We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, questionable neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Jamaica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Jamaica to your Saves list
Quality Inn Jamaica
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   138 - 68 94th Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, questionable neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The location of this hotel is insuperable. The neighborhood is too questionable for my taste. I did not like it the attitude of some other guests and I saw even some questionable ladies doing their "business" there. I didn't feel insecure or anything but if given the choice I will try to stay at other hotel closest to the city. But you get what you paid for, and for the location (right across the subway and LITR station, this is ok, but not great, not even average.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    39
    18
    7
See reviews for
27
55
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

For just five dollar air train ride from JFK Airport to Jamaica this is a great hotel, appears recently renovated and adequate room if you are parking a car, this location is also close to E subway train and LIRR. Front desk staff at hotel is amazing and I would recommend this location for anyone looking for a great value and a clean safe place to stay.

The only minor issue I would say is speed of the wireless service at certain times, but not a big issue. I loved the bathroom and shower it was amazing and updated. Very clean and modern look.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

I am lying in my room as I write this. My friend and I met up at JFK. She arrived from Ireland, myself from Australia. Really just wanted a room to sleep in before hitting the city tomorrow.
The check in was great. No problems there. We were given the room behind the reception desk so there is a lot of noise from people coming and going. We went out to find some place to eat last night (walking) well, I wouldn't recommend that. Felt like I was looking over my shoulder the whole time. Bit scary and I'm not easily spooked. And, ended up finding a dodgy Chinese take away which was pretty ordinary.
Came back to find that our 'do not disturb' door tag had been moved from where we put it on the door. Felt as though someone had been in the room. Then we tried to use the phone only to find it had been unplugged. I called the front desk guy and when he came in, he said " oh, yeah. I know what's happened here. It was the last people who were here. They were playing with the phone"
He went straight to the cord and corrected it. Im not a conspiratory theorist but it all left me feeling a little creepy. Glad we are leaving here in the morning. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

The experience was horrible, starting with no parking to a bad smell in the room....the shower was dirty, the pillows were nasty....need I say more

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Due to the hurricane we had to stay in NY a week longer, and because all the hotels were booked, we chose this one. First impressions were not the best because it looks strange surroundings, the room smelled a little and using the speed with broken. However, the room was relatively clean and tidy every day, the smell was almost gone. Very positive I think is the availability of the JFK AirTrain which is close, and ride you to JFK in about 10 minutes. To the center it takes about 45 minutes, which is especially at night very boring. If I can recommend, I'd rather vote for hotel Quality Inn Long Island City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

Nothing can beat the price. Very clean rooms, friendly staff, free wifi and breakfast! Biggest bonus is that it is the nearest hotel to the Airtrain JFK, LIRR, and line E that connects to Times Square. Neighborhood is not scary looking and rooms are relatively spacious for an NYC hotel. If you can save $200 a night for staying here than in downtown then why not? Will definitely go back here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

First time going into NYC from JFK. Found this gem through Orbitz, then looked it up on Tripadvisor. Was doing a lot of in/out through JFK so stayed here three different nights. All were more than satisfactory. One note: like others this is NYC so unfortunately you have to manage your expectations (a sad thing to say but true). The property looked to be new or newer. The rooms were spacious(by NYC standards), clean(no bed bugs), and quiet. Free WiFi made it even better. Breakfast was standard with cereals, coffee, bagels, breads, danishes, juice, hot waffles, and some other kind of hot dish(one day it was boiled eggs another turkey sausage). The great part was the easy access to JFK via the Airtrain and to Manhattan via the E train, especially if you aren't driving(and any tourist who does is certifiable in NYC). This Airtrain will cost you $5 to enter/exit. I use the MTA $29 seven day card for the subway(hate having to dig into my pocket for $2.25 for each subway ride, then getting those $1 coins in change). The Long Island RR to Penn Station is also available, but more expensive. And there's the price, fanastic rate for what you get. So stay here if you're visiting NYC, spend a little more time in transit and use the bucks you save to see an extra show or buy a really nice dinner. As for the poor reviews listed here, it just makes me wonder if we are talking about the same place. In summation, a great deal and a great location. Tip: be wary of the taxi "greeters" when you come out of the Airtrain terminal. They will try to sell you a ride to the place for $7, which takes them about 300 yds and two minutes. Tip #2: to find the hotel, head to the Europa Gentlemen's Club, turn right down that street, 94th Ave. It's right next to the stoplight you'll see down 94th.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Jamaica

Address: 138 - 68 94th Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Jamaica 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn Jamaica is across the Jamaica Station that connects to JFK Airtrain, MTA Long Island Rail Road (LIRR) trains, MTA New York City Transit subways, and local buses. Airtrain leaves for JFK every 4-10 minutes and takes less than 10 minutes to the airport. Visitors will enjoy world-class shops and a variety of restaurants in the surrounding area. Hotel amenities and features include:> Free continental breakfast served daily> Free self-parking on the premises> Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms> Free local calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Jamaica Hotel Jamaica
Jamaica Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.