We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thompson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Door

The Door
163-07 Baisleu Blvd, Jamaica, NY
(718) 525-1083
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 260 Restaurants in Jamaica
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thompson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I went to the door for lunch and I was blown away by the place the food is awesome.! And thanks Kayann for going all out for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jamaician Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are looking for a taste of the caribbean, this is it. on thursdays they have an all you can seafood buffet and for what you pay for its so worth it. They are not stingy with anything and the food remains hot and fresh. Their take out is so popular that its best to call ahead and then pick up or otherwise you'll be waiting on a very long line. They also have baked goods and traditional jamaican goodies that'll have you remembering the good 'ole times. They have an upscale resaturant atmosphere where you can dine in. i love this place. Everytime i come to visit home, this is one of my first stops!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Top class Jamaican food; excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Been there twice - lunch & dinner. Superb Jamaican cuisine. Service is excellent. Menu goes beyond Jamaican food and includes continental offerings including seafood. Seating is a bit tight but this is obviously due to high patronage as it was near full on both my visits. Portions are hefty. Go with a big appetite or you'll leave a lot in your plate. Nice ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our dining experience at "The Door" was great! The atmosphere was quite
inviting and the food was wonderful. The food was fresh, tasty and filling.
We are planning to go back for the buffet experience. Hopefully
the experience will be awesome also!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The food served here is authentic Jamaican food which tastes as if it is prepared on the island with real, natural Jamaican spic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My family and friends dine at this restaurant each time we crave Jamaican food as this is as close as it gets, away from home. As a result when I needed food for an event I was planning, I ordered jerk chicken and brown-stew chicken from The Door. Ordering was easy and they provided exactly what I wanted. They took the food to my car in the parking lot when I came to pick it up, and their customer service department followed up to find out if I was satisfied with my order. Everyone found the food delicious. The Door produces great tasting food and great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Door also viewed

 

Been to The Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.