We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156-08 Rockaway Blvd, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Jamaica
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We used the park and fly package. It was pricey, but worked for us and it is New York after all. The alternatives were more expensive. I give it poor value, only because it is still just a ridiculous price.

The hotel is convenient to the airport, clean and comfortable. Good self serve breakfast available, even early in the morning. Helpful staff.

The shuttle worked great, both going and returning, and there was no wait for the car. This is a convenient option when a park and fly package is desired.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    265
    107
    37
    19
See reviews for
128
196
80
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here 1 night prior to our flight out the next morning and parked our vehicle for the week. The room was very clean, the front desk staff were very friendly and professional. The shuttle to the airport was timely and its driver was courteous. Where they really excelled was in their customer service.
Due to the blizzard, Chetan Patel, GM sent an email, extending the cancellation policy, which was appreciated, but our arrival was delayed by several days. He kept in touch with us via email over the next couple of days insuring that out vehicle was cleaned off, stating that he would have the car started before we arrived. It defintiely eased our minds and made things so much better upon our return to the hotel.
It is not that often that people go out of their way and care enough to extend themselves when incidents happen. Due to his responsiveness and excellent customer service, we will definitely return again. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Currently being renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Cayo, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is currently under renovation, so the eye appeal is still in the making. The location is really close to the airport, but the surroundings are not really conducive to shopping or walking. There are busy streets with a dark sort of feel to the area. But, do not let this stop you from staying. The hotel had all the amendities of any other Fairfield with coffee in the room, great TVs and channels to choose from, excellent beds, etc. It is really quiet considering where it is located. But these are not the reasons I would recommend this hotel as they offer nothing more than most places. Here is where they are head and shoulders above most places I have stayed - the staff in the grill/bar. Oh, what would you like? No, that is not on our conventional menu, but let me see what I can do. And they did. Not only were they interested in making sure your meal was the best you ever had, they were also entertaining, warm, and caring people. There was nothing the staff would not have done if it was in their power. The place is crawling with Army Corps employees working the Sandy clean up. So, even the other patrons are in great spirits, friendly, and courteous. I would say if you are staying a few days to see NY, this might be a placed of interest as it is conveniently located to the train, airport, major highways, and other means of transportation. Well worth considering. And, just for those who may care, if you speak Spanish, so do they! :) You will be right at home.

Room Tip: Not sure because I was dead tired. I didn't hear much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Some of the airport hotels around JFK can be a little run down but the Fairfield Inn by Marriott JFK is the exception. Similar to other airport hotels, the neighborhood leaves a bit to be desired, but there is no reason to leave the hotel unless you want a bottle of wine from across the street! Restaurant is good and there is a little bar as well. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and most important of all, the hotel is clean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyrobin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is VERY clean, and surprisingly QUIET considering it is on a very busy street. We had a 6am flight so we needed a very early shuttle, lucky for us the free shuttle starts running at 4am. We came down at 3:55 and the driver was there waiting, loaded our stuff and we were at our terminal with in 5 minutes.

We did a park and fly, so we were able to leave our car there while we were away.. On our return, we called and with in 10 minutes the driver was there to pick us up and bring us back to our car. It was freezing that night so he loaded our bags and warmed up our car. We can not say enought good things about this hotel and would stay again in a heart beat. Thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here 3 weeks for business in 2012, right after hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast. The area around JFK is not the nicest but this hotel is clean, had 5 star staff and true customer service!

Hotel shuttle runs every 30 minutes in the morning and evening, otherwise easily available, just make a call. On weekends they offer rides to a local mall or metro station... very good service if you want to shop or need to get to downtown NY.

The rooms at the "back side" are quieter, the street side has some traffic noise from the highway. The rooms are average and I do believe they are undergoing updates. Housekeeping staff is absolutely wonderful! Anything you need is available... with a smile :-)

The Mediterranean Grill (dining restaurant) has good food in decent price! Breakfast is good as well and you have an option to take your breakfast with you, which was great for me on my first week having to work at nights.

All in all... a very pleasant surprise in the middle of not so "pleasant" area of NY. Would stay here again, anytime when traveling in and from JFK.

Room Tip: The rooms at the "back side" are quieter, the street side has some traffic noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

BEWARE, Fairfield Inn JFK. Checked in Jan 5. Paid room in full but they deducted additional $50 for no reason. Called the manager Andy thousands of times, now he does not pick up the phone. The general manager Chetan has never showed up. No one knows the phone number of head office to file a complain. Today Jan 21, they debited $50 more from my account. I'm afraid of a security breach and breaking privacy laws. Open to suggestions

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldinnJFK, General Manager at Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would like to sincerely apologize to this guest for any inconvenience this may have caused.

In response to the review posted above, I would like to let you know that all hotels would put an hold of additional amount on the credit card for incidentals any where from $20 to $250. In our case it's $50.00

We normally encourage guest to use their credit card instead of debit card. We even have a notice posted at the front desk for the same. Use of credit card results in a temporary hold whereas the amount get deducted from the account if you use a debit card. And that's what happened in this case. Credit card hold gets released faster than a Debit card amount. Also it takes longer time to for the funds to get credited if it's an international bank. In this case it's a Canadian bank.

In such cases, for an immediate release of funds, we would normally type up the details on our letter head and fax or e-mail it to the customers bank asking for an immediate release of such funds. Andy our Front office manager contacted the CIBC bank in Canada directly and spoke with the assistant branch manager who stated that it's up to the branch manager discretion. The Branch manager flatly refused to talk to our front desk manager and threw a rule book that It's the policy of CIBC Canada not to discuss any such issues with merchants. Instead they suggested the use of tedious time consuming process of initiating a charge back. Which will only hurt our mutual client and delay the credit of $50.

Over the course of our years of operations, we have been able to work with most of the international banks all over the world and never had any problems getting an immediate release of funds within 24 to 48 hours of check out. Unfortunately we are unable to do in this case because of an extreme stubbornness of the branch manager at CIBC canada who is more inclined towards playing a blame game rather than trying to help resolve the issue.

Andy even had a 3 way calling with OUR Bank and the CIBC canada bank but the branch manager refused to get on the phone. And the assistant manager indicated that it's beyond his/her authority. We are still working with the higher ups to see if we can get the branch manager to get on the phone and get the $50 credited to the account immediately. If not, then it has to go through the time consuming process of charge dispute, which is already initiated by CIBC bank in Canada as per the assistant manager. This would have never been an issue if the branch manager at Canadian bank would have showed a little bit of willingness to work with us and help resolve the issue.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and please feel free to contact me once you are at the bank with your branch manager so that I may provide him/her with appropriate authorization to credit your account or send me an e-mail at chetan.patel@marriott.com

Thank you
Chetan Patel
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport

Address: 156-08 Rockaway Blvd, Jamaica, NY 11434
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#6 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Jfk Airport Hotel Jamaica
Fairfield Inn Jamaica
Fairfield Jamaica
Jamaica Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.