We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153-95 Rockaway Boulevard, Jamaica, NY 11434   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Jamaica
New York
1 review
“Honest people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

More fruit variety like bananas in the breakfast, boiled eggs, yogurt. . Too noisy in the halls at night someone should keep people quiet . Towels very rough they need a little softener.
The employees were very professional at all times, and helpful when asked for something, very honest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    82
    53
    85
See reviews for
72
69
63
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Terrible hotel. Thank goodness I was only there one brief night between a very long overseas flight and a train trip. The shower was coming off the wall, power points coming off walls, and uneven floors covered in plastic fake timber. I somehow ended up with a smoking room, though I didn't book one. I asked to move, and even with the broken shower Ai was told I couldn't and the staff member's solution was to coat the room in air freshened. Don't even get me started on the barking dog in the room next door (just imagine a pet in an Australian hotel).

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

overpriced, considering the next day we stayed in central NY for same price in lovely hotel. only good thing was breakfast and friendly receptionist. Room smelt and I was freezing with no spare blankets. Bath plug did not work and i felt like i was in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
first off i want to say thank you for your business. Also I'm sorry that your experience was not 100% satisfying, however the reason why the bathroom plug didn't work could've been that the plug wasn't reset and to reset it you would have to press the little red button that says reset on the plug, we would've been very happy to assisted you with that and also bring you an extra blanket if the room was too cold for you, all you had to do is just dial 0 and give us a call at the front desk we would've been more than happy to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in many different hotels around the world, ranging from 2 to 5 stars...and therefore my expectations with hotels and the amount I pay for their rooms is reasonable. While this hotel is very affordable, the quality of service (especially since it is in N. America) is much lower than what you pay.
They offer an airport shuttle, so I e-mailed for details as well as giving details of my own flight. (We were at JFK with an 12 hour layover.) ETA was 8:35pm, but with the flight delay and re-checking of baggage, it was more like 10:55pm when we arrived at Federal Circle. We called this hotel and we were told that there are no shuttle services past 11pm. (Extremely frustrating, as we just had an 8-hour flight. PLUS, in my e-mail I detailed the flight number, arrival time, and contact cell phone number. No one bothered to check on our arrival, call my cellphone or even to inform us in reply to the original e-mail that shuttle service ends at 11pm!!!) We had to get a taxi (another $20) and wait outside in the cold (January 4th and we weren't wearing much as we had just flew in from Peru).
Got to the hotel and waited an extra 15-20min to check-in. Wanted to buy a Dasani water from the vending machine, but ended up getting Poland Springs? (My sister-in-law also bought a drink from the vending machine and the brand that came out was totally different.)
In the evening, we signed up for shuttle service to the airport for 6:30am. We were told it is first-come, first-serve. There was one gentlemen and a family of 3 with a lot of luggage also wanting the shuttle service. We were waiting in the lobby first, but I didn't realize that first-come, first-serve would mean having to line up outside near the shuttle. (AGAIN IT WAS COLD!) Didn't think we were going to fit in the shuttle. Luckily, we did. But, all the time I kept thinking, why did we even bother to sign-up for shuttle service, when it is a first-come, first-served basis. And instead of waiting outside with all the luggage, why couldn't the hotel have a policy (such as ticket numbers) such that we could wait inside and maintain some sort of order?!?
I will never stay at this hotel again and seriously rethink about staying at any Howard Johnson in the future.
Note: While this hotel stranded us at the airport without a shuttle, the shuttle driver for Hilton was especially helpful in getting us a taxi to get to Howard Johnson. If I ever find myself at JFK for an extended period of time again, I will be staying at the Hilton!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
First of all let me say thanks for your business. As for the shuttle service its posted on the website from what time it starts running in the morning to what time it ends at night, however you said your flight was delayed until 10:45 that was your responsibility to call us and inform us that your flight was delayed and your going to be running late because there's no possible way we could have known that, January 4 is still consider winter in New york city so even if you are leaving a country that had a beautiful weather it doesn't mean it's going to be the same here and for that you should have check the weather and pack for it. We ask that you signed up for the shuttle even though its a first come first serve basis because that way we can have an idea of how many guest we have going out on each particular shuttle time that way we can make arrangements and its very rear that the shuttle is unable to carry all the guest at once, and at the end of the day you did get on the shuttle and got to the airport on time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport

Address: 153-95 Rockaway Boulevard, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newly Renovated Howard Johnson Inn at JFK Airport, NY. A modern two story interior corridor hotel with an elevator awaits your arrival. Located in the fastest growing area of New York City, this hotel puts you right in the middle of all that New York City has to offer. Within a few minutes of the Hotel you will find JFK Intl Airport, LaGuardia Airport, Jones Beach State Park, Rockaway Beach, Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, Arthur Ash Stadium-US Open, Shea Stadium, Belmont Race Track, Jacob Javits Center, Green Acres Mall, Roosevelt Field Mall and New York Aquarium. Resort World New York Casino is 2 miles away. Start your stay off right with coffee, tea, hot chocolate upon check-in. During your stay, enjoy our fitness center and countless other amenities such as free high speed internet access. Before departing in the morning, make sure to visit our warm and inviting breakfast area where we offer complimentary USA Today newspaper and serve Continental Breakfast. Enjoy our fresh baked hot waffles which compliment our expanded continental breakfast offerings of fresh fruits, cereals, juices and a coffee bar. All the while, feel safe and secure with our nightly hotel-only dedicated private security that is here for your peace of mind. All of our finely appointed rooms were recently renovated and include premium one cup coffee makers, iron/board, hair dryers, premium massaging shower heads, safes, AM/FM radio alarm clock, Electronic locks, satellite television, activity table and chair, New Beds and granite bathrooms. Yes, we are pet friendly with a fee of 50.00 per night per pet. Our hotel takes pride in the Earth Green practices. We utilize 100 percent fluorescent lighting throughout the hotel. We urge you to please turn off the lights if you are not utilizing the room and conserve water. Limited Parking Available. Sorry No Park and Fly available. Must have one adult 21 years or older in each room. Airport guests take the Air Train on second floor to Federal Circle. Once at Federal Circle give the hotel call to pick up from 5AM to 11PM EST. Authorization forms must be obtained from the front desk if using company's CC or the credit card in different name than the guest name prior to arrival. In 2011 all our rooms were updated with new paint, beds, comforters, pillows and granite bathrooms. All smoking rooms are constrained to one floor and wing. 57 rooms were designated exclusively non-smoking and pet free after the renovation was complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Airport Hotels Howard Johnson Inn, Jamaica, Nyc Hotel Jamaica
Jamaica Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.