We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't repeat the stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153-95 Rockaway Boulevard, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    77
    50
    82
See reviews for
67
64
58
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is excellent for visitors. convenient, simple breakfast for a good start, close proximity to train station, airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I noticed there are many customers said - this hotel was not worth at all, but as they have free in-room internet and breakfast, I decided giving a try for a short stay, the conclusion was – I will never come back again! If you look for a short stay close to JFK airport, try another hotel but never this one!

Nothing around this area within walking distance. It was too noise to sleep, receptionist service was terrible, she double blocked my room to another guest, so there was another guest trying to get into my room in night, the window was unable to lock (feel very insecure in night). There are also door knocking, baby crying, car parking noises all time of the day…and the driver asked for more tips when pick-up and drop-off at the airport. Seriously, this is the worst hotel/inn that I’ve ever stayed!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I wasn't going to write a review for this hotel since it was just an overnight stay during a long layover.

If you would like a review, please see the one provided by my sister in law Rochele V down below. We shared the same experience.

What I really want to "review" is the response my sister in law received from Howard Johnson to her review.

If you don't have time to read my post, just note that I would never recommend anyone to stay at this hotel because if you have a bad experience, they will just blame you for it or not take any responsibility.

I would like to say that a key component to providing good service is to never blame the customer. We were expecting a shuttle to bring us from the airport at night to the hotel and back the next morning. The shuttle could not pick us up because our flight was delayed and they only provided the service until 11pm. We were told it was our fault for not notifying the hotel of our delay. In what situation can people on a delayed plane ever notify anyone that they are late? We could not turn on our phones. We provided the hotel with a contact number, email and also our itinerary. They said they would have no way of knowing we were delayed. There are such things as a computer to check if a flight would be arriving on time. They could have left us a message if they bothered to check on us. I once stayed in a hotel in Berlin and they emailed me details of what to do if we ever arrived late. That is an example of what a responsible hotel would do if they asked you for an itinerary.

After we found out there would be no shuttle, we had to stand outside to wait for a cab. We just came from Peru so we weren't dressed for winter. Hiking in Peru is a pack light kind of trip. So again, we were told its our fault for freezing outside. We also had to wait outside for the first come first serve shuttle the next morning because there were a lot of people and luggage. We barely made it onto the shuttle back to the airport. We were not dressed for winter but again, we were supposed to be picked up and dropped off (door to door) if we got the service we were promised.

In reading the manager's responses to various bad reviews, it seems like it's either the customer's problem that they had a bad experience or there is something else to blame wether it be hurricane sandy or construction. Never any apologies or how they can improve their service.

Anyway, I personally think that the response to my sister in law's review was just plain rude. Please take some responsibility for your service or lack thereof. The number of reviews and their low ratings is really telling of this hotel. Just the fact it's rated #19 out of 22 hotels in the area means there are 18 better choices you can go with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

More fruit variety like bananas in the breakfast, boiled eggs, yogurt. . Too noisy in the halls at night someone should keep people quiet . Towels very rough they need a little softener.
The employees were very professional at all times, and helpful when asked for something, very honest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Terrible hotel. Thank goodness I was only there one brief night between a very long overseas flight and a train trip. The shower was coming off the wall, power points coming off walls, and uneven floors covered in plastic fake timber. I somehow ended up with a smoking room, though I didn't book one. I asked to move, and even with the broken shower Ai was told I couldn't and the staff member's solution was to coat the room in air freshened. Don't even get me started on the barking dog in the room next door (just imagine a pet in an Australian hotel).

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

overpriced, considering the next day we stayed in central NY for same price in lovely hotel. only good thing was breakfast and friendly receptionist. Room smelt and I was freezing with no spare blankets. Bath plug did not work and i felt like i was in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
first off i want to say thank you for your business. Also I'm sorry that your experience was not 100% satisfying, however the reason why the bathroom plug didn't work could've been that the plug wasn't reset and to reset it you would have to press the little red button that says reset on the plug, we would've been very happy to assisted you with that and also bring you an extra blanket if the room was too cold for you, all you had to do is just dial 0 and give us a call at the front desk we would've been more than happy to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport

Address: 153-95 Rockaway Boulevard, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newly Renovated Howard Johnson Inn at JFK Airport, NY. A modern two story interior corridor hotel with an elevator awaits your arrival. Located in the fastest growing area of New York City, this hotel puts you right in the middle of all that New York City has to offer. Within a few minutes of the Hotel you will find JFK Intl Airport, LaGuardia Airport, Jones Beach State Park, Rockaway Beach, Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, Arthur Ash Stadium-US Open, Shea Stadium, Belmont Race Track, Jacob Javits Center, Green Acres Mall, Roosevelt Field Mall and New York Aquarium. Resort World New York Casino is 2 miles away. Start your stay off right with coffee, tea, hot chocolate upon check-in. During your stay, enjoy our fitness center and countless other amenities such as free high speed internet access. Before departing in the morning, make sure to visit our warm and inviting breakfast area where we offer complimentary USA Today newspaper and serve Continental Breakfast. Enjoy our fresh baked hot waffles which compliment our expanded continental breakfast offerings of fresh fruits, cereals, juices and a coffee bar. All the while, feel safe and secure with our nightly hotel-only dedicated private security that is here for your peace of mind. All of our finely appointed rooms were recently renovated and include premium one cup coffee makers, iron/board, hair dryers, premium massaging shower heads, safes, AM/FM radio alarm clock, Electronic locks, satellite television, activity table and chair, New Beds and granite bathrooms. Yes, we are pet friendly with a fee of 50.00 per night per pet. Our hotel takes pride in the Earth Green practices. We utilize 100 percent fluorescent lighting throughout the hotel. We urge you to please turn off the lights if you are not utilizing the room and conserve water. Limited Parking Available. Sorry No Park and Fly available. Must have one adult 21 years or older in each room. Airport guests take the Air Train on second floor to Federal Circle. Once at Federal Circle give the hotel call to pick up from 5AM to 11PM EST. Authorization forms must be obtained from the front desk if using company's CC or the credit card in different name than the guest name prior to arrival. In 2011 all our rooms were updated with new paint, beds, comforters, pillows and granite bathrooms. All smoking rooms are constrained to one floor and wing. 57 rooms were designated exclusively non-smoking and pet free after the renovation was complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Airport Hotels Howard Johnson Inn, Jamaica, Nyc Hotel Jamaica
Jamaica Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.