We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and Dine Package!
Ranked #1 of 1 Jamesport B&B and Inns
Rye Brook, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A+ from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed two night at the Inn the week before last and I must say it was a truly magical experience. The building is a remarkably restored Victorian home. The property overlooks acres of farmland and the beautiful lawn in the back features a herb garden, a picturesque gazebo and chickens running around. A large barn featured an art show by a very talented local artist named Charles Wildbank, and I mean this guy is talented. Our stay was great, the staff was very attentive and were genuinely concerned about our comfort. The manager, Colin, took care of us from morning to night and helped us with every aspect of our stay from cooking our breakfast to directing us to local wineries and sights. Colin's charm and personality made us feel like family and he made our stay all that much better with his presence. The restaurant itself was also a winner, we had the Tuna Tartar, Foie Gras, Halibut and Sea Scallops and each was more succulent than the next. On our way to bed we met the chef, Rich, who is clearly passionate about his food and it showed in every dish we ate. This place is a gem and should be experienced by all, we would recommend the Inn to anyone, really an A+ from start to Finish.

Room Tip: The Cocoa room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    11
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
111
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was so excited to have my wedding at jedediah's because of the beautiful location and I though that it would be a special place to return every year for our anniversary. Well, I better find another location for that. Management in this place is a nightmare, when we booked chef Luce was just leaving the inn and I was so disappointed being a chef myself i was really looking forward working with him and the event coordinator that we signed contract and met with also quit! And then enters chef Lia working as both, she of course had no idea of anything because she was brand new and very overwhelmed so you can imagine my nervs 3 weeks away and someone who knows nothing comes into the picture. Then the wedding day: ceremony was beautiful, food was awesome (lia is a great chef) however cocktail hour started 30min behind schedule and i had to tell my guess that they could order drinks with the wait staff since they were not asking our guess if they wanted anyhting to drink mind you, we paid for open bar....which made dinner behind schedule and causing us to pay overtime on renting the place. As I said food was really good but dinner service was HORRIBLE! Food was coming out so slow some people where eating and other waiting around, and then the next day: we specifically said open bar ends at 10pm if someone wants more drinks they will have to pay out of pocket, of course we got stuck with the bill next day and when we ask to speak with the owner to we where DENIED! No one from management would speak to us, looking back We shouldnt paid the bill but I was just so disgusted on how everything went down I just wanted out of there. Be aware if you are going to deal with these people and get EVERYTHING in writing because and the end they will get you.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were celebrating a special occasion that happen to fall midweek and since we love the Northfork, we decided to stay at Jedediah Hawkins since we had stayed there in the past and loved it. We were greeted by a lovely young woman (didn't get her name) and Colin. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Our breakfast was served in a tranquil solarium and served to our table (unlike most B&B's that are buffet style). We started with fresh, hot chocolate croissants followed by delicious yogurt and fresh summer fruit, followed by crisp bacon, truffled potatoes and scrambled eggs with asparagus and local, homemade, sun-dried tomatoes. Our server was so sweet and accommodating and Colin is quite the chef. Our only regret was that we didn't have our dinner there the night before!

Room Tip: You can see all the rooms beforehand on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Great to have loyal, repeat guests! Thank you so much for describing in detail our breakfast, which is often a highlight of our guests' visit and for giving Colin such high marks. Hope to have you back next time you are this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have nothing but rave reviews for the Jedediah Hawkins Inn. The Inn itself is awesome, but the staff is even better. We stayed upstairs in the suite, which is not something we would normally do, but for a few extra dollars, man, it was well worth it. However, having looked at all the rooms while we were there, you can't go wrong. The staff, led by Collin the manager, was first rate. They also have a restaurant, where we enjoyed dinner, and the next morning had the most incredible complimentary breakfast you will ever have. This is not an exaggeration. Another review called the breakfast gourmet and I have to say even that is an understatement. In a society where we often no longer get what we pay for, the Jedediah Hawkins Inn is a throwback. A classic, beautiful inn, with all of the modernity you need and a staff that is second to none. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Your rave review is making us blush. Colin and the team are dedicated to exceeding our guests' expectations--so glad they succeeded. Thank you so much for your enthusiastic recommendation. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had 2 wonderful nights at the Jedediah Hawkins Inn last weekend. The rose room was great, but was able to see most rooms and all were very nice. Nice bathrooms, air conditioner kept the room and inn very comfortable. Breakfasts were included each morning and they were truly gourmet. Definitely worth sticking around for the morning breakfast. Dined one out of two nights and the dinner was delicious. Large steak with tasty sides. My wife had striped fish also very good. The grounds are nice and worth walking around as is the refurbished barn with the current art exhibit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
What a nice review! Thank you very much. We love to have "Happy Guests". Hope we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I, plus another couple, spent two nights here in July. The rooms are very clean and beautiful, each is decorated a little differently, very comfortable and quiet. We liked the location, lots of nearby wineries and close enough to drive up to take the ferry for dinner on Shelter Island. Speaking of dinner, we ate at the restaurant and it was one of the best meals I've had in a while. This place is awesome, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The only room I would not recommend is "Indigo" because it is downstairs. Still a beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review and for spreading the word! We're so glad you enjoyed the rooms, the location and the food. Best Regards from the team at JHI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I just had lunch here last Friday and must say we had a wonderful time. First of all, the Victorian House that it is in is gorgeous , both inside and out, and the food is as wonderful. From the Flat bread vegetable pizza appetizer, to the very flavorful Lobster roll with the addicting matchstick fries.....we loved it. The very attentive and personable waitress was very knowledgeable and was able to answer every question presented to her from the food to the history of the house and more. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the whole experience, the food, the historic house and the friendly and attentive service. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Address: 400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the farms and the vineyards of the North Fork's wine country, Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant is a stunning historic property,known for its luxurious accommodations, genuine hospitality and exceptional food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant Hotel Jamesport
Jedediah Hawkins Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.