We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just after Hurricane Sandy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express At JFK to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just after Hurricane Sandy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed 5 days in November right after Hurricane Sandy. Hotels closer to our destination had no availability. We found the location a little tricky to find the first time. This hotel is showing a lot of wear, but the staff was excellent, particularly Erica at the front desk and Madeline with housekeeping. In fact, the ladies on the breakfast room staff were the best I’ve ever encountered, watching over every detail and anticipating every need. Free Wi-Fi was excellent. We prefer fresher, newer facilities, but were happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    227
    144
    50
    39
See reviews for
136
150
87
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Warm and friendly staff with a great breakfast. Rooms are adequate and clean. The parking is limited and tightly packed. It is near major freeways but traffic is heavy at times. Some areas were being updated but my room had not been updated in some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed one night at the JFK Holiday Inn, mainly because I had a 7am flight and needed somewhere close to the airport. The hotel was very clean and surprisingly quiet. I actually had the best nights sleep in 3 weeks. Good amenities too. Even though there was no restaurant in the hotel they gave me a selection of local restaurants that deliver food. Their free shuttle bus dropped me right at the airport (it departs every hour, 24hrs a day), which took the stress out of catching a taxi. Although I was too early for breakfast they gave me a take away breakfast bag - something I've never seen in Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel overnight on 10/19/12 so I could catch an early flight out of JFK. After seeing some of the other reviews I was apprehensive about using this hotel. But, because of the close location to the airport and it was only for one night I decided to take a chance. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet. I saw a review where the guys at the desk were unprofessional. If you mean that they weren't stuffy and stern then you're right. They joked around with me but at no time did I think they were not unprofessional. When I requested some extra towels they were there immediately. I had a problem with my card and they fixed it right away. I also had a problem when I reserved the room. It was entirely my fault and it was stupid; however, the Manager took care of it for me without giving me any hassle. He even went over and above what he actually had to which I appreciated tremendously. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some reviews mentioned that their room was noisy. I would recommend asking for a room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Take any preconceived notions of what a Holiday Inn should be and imagine the opposite. I checked in, between flights with advance reservation, only because it was one of a few hotels close to JFK. The guys at the counter were so unprofessional I thought they were guests goofing on new arrivals. I was given a basement room, yes a room in the basement of the hotel. And it was dark, dank and smelled just like a basement. The room was tiny with an uncomfortable bed in one corner. The single small window at the top of the wall was almost filled with a noisy air conditioner. You have to stand on the bed to see and operate the controls. The breakfast room had all the charm and warmth of a prison cafeteria. All this for a ridiculously high price. Next time I will either go into Manhattan or sleep on a bench at the airport. It is astounding that Holiday Inn has their name on this dump.

Room Tip: Higher floor may not have the musty smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel r, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express At JFK, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I thank you for writing this review and apologize for our team. Please call 718/977/3100 ext 455 or ext 471. We want to resolve your terrible experience.
Once again I am sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ufa, Russia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is located nearby JFK airport and provides with free shuttle from AirTrain station and back to airport terminals. Breakfast was good, service polite. Room was on the first floor - half under ground with very noisy highway in front. If you want to sleep well, choose DaysInn - it is not "highway front" hotel or ask reception to put you on a quiet side of HolidayInn.
The mall Green Acres in the neighborhood is horrible. Low cost and dirty. Don't waste your time and money traveling there.
So far this hotel is eligible only for overnight stay between flights and only in a quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at JFK for 1 night during a layover before flying to South Africa. It was very convenient, comfortable and quiet. The information on the website was very helpful so that we were able to figure out how to get to the hotel once we arrived at JFK and also it was helpful to know that the shuttle back to JFK leaves the hotel every hour on the hour. We arrived in the late afternoon and after checking into the hotel we took the free shuttle to the casino. We had a very reasonably priced dinner there. Though the rooms are somewhat small, it didn't matter to us as we didn't spend much time in our room. I would stay again if I had a layover while flying out of JFK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express At JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At JFK

Address: 153-70 South Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a free 24hr shuttle to and from JFK ONLY... to get to the Hotel from the JFK, take the AirTrain to Federal Circle and call the hotel... the shuttle departs every thirty minutes from the hotel back to JFK from 4:30AM to noon and than every hour on top of the hour. ’Stay Smart’ the Holiday Inn Express Kennedy Airport hotel located just ½ mile from JFK Airport and 40 minutes to Laguardia Airport. Take the AirTrain at JFK to the local subway into Manhattan and see historical landmarks such as the Statue of Liberty, Times Square and many popular sites. Visit Belmont Stakes & the Aqueduct for Horse Racing, Mets Citi Field, Yankee Stadium to watch a baseball game, Arthur Ashe Tennis Stadium to watch the US Open Tennis Tournament, or engage in the NYC Marathon, 5 Borough Bike Tour, and many other activities. Rather relax indoors? Holiday Inn Express JFK Airport hotel offers 129 guest rooms with deluxe furniture, 32 inch flat screen televisions with 4 HBOs, 2 ESPNs, several news channels, Cartoon Network for the kids, and many other channels to watch your favorite program. Jump start your morning with our free “Express Start” hot breakfast or take our breakfast with you in our ‘To-Go’ bag. Don’t forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center with 2 computers and a wireless printer, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet network from anywhere in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express At Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Express Jfk
Holiday Inn Express Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express At JFK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.