We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express At JFK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Saratoga, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Run down, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

This old hotel is run down and in desperate need of a face lift!! The carpets were worn and dirty, the walls need paint & repairs. The laundry area was a mess. And it is expensive!!! We had to pay over $200, but it was the only thing available near JFK.

  • Liked — The shuttle back to the airport!
  • Disliked — The place is worn out.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    226
    143
    50
    39
See reviews for
134
150
87
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

I stayed there in July and and I have to say they staff was Great but the management was Terrible i had my baby and my two sons with me and upon check out my 2month year old baby was crying and the GM came to the lobby and told may i stand outside because it was to early in morning for the Noise, I was extemely Shock i couldnt believe from then i would never stay at that hotel again with my children.

  • Liked — The room and the flat screen T.V
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Two adults and two teenagers needed an overnight between flights into and out of New York. There didn't seem much to choose between all the airport hotels so we tried this one. The shuttle bus was excellent - on time both days and the driver helped with luggage. The check in was incredibly fast - we were in bed within 15 minutes of arriving at the hotel. We had two queen beds in one room. The rooms were small but clean and basic. Don't have a room near the breakfast area if you don't have an early start. Other guests were inconsiderately noisy very early in the morning while we were trying to sleep. Our only real complaint was the incredibly soft mattress - it even had a "warning" sticker on it - SOFT (!)

  • Liked — it was close to the airport
  • Disliked — the very soft mattresses
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We decided to stay at this hotel because we had an early flight at JFK airport.

They do have shuttles taking you to the airport, so if you have a rental car, you can take it back the day before and take their shuttle to the airport. Saved a lot of hassle.

The room we got was in the basement. The windows were at the ceiling and covered by the air conditioner, so to say we were claustrphobic is an understatement. We had two double beds in a room that barely had enough room to walk around the beds. We had NO place for our luggage. It was dark in the room.

For the price, 95 a night, it was ok, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — The price and closeness to the airport.
  • Disliked — The room was too small and dark.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We arrived after a long flight late at night and the location of the hotel was excellent. We may have been lucky but we caught the shuttle straight away.

The hotel lobby was a little bit run-down and in urgent need of a lick of paint and the carpets on our floor were in need of a clean but not too bad. The room was comfortable enough but not worth the price paid.

The next morning we entered the dining room for breakfast and as nobody was there to greet us we sat and helped ourselves to the breakfast buffet which was pleasant enough.

Our problems started when we got up to leave and were asked for a coupon for the breakfast. We ended up paying $31 which was unexpected and exhorbitant in relation to what we had eaten.

I complained to the general manager who was not very helpful and the restaurant manager was called. After it was brought to light that the breakfast host was absent we managed to get our money refunded. It was a timely and annoying experience. The general manager really was of little help.

I did hear other people complaining about the price of the breakfast and the shock of discovering it was not included in the price. Whether they complained I do not know?

Overall I thought the location of the hotel excellent, the decor past its best, the room comfortable and clean and the staff generally helpful. I did however think it was a little expensive for what you got and the breakfast experience and the attitude of the general manager did leave a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Liked — the location to the airport
  • Disliked — a little run down and expensive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazy4u2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I personally won;t recommend this hotel to anyone. It;s horrible. the shuttle bus was almost an hour late in picking us up. upon check in we found that our ac wasn;t working. Reported it to front desk immediately. took them over two hours to switch our room. didn;t receive the wake up call. And the shuttle bus was late again in the morning.

  • Disliked — improvement required in all areas
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We were 2 Adults and 2 Children. We were very happy with our stay. The free shuttle was awesome to get back and forth to the subway station and to the rental car area. The breakfast was great. Rooms very clean and the staff was terrific. Would definently stay again and would reccomend to friends and family. We had never been to New York before so having no surprises was a really good thing.

  • Liked — clean, good breakfast, and free shuttle
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express At JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Address: 153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a free 24hr shuttle to and from JFK ONLY... to get to the Hotel from the JFK, take the AirTrain to Federal Circle and call the hotel... the shuttle departs every thirty minutes from the hotel back to JFK from 4:30AM to noon and than every hour on top of the hour. ’Stay Smart’ the Holiday Inn Express Kennedy Airport hotel located just ½ mile from JFK Airport and 40 minutes to Laguardia Airport. Take the AirTrain at JFK to the local subway into Manhattan and see historical landmarks such as the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and many popular sites. Visit Belmont Stakes & the Aqueduct for Horse Racing, Mets Citi Field, Yankee Stadium to watch a baseball game, Arthur Ashe Tennis Stadium to watch the US Open Tennis Tournament, or engage in the NYC Marathon, 5 Borough Bike Tour, and many other activities. Rather relax indoors? Holiday Inn Express JFK Airport hotel offers 129 guest rooms with deluxe furniture, 32 inch flat screen televisions with 4 HBOs, 2 ESPNs, several news channels, Cartoon Network for the kids, and many other channels to watch your favorite program. Jump start your morning with our free “Express Start” hot breakfast or take our breakfast with you in our ‘To-Go’ bag. Don’t forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center with 2 computers and a wireless printer, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet network from anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express At Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Express Jfk
Holiday Inn Express Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express At JFK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.