window shade badly. There was some food particles on the floor next to the bed that I cleaned up with clorox wipes. The bed was very comfortable but the side closest to the bathroom was well worn down...the middle was perfect. The pillows are small and their are only 3--so have your own or ask for more at the desk. The room was quiet, though we could hear the cars on the road but it wasn't trucks or a main highway type of noise. The heat didn't work right, but we didn't need it, so i didn't complain. I would have been mad if it cold out or too hot. All in all, we were in the room a total of 10 hours and i didn't expect much so was happy enough. It does need an overhaul and I hope the owners find a way to do this soon, as it will very bad in another year. It is very convenient to Starbucks and loads of restaurants and stores. I have been in worse that cost much more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would not want to spend more than one night at this motel. It is old and dated. The furniture is in need of repair and the queen bed left my wife with a back ache. The bathroom has been updated but is quite dated and small.
Bring your own soap, theirs is the size and thickness of a calling card. One one good thing is it was very clean.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our recent visit to Jamestown NY did not start on a happy note. Began with a reservation to the Ramada Inn, showed up there to find out that our reservation was booked but they had the wrong dates. Therefore our room was not ready and also found out that the rate we booked for was not the rate when we arrived. It was going to be an extra $100 for two nights. We were paying by cash so they gave us a room key and off we went for dinner. After dinner we decided to stop into the Colonial Motel/ America's Best Value Inn to find out they had 1 room left at a fraction of the cost. April who was working the front desk was exceptional in helping us cancel our reservations at the Ramada and gave us instructions on how to proceed further if any concerns after the fact. This motel is dated for today but exceptionally clean, quiet and offered a very nice breakfast with fresh waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The outdoor pool was clean and the deck offered chairs and lounges for those wanting to take a break. What more could anyone ask for. We thank you very much for such great hospitality. We will be back again for the Cdn Thanksgiving weekend. A little goes a long way.

Room Tip: This motel offers rooms with kitchenettes so if you are traveling with little ones or even big ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here one night. The bed was fine and the room was clean. The free continental breakfast included raisin bran and cheerios, bagels with cream cheese, English muffins, make your own waffles, what appeared to be French toast to re-toast, juice, coffee (not great) and hot water for tea.

A few things would take this from OK to great for the price: 1) some Old English furniture polish to mask the scratches on the furniture; 2) replacement blind in the bathroom (it was sort of rusty and looked dirty - though I don't think it actually was); 3) new sheer curtain in the one front window - the one there was old and wrinkled - maybe ironing would do the job.

Free Internet -- no hassle to get on to it -- is a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on our way home from NY and were given no other choice as this was the only one that claimed they had rooms (online). We booked online on the way and saw all these reviews and thought "it seems decent" We arrived and they were sold out not even having our reservation. While sitting in parking lot they came out and said they were ready to close and a room had not shown up. Did we want it? One room was smoking and one in back of hotel. The smoking room was soooo bad you could hardly breath. We also had room in back of hotel and it was so dark and unsafe we parked as close as you could and quickly went in a dingy hallway. The rooms were so grimey we did not take our shoes off and did not put suitcase on bed. Slept in clothes and instructed our teenagers to not answer their door for anything!!! Other reviews say need renovation! I say tear the darn thing down and start over!! It was the absolute grossest hotel I have ever stayed in. I felt grungy the whole next day and if we were not so worn out from driving 12 hours the day before and finding nothing but no vacancies for 4 hours.... we would have left!!! I can not believe people give it these reviews!! I'm not picky either but BEWARE this is horrible!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown

Address: 620 Fairmount Avenue, West Ellicott, Jamestown, NY 14701 (Formerly Colony Motel)
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown Hotel Jamestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.