We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would choose it again if staying near JFK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express At JFK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“would choose it again if staying near JFK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I needed a safe pleasant place to stay for a one night layover at JFK. This worked out perfectly and for a moderate price. I knew the hotels faced the Belt Parkway and was not expecting much of a neighborhood, but was a little put off as the shuttle approached and it went by a yard with all the garbage trucks for the borough of Queens, the snow plows, a beehive shaped building filled with sand for the roads and the school bus yard. There are four moderate major chain hotels in this cluster and the Holiday Inn Express faced the parkway and the view of the garbage trucks was blocked by the other hotels.
The interior of the room was great- soundproof, good AC, a great mattress and clean all white modern bedding, HBO on a big TV. The front desk staff were super friendly and efficient, even did little things like run over to the elevator to call it if you were approaching. The shuttle bus drivers were polite and fast and explained the layout of the airport to those who were not familiar with it. It was very refreshing after some service in the airport that was sullen to the point of being bizarre.
Of note, the more expensive chains had locations on the other side of the highway that did not look any better and were much more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    227
    144
    50
    39
See reviews for
136
150
87
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night at each end of our trip. I have nothing but good things to say about the whole experience. They offer a prompt shuttle service from/to the airport. The front desk staff go above and beyond.They offer menus for local restaurants. We used two of the restaurans and ordering was easy and delivery fast. This will become our choice for our clients when they fly out of JFK early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at midnight by cab as we had seen a show in NYC. Check-in was quick as we were the only customers. We literally were there just long enough to go to bed and get up the next morning to catch a flight. The bathroom had a bit of a musty smell and the carpet was not great in the room but the bed and linens were fine. We had to take the elevator down so we were more below ground than above. The hallway to our room upon arrival and departure was taken up by laundry trolleys and other carts. It was difficult to get by with luggage. There was no room service or any other information I could find about ordering food or wine. Breakfast was OK but nothing special - the "full hot breakfast" from what I could see consisted of a round meat sausage and precooked omelettes that looked like just egg. I didn't try either. The shuttle is every 1/2 hour except during a few hours in the very early AM hours. It left a bit late, but we had lots of time. So points for the free WIFI, breakfast and shuttle but the ambiance of the room and hotel overall was not great and alone would rate a 2.5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is above street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear CanadianIslanders,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad that you liked our bed and linens. However, I apologize that the bathroom facility and the carpet of our room did not meet your standards. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience the same scenario in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed one night in June 18 2014, prior to our flight back to home. We arrived late in the night due a delayed flight from Amsterdam, so we called for the shuttle. The receptionist was very professional. The shuttle is quick and effective .The beds were so comfortable with nice sheets and great pillows, clean and really good . Maybe a little noisy because the room was near the Cafeteria, but we are so tired that really don't bather. Very convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room faraway the Cafeteria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived early the evening before a flight out of JFK. Quick check in, plenty of parking for free. Snacks served in lobby. Very busy hotel due to proximity to JFK but things still went quickly. Offerred several delivery menus for dinner as nothing really close and a pain to drive anywhere around JFK. Service was good, rooms clean, very happy for a one night stay,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a good place if you have an early flight to catch at JFK; we stayed here for one night only.
the room was clean, a bit noisy as we faced the high way.
Shuttle to the airport if free and convenient. takes about 15 minutes depending on which terminal you need to go. please keep in mind that the shuttle will stop at several terminals to drop off other passengers.
Not many options for food… just a few places (indian, chinese or pizza) that deliver to the hotel.

taxi to Manhattan cost 65 dollars plus toll plus tip.
Very friendly staff at reception.

Room Tip: room at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I visited this property from 6/3/14-6/10/14, what a difference from a year ago. The front desk staff was very unprofessional. Talking loudly and joking with each other every day. The breakfast was the worst I have ever had at any Holiday Inn. It seemed as if they were not prepared for the the amount of people staying at the property. Fresh fruit was almost non existent except for some old looking oranges. If you didn't get down to breakfast very early, there was no oatmeal available. Eggs and meats were constantly out and you had to ask the ladies in charge of breakfast if anymore was coming out. Out of 7 days, sausage and bacon were only available one time each. I have never been in another HI that didn't have a meat available every day. They constantly ran out of regular bagels so they put out a few mini bagels. Whereas the Property Manager was very visible on my last visit, he was never present during the breakfast hours during this visit. I reported the desk drawer being broken and could not be pushed back into the desk, it was not repaired. Upon checking out, the desk clerk did not even bother to ask how my stay was. I really think the manager needs to look in the mirror and ask himself what made him change the way he is currently managing the property compared to my last stay. He was new to the property last time, maybe his desire to make a positive change has worn off

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear IndianTrail,

Thank you for taking the time to review. I am delighted that we had the chance to welcome you back at our hotel. It is always our top priority to provide a great and satisfying stay for our valued guests. It is regrettable that we were not able to meet your expectations this time. I have noted your comments regarding our front desk and breakfast selection. Please be assured that these will be used to consider improvements needed to avoid the same incident from happening again.

As I would love to regain your faith, I hope that you will give us another chance to give you the best hotel experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express At JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Address: 153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a free 24hr shuttle to and from JFK ONLY... to get to the Hotel from the JFK, take the AirTrain to Federal Circle and call the hotel... the shuttle departs every thirty minutes from the hotel back to JFK from 4:30AM to noon and than every hour on top of the hour. ’Stay Smart’ the Holiday Inn Express Kennedy Airport hotel located just ½ mile from JFK Airport and 40 minutes to Laguardia Airport. Take the AirTrain at JFK to the local subway into Manhattan and see historical landmarks such as the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and many popular sites. Visit Belmont Stakes & the Aqueduct for Horse Racing, Mets Citi Field, Yankee Stadium to watch a baseball game, Arthur Ashe Tennis Stadium to watch the US Open Tennis Tournament, or engage in the NYC Marathon, 5 Borough Bike Tour, and many other activities. Rather relax indoors? Holiday Inn Express JFK Airport hotel offers 129 guest rooms with deluxe furniture, 32 inch flat screen televisions with 4 HBOs, 2 ESPNs, several news channels, Cartoon Network for the kids, and many other channels to watch your favorite program. Jump start your morning with our free “Express Start” hot breakfast or take our breakfast with you in our ‘To-Go’ bag. Don’t forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center with 2 computers and a wireless printer, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet network from anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express At Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Express Jfk
Holiday Inn Express Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express At JFK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.