We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUMP has taken on a whole new meaning.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express At JFK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DUMP has taken on a whole new meaning.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Our party of 6 (two rooms for 3) stayed overnight to catch our trans-continental flight at JFK the next day. After a long trans-Atlantic flight, we needed a good rest. To say the hotel was a disappointment is putting it mildly. The sofa bed we had requested for our teenage daughter was tortuous. She described it as sleeping "on a waffle iron". The sofa should have been replaced several years ago. The mattress was so thin that you could feel each coil and the bar. They should have paid her to sleep on it, not vice versa. The double bed wasn't much better. The cheap shower surround in the bathroom was peeling off the wall in patches. Even though we had booked as two parties of three, they provided only enough towels for two and we had go downstairs to get more. The ATM machine next to the vending machine only gave $20 bills, which the vending machine would not take. The only positive thing about this hotel was the free breakfast which was decent for its type. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTguestsvcs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
We are a Holiday Inn Express and very proud of our clean, comfortable, mid-scale hotel.
Holiday Inn Express has a very loyal following with certain expectations of service met here at Holiday Inn Express at JFK.
We do very much appreciate the feedback.
Thank you.
-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    227
    144
    50
    39
See reviews for
136
150
87
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Pros
First time I'm in US. Greeted with friendly smile. I received a complimentary chocolate bar because I signed up for membership.
I couldn't figure how to turn on the warm water in the showers, called the operator and staff came immediately to demonstrate.
Room is spacious and cable provided for the high speed wired Internet.
Almost missed the airport shuttle. Luckily the shuttle driver waited for me to check out.

Cons
Location is not good. Cost $5 to take the AirTrain to the subway. My room overlooked Days Inn, which is uninteresting.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We were stuck in New york after a weeks holiday due to the icelandic volcano and found the holiday inn express welcoming in a time of need. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. not much to do in the surrounding area but over all a great stay if your catching a flight or cant afford hotel costs in manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTguestsvcs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
As hoteliers at one of the largest and busiet major international airports in the world, we witnessed first hand what the volcano situation placed many guests in unfortunate circumstances. During that time, we made every feasible attempt to practice what we preached... Hospitality!
We tried our best to go above and beyond to accomodate those guests who stayed with us affected by the volcano and make them as comfortable as humanly possible due to the unforseen and unfortunate situation.
We are glad to see that you found value for the price you paid, that your room was excellent, and you had a overall great stay. Thank you.
-Ronald Britt, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010 via mobile

Best price of any JFK hotel when I booked for 3/24/10. quick, cheerful chek in and out. shuttle was waiting even as we arrved on very late flight. breakfast was plentiful with surprising variety. rooms are small but perfectly adequate for a quick sleep. Many thanks to the G.M. and housekeeping for mailing back my medicine box accidentally left in the bathroom. This extra effort alone I think deserves recognition and recommend other travelers consider this hotel for a quick JFK sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTguestsvcs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
Indeed, as you may be aware of, from time to time guests will forget something and leave it behind... when the item is turned immeadiately, we make every attempt to reunite the owner with their lost item. We are happy to hear that this processed works and that your experience was joyful.
Again, thank you.
-Ronald Britt, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Hotel can be reached within minutes by shuttle (going back to JFK on the hour only - serving 8 terminals, this can take as long as 25 minutes). Public spaces appered outdated, worn out, somewhat dirty. Filthy and dirty carpets. Bathroom door could not be closed. Small rooms, small beed. Despite of specific booking rooms with 2 beeds not availabel upon check-in. Breakfast room in cellar busy as being on the way to the main elevators and service section. Lousy furniture in public spaces. I have seen much better HI Express hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTguestsvcs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
We thank this guest for taking the time to write their review.
However, we are not certain of these comments. We encourage all guests and future guests to take a look at our hotel. We offer free 24hour shuttle to and from the airport (JFK), complimentary hot breakfast bar daily from 6am-10am, free business center and wireless internet, as well as a host of other value-added amenities.
-Ronald Britt, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

On Feb. 26 our 27 member mission team became stranded in NYC after a 9 hour all night bus ride unable to fly out of JFK until 2/28 because of a major snowstorm. From the Hotel Services Desk at JFK we booked 7 rooms at the this hotel. On arrival to the hotel our bus driver tried to pull in off to the side of the parking hotel's parking lot so as not to block the main front desk parking area. We were greeted by a man who came running out of the hotel yelling at the busdriver stating he could not pull the bus into their parking lot and we would have to park on the highway. (Later this man told the manager that the bus drove over the hotel's greenery, hard to tell however with the foot of snow that was on the ground) In an attempt to explain the situation another team member and I walked through about a foot of snow/slush into the hotel to explain we had reservations. This man continued in an extremely rude manner to ask where we had made the reservations. He then proceded to tell us that they could not accomodate our group because of all our supplies. Not once was the word "please" used , Please don't pull this bus in here or "I'm sorry we are unable to have your group stay with us".
I do want to thank the two young ladies who were working at the front desk on Feb. 26 who tried (despite the hostile treatment they were getting as well from this man) to try and find us reservations at another hotel. And thank-you to your accounting department who so efficiently and quickly corrected the charge on our visa. It is good to know that at least some of your staff does know the meaning of the word hospitality. Maybe for future reference, you could let the central booking at the JFK airport services know that you do not welcome groups on buses with large amounts of supplies.

Stayed February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTguestsvcs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
This group booked here and never stayed.... and we could not accommodate their needs.
The reality was that the bus driver began pulling the bus into the lot, ran over and ruined the landscaping, and if he would not have been stopped at the time... there was no exit strategy for him. The lot is too small for a bus to even turn around... he would have had to be towed out. Then we learned when the group leader was in the lobby that they needed a hotel where they could pull up at the entrance of hotel since they had 60 large boxes they were taking on their mission trip... impossible for our sized lot. They also wanted to store these 60 large boxes in our lobby over night and our storage space was too small. Also, we have no bus parking so this was not acceptable to them.
All of our imformation is on our website or registered with our brand reservation system, or if they had a question about logistics, they could have called our hotel to check and see if all of their needs could be met... not just pull in. Very unfair.
-Rick Sacco, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night after a 13 hours flight, its a typical airport hotel, not much to say, small lobby, small restaurant, good shuttle service to the airport. Rooms are not bad, I can rate it 5.5 out of 10. Only book this hotel to stay next to the airport , the area is strange and I felt that it is not safe outside this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTguestsvcs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
It appears as though this guest choose our hotel for the price and not neccessarily based on their needs and expectations. They knew exactly what we offered and what our amenities/outlets were, and they choose to book... instead of search for another hotel that would fit their needs for a extremely large room, huge lobby, and restuarant.
We did exactly as we set our standards... provided a great hot breakfast buffet, free 24hr on time shuttle service to/from JFK, clean rooms, and excellent service. Not sure what their expectations were?
As always, we value and appreciate any and all comments and do take them and review.
Thank you,
-Ronald Britt, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express At JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Address: 153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a free 24hr shuttle to and from JFK ONLY... to get to the Hotel from the JFK, take the AirTrain to Federal Circle and call the hotel... the shuttle departs every thirty minutes from the hotel back to JFK from 4:30AM to noon and than every hour on top of the hour. ’Stay Smart’ the Holiday Inn Express Kennedy Airport hotel located just ½ mile from JFK Airport and 40 minutes to Laguardia Airport. Take the AirTrain at JFK to the local subway into Manhattan and see historical landmarks such as the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and many popular sites. Visit Belmont Stakes & the Aqueduct for Horse Racing, Mets Citi Field, Yankee Stadium to watch a baseball game, Arthur Ashe Tennis Stadium to watch the US Open Tennis Tournament, or engage in the NYC Marathon, 5 Borough Bike Tour, and many other activities. Rather relax indoors? Holiday Inn Express JFK Airport hotel offers 129 guest rooms with deluxe furniture, 32 inch flat screen televisions with 4 HBOs, 2 ESPNs, several news channels, Cartoon Network for the kids, and many other channels to watch your favorite program. Jump start your morning with our free “Express Start” hot breakfast or take our breakfast with you in our ‘To-Go’ bag. Don’t forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center with 2 computers and a wireless printer, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet network from anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express At Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Express Jfk
Holiday Inn Express Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express At JFK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.