We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal for a solo traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Peppe INC

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Don Peppe INC
13558 Lefferts Blvd, Jamaica, NY 11420-3602
(718) 845-7587
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 260 Restaurants in Jamaica
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not ideal for a solo traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food was good, nothing super special, who doesn't love pasta soaked in olive oil. I was there for work and eating solo. This is a FAMILY STYLE, no exceptions. IT would have been nice if they offered a side salad. I basically ordered a pasta dish for 4. I really wanted a salad but didn't feel like wasting more money since I wouldn't be able to take home. I asked if they'd do a side salad and they said NO!
IT was entertaining and probably the only decent restaurant near JFK.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Okay food at an okay price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a non remarkable meal there last night. Service was sub par because our being a customer seemed to be inconveniencing our server who seemed to prefer chatting with the other servers who were not providing service to their tables either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“get out of manhattan and experience the real new york”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

might be a cultural shock for non-new yorkers visiting the city but to experience the real thing go out to Queens and Don Peppe. Two cautions; bring cash and don't over order. The portions will feed four so order a couple dishes and enjoy. The waiters are not your friends but they will take care of you and if your are lucky, might even smile. Excellent southern Italian cuisine. Be sure to order the home made wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniondale, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I ate at Don Peppes on several occasions with my brother and the food was lovely and a bit pricey but worth it.Dont go at dinnertime on weekends it gets mad packed like a subway train and sometimes you have people from JFK whose flight could be long delayed or cancelled.Last time we went we waited close to an hour but by closing time it starts to taper off.Joey S

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“NY EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great local cooking..love this local Italy's best...owner comes out and tells you what you are going to eat today...love it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Peppe INC also viewed

 

Been to Don Peppe INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Peppe INC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.