We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!! What a dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Midweek Stay and Dine
Ranked #1 of 1 Jamesport B&B and Inns
Islip, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW !!! What a dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had dinner at the Inn Saturday Night 12/8/12....Start to finish ...GREAT!!!! Quality with quantity.
The lobster meatballs terrific (nice size too). My wife had the black bean soup, best she has ever had. Waitstaff is friendly and make you feel comfortable. Our waiter explained the food and recommended choices.Dinner was a little pricey,(not over-priced) but worth it.The Inn itself is a beautiful old home. We didn't stay overnight (we live close by) but could see why someone would.
A great place for a romantic dinner or special occasion. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Thanks to the entire staff for a pleasurable evening. We'll be back..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your dinner. We'd like you to know that we've added daily Blackboard Specials (soup or salad, entree, dessert and glass of house wine for $38) Thursday it's lobster, Friday fish, Saturday beef and Sunday a suckling pig roast. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    10
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
100
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Jedediah Hawkins is a beautifully restored 1863 Victorian in an absolutely perfect location. The charming manager Adam was beyond helpful pointing us toward the best local wineries and beaches. The duck wings at the adjoined restaurant were amazing and our server was very knowledgable helping us pair wines. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words about our team, who are committed to offering our guests a great experience. Thanks for staying with us and for spreading the word with your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I took a mini-moon for a few days following our wedding. The Jedediah Hawkins Inn is truly a treasure. The property is beautiful, charming and quaint. We stayed in the Belevedere which is the biggest of the guest rooms. We felt very comfortable, like we were at home. Everything from the furnishings, to the sheets, to the shampoo were delightful. We had rainy weather but being inside was a treat! The technology was up to date - free wifi to help us map out our winery tour, nice flatscreen TV to watch late night movies (they have a basket of DVDs to choose from if you wish) and temparature control. The breakfast is "TO DIE FOR"!! Everything was a treat - the pastries, creamy butter, fresh preserves, homemade yogurt, a fritatta with vegetables from their garden, duck hash...I can go on and on. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Our stay here was an intimate indulgence. We will come back every year for our honeymoon...it feels that special!

Room Tip: The Belvedere Suite was incredible. Its entry is separate from the rest of the rooms. It was spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for spending your "mini moon" with us. All our best wishes for a lifetime of happiness. See you, we hope, same time next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Delicious food, beautiful grounds and attentive staff. Dinner was a four course tasting menu created by Chef Luce. Each course was excellent and we really enjoyed the meal. For breakfast there was a choice of a "get up and go" or a four course sit down breakfast. We opted for the sit down and were not disappointed. As Chef Luce explained to us he uses all locally sourced ingredients. Freshly baked scones and croissants were served first, with delicious butter and jams. The second course was local yogurt with fresh berries. Goat cheese and sliced tomatoes followed. The fourth course was a delicious lobster omelet, some chorizo and grilled baby vegetables. We didn't need to eat again for the rest of the day! I would highly recommend the Inn and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cider room and the only negative was that it was a little hot with no thermostat to...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We're so happy you enjoyed our multi-course gourmet breakfast. It's definitely a hit with our guests. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I were in North Fork for a friend's wedding Labor Day weekend and decided to stay here (mostly based on the reviews on Tripadvisor). What a special place. I didn't want to leave! Beautiful grounds, delicious food and a friendly staff. Actually the staff makes this place. Everyone made us feel so comfortable and right at home. Chef Luce is a class act. We have never had a multi course breakfast before of such quality. It spoiled us! When we got home I wanted my husband to make me homemade yogurt, granola and berries (which oddly didn't happen). This is the first time we can't wait to go back to a hotel. So thank you Jedediah Hawkins Inn...we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. Come back soon for more granola, yogurt & berries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

On Saturday, September 1, my neighbors and I traveled from Deer Park to your restaurant. We had 6pm reservations. Our reason for visiting your property was to celebrate a 25th Anniversary and a birthday. Our neighbors had stayed overnight, 5 years ago, for their 20th, and invited us to share this milestone with them. We were seated in the cellar, as requested. {Please see pictures attached}.
Let me start by saying your grounds and Inn were beautiful and your staff was very pleasant. While seated in the cellar, we were visited by 7 staff members. Collin was our main server.

With that being said, all four of us were extremely disappointed with the portion size of the meals and the fact that neither celebration was recognized by the management. Our bill totaled over $350. This may be typical for your regulars out east, but not for two modest earning families. Three of us ordered the Mahi Mahi. My husband ordered the Filet. All four portions were no larger than a Post-It and cost an average of $34. I needed to order an additional salad, and the others had to eat more bread because the meals were not in abundance. Also, my husband and I treated our neighbors to their drinks, but the GM could have sent our neighbors a complimentary drink in honor of their 25th anniversary. Upon speaking of my disappointment, the management made the situation right by us. This pleased me, as I would like to return.

Room Tip: When making reservations for dinner, ask to sit in the Wine Cellar. It's private, with leather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is a fantastic experience from every aspect. Beautiful country setting. A mile to the beach for a nice walk or swim. The house is skillfully decorated and the rooms luxioursly appointed. The food is amazing and the customer service was world class. It was such a treat to stay there. I felt totally pampered, relaxed and refreshed by the entire package.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to the Belevedere suite. Best room in the house i believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We're so glad you were happy with the experience (we love the Belvedere suite too!). Hope you'll come back and see what it's like in the Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Address: 400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the farms and the vineyards of the North Fork's wine country, Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant is a stunning historic property,known for its luxurious accommodations, genuine hospitality and exceptional food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedediah Hawkins Inn And Restaurant
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant Hotel Jamesport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.