We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Fairmount Avenue, West Ellicott, Jamestown, NY 14701 (Formerly Colony Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Jamestown
Mount Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Shabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent a night at Americas Best Value Inn in Jamestown, NY. There's not too much choice in Jamestown and from the ad, this hotel was well located and suited our budget. They advertised internet, hairblower and breakfast. The outside of the hotel belied what was on the inside! Our room, though clean was very outdated. There was not one piece of furniture that matched and they were all very worn out. The bathroom door did not close, the bathroom mirror shelf was missing, the shower head dripped all night and the pink tile shower was covered in black mildew about a third of the way up. Unfortunately for me, the hairblower was nowhere to be found. Yes, internet was provided but not wifi and therefore useless for my tablet. Breakfast was meager but enough to get us through the morning. The breakfast room looked like it was decked out in old bar room furniture....not inviting. Will we stay here again? No. It seems to me that the price of hotels keep going up and the quality and standards keeps going down. This hotel was good enough for one night but that's it. The best part was the receptionist. She was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bloomfield, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we were very happy clean room,lots of comforts.many workers staying there that werevery happy lots of resturants close by.continental breakfast was o.k,helped the value.other accomodations in area much cheaper than others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not much to say about this except the price was great at 55. Not bad coffee, fresh bagels and english muffins in the morning. The room is terribly dated and the bathroom needs a new window shade badly. There was some food particles on the floor next to the bed that I cleaned up with clorox wipes. The bed was very comfortable but the side closest to the bathroom was well worn down...the middle was perfect. The pillows are small and their are only 3--so have your own or ask for more at the desk. The room was quiet, though we could hear the cars on the road but it wasn't trucks or a main highway type of noise. The heat didn't work right, but we didn't need it, so i didn't complain. I would have been mad if it cold out or too hot. All in all, we were in the room a total of 10 hours and i didn't expect much so was happy enough. It does need an overhaul and I hope the owners find a way to do this soon, as it will very bad in another year. It is very convenient to Starbucks and loads of restaurants and stores. I have been in worse that cost much more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would not want to spend more than one night at this motel. It is old and dated. The furniture is in need of repair and the queen bed left my wife with a back ache. The bathroom has been updated but is quite dated and small.
Bring your own soap, theirs is the size and thickness of a calling card. One one good thing is it was very clean.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dairyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our recent visit to Jamestown NY did not start on a happy note. Began with a reservation to the Ramada Inn, showed up there to find out that our reservation was booked but they had the wrong dates. Therefore our room was not ready and also found out that the rate we booked for was not the rate when we arrived. It was going to be an extra $100 for two nights. We were paying by cash so they gave us a room key and off we went for dinner. After dinner we decided to stop into the Colonial Motel/ America's Best Value Inn to find out they had 1 room left at a fraction of the cost. April who was working the front desk was exceptional in helping us cancel our reservations at the Ramada and gave us instructions on how to proceed further if any concerns after the fact. This motel is dated for today but exceptionally clean, quiet and offered a very nice breakfast with fresh waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The outdoor pool was clean and the deck offered chairs and lounges for those wanting to take a break. What more could anyone ask for. We thank you very much for such great hospitality. We will be back again for the Cdn Thanksgiving weekend. A little goes a long way.

Room Tip: This motel offers rooms with kitchenettes so if you are traveling with little ones or even big ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMC3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here one night. The bed was fine and the room was clean. The free continental breakfast included raisin bran and cheerios, bagels with cream cheese, English muffins, make your own waffles, what appeared to be French toast to re-toast, juice, coffee (not great) and hot water for tea.

A few things would take this from OK to great for the price: 1) some Old English furniture polish to mask the scratches on the furniture; 2) replacement blind in the bathroom (it was sort of rusty and looked dirty - though I don't think it actually was); 3) new sheer curtain in the one front window - the one there was old and wrinkled - maybe ironing would do the job.

Free Internet -- no hassle to get on to it -- is a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NRosboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on our way home from NY and were given no other choice as this was the only one that claimed they had rooms (online). We booked online on the way and saw all these reviews and thought "it seems decent" We arrived and they were sold out not even having our reservation. While sitting in parking lot they came out and said they were ready to close and a room had not shown up. Did we want it? One room was smoking and one in back of hotel. The smoking room was soooo bad you could hardly breath. We also had room in back of hotel and it was so dark and unsafe we parked as close as you could and quickly went in a dingy hallway. The rooms were so grimey we did not take our shoes off and did not put suitcase on bed. Slept in clothes and instructed our teenagers to not answer their door for anything!!! Other reviews say need renovation! I say tear the darn thing down and start over!! It was the absolute grossest hotel I have ever stayed in. I felt grungy the whole next day and if we were not so worn out from driving 12 hours the day before and finding nothing but no vacancies for 4 hours.... we would have left!!! I can not believe people give it these reviews!! I'm not picky either but BEWARE this is horrible!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hab629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown
Comfort Inn Jamestown
#3 of 6 in Jamestown
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jamestown - Falconer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Jamestown
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#2 of 2 in Falconer
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown

Address: 620 Fairmount Avenue, West Ellicott, Jamestown, NY 14701 (Formerly Colony Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown Hotel Jamestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing