We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek Stay and Dine
Ranked #1 of 1 Jamesport B&B and Inns
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We just wanted a romantic get away from the beginning no one seemed to know what they were doing the guy " manager" didn't seem to want to be bothered to check us in let alone ask us if we needed help with our stuff we finally settled into our room which was very clean and beautiful but than when it came to dinner we had to wait for about 40 mins for our table when I made sure we had a reservation when we checked in but we waited bartender young girl very nice knew how to make a drink which gave us some hope but than we sat I'm guessing the worst table in the house service horrible older woman no clue no grace food took forever to come out our server didn't know what wine went with what course we had to ask for the wine every time we got the next
course just overall couldn't wait to get out of the place do not recommend unless a big change happens and honestly we didn't even know who to talk to about our issues no one seemed to notice or care about what was going on there did not seem to be a manager circling around to check on tables or greeting them very bizarre for such a high end restaurant

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We're so sorry that you had a disappointing experience. We take our customer reviews very seriously. After reading your feedback, we have made significant changes to our management staff and procedures. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    10
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to JH for years now. We have seen it through the transitions from original owners, Chef Tom, Chef Keith and now with Chef Alex, and the several front-end regimes. With each new influence, some changes were apparent but everyone tries to make the place it's best.

Food: It use to be more rare to see food of this quality on the North Fork. That being said, the restaurant is a big draw for locals and visitors alike. Chef Alex is finding his voice so we'll see what happens. As it is, the menu is not as showy as under Schaudel nor as ethereal as under Luce. The current fare is far more accessible while maintaining its superior prep and quality. Vegetarian options could be improved. The fish is just outstanding. The wait staff continues to be uber-professional and knows the ins and outs of the menu.

The Inn: Still beautiful and the grounds are a real plus. Truly a one of a kind offering. In years past we had been greeted as regulars but not so now. It's a little more "corporate" (we miss the Christmas tree) but the staff did make sure we were well kept.

Bottom line: if you are looking for a high end B&B on the North Fork, this is it. Though there are others, none holds us like JH.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your repeat visits and your wonderful review. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and support. Thank you also for your suggestions for improvement, such as providing better and more vegetarian options. We hope to see you in 2013. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked two nights in the Belvedere Room for our anniversary and absolutely loved it. Our room is actually the attic and is a split level (about 800 square feet) suite with numerous amenities: heated bathroom floor, two TV's, gas fire place, walk-in closet, great 360 views, and access to the lighted cupola one flight up which seats two comfortably. We found the staff extremely attentive (it was off season and there was only one other couple there) and personable.
The two managers we met, Ralph and Colin, were both great and genuinely enjoyed their work. The entire staff was wonderful. They were eager to share information about the house, the grounds, the town, and the wine. Especially the wine. Colin was instructive without being snobbish and we enjoyed more than a few glasses.
The daily breakfasts were feasts. Beginning with infused coffee, fresh fruits, rolls, granola and juice, you are instructed that there are two courses yet to come. On one day we had a salmon and cheese platter followed by steak and eggs. On the other day we had lox on a bed of mixed greens with a lemon-based dressing followed by two farm fresh eggs mixed with seafood.
Both dinners at the restaurant, which is within the building, rivalled anything we have eaten in any five star restaurant. Enjoy a pitcher of water and let your server explain how it's filtered. The entire menu is great and specials never disappointed. The soups are mostly creamy varieties with an intense flavor due to time consuming reductions. The shell fish was always fresh and the rolls, while not baked on premises, are tasty and fresh and infused with olives and sage. The dinner special Sunday was the roast suckling pig, and if you are adventuresome, you won't be disappointed. Match it with a recommended sparkling rose from a local winery and be pleasantly surprised. Otherwise, go for any fresh fish on the menu, especially the cod, and enjoy a burgundy style chardonnay from their ever changing wine list. Monday the special was the fresh made pasta in a creamy sauce loaded with lobster - if you finish it you won't have room for dessert.
Besides the casual bar on the first floor, there's a basement that's finished as a second bar, with a few tables and some comfy living room style furniture - it's the SPEAKEASY, complete with a peephole door to to get in from the outside entrance. The ambiance is wonderful and the staff will serve your entire dinner down here if you ask. This place has it all, and I am pleased to give them five stars, which I rarely ever do.

Room Tip: Ground floor is handicapped accessible but the Belevedere is quite a climb for elderly or infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We are thrilled and humbled by your enthusiastic review. What a nice holiday present! During this busy time of year, we are very appreciative that you took the time, not only to enjoy our hospitality but also to write such an extensive review. May you have a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had dinner at the Inn Saturday Night 12/8/12....Start to finish ...GREAT!!!! Quality with quantity.
The lobster meatballs terrific (nice size too). My wife had the black bean soup, best she has ever had. Waitstaff is friendly and make you feel comfortable. Our waiter explained the food and recommended choices.Dinner was a little pricey,(not over-priced) but worth it.The Inn itself is a beautiful old home. We didn't stay overnight (we live close by) but could see why someone would.
A great place for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Thanks to the entire staff for a pleasurable evening. We'll be back..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your dinner. We'd like you to know that we've added daily Blackboard Specials (soup or salad, entree, dessert and glass of house wine for $38) Thursday it's lobster, Friday fish, Saturday beef and Sunday a suckling pig roast. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Jedediah Hawkins is a beautifully restored 1863 Victorian in an absolutely perfect location. The charming manager Adam was beyond helpful pointing us toward the best local wineries and beaches. The duck wings at the adjoined restaurant were amazing and our server was very knowledgable helping us pair wines. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words about our team, who are committed to offering our guests a great experience. Thanks for staying with us and for spreading the word with your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I took a mini-moon for a few days following our wedding. The Jedediah Hawkins Inn is truly a treasure. The property is beautiful, charming and quaint. We stayed in the Belevedere which is the biggest of the guest rooms. We felt very comfortable, like we were at home. Everything from the furnishings, to the sheets, to the shampoo were delightful. We had rainy weather but being inside was a treat! The technology was up to date - free wifi to help us map out our winery tour, nice flatscreen TV to watch late night movies (they have a basket of DVDs to choose from if you wish) and temparature control. The breakfast is "TO DIE FOR"!! Everything was a treat - the pastries, creamy butter, fresh preserves, homemade yogurt, a fritatta with vegetables from their garden, duck hash...I can go on and on. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Our stay here was an intimate indulgence. We will come back every year for our honeymoon...it feels that special!

Room Tip: The Belvedere Suite was incredible. Its entry is separate from the rest of the rooms. It was spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for spending your "mini moon" with us. All our best wishes for a lifetime of happiness. See you, we hope, same time next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Delicious food, beautiful grounds and attentive staff. Dinner was a four course tasting menu created by Chef Luce. Each course was excellent and we really enjoyed the meal. For breakfast there was a choice of a "get up and go" or a four course sit down breakfast. We opted for the sit down and were not disappointed. As Chef Luce explained to us he uses all locally sourced ingredients. Freshly baked scones and croissants were served first, with delicious butter and jams. The second course was local yogurt with fresh berries. Goat cheese and sliced tomatoes followed. The fourth course was a delicious lobster omelet, some chorizo and grilled baby vegetables. We didn't need to eat again for the rest of the day! I would highly recommend the Inn and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cider room and the only negative was that it was a little hot with no thermostat to...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We're so happy you enjoyed our multi-course gourmet breakfast. It's definitely a hit with our guests. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Address: 400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the farms and the vineyards of the North Fork's wine country, Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant is a stunning historic property,known for its luxurious accommodations, genuine hospitality and exceptional food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant Hotel Jamesport
Jedediah Hawkins Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.