We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn NY - JFK to your Saves list
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144-10 135th Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11436   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Jamaica
Honolulu, United States
1 review
“An Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

As hotels in this category, I found it good enough for a day stay between connecting flights. The plusses were the complimentary shuttle service, wifi, and breakfast. The desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The fact that Hampton Inn was attached to the Hilton provide restaurant service and food after a long day of flying and airport and airline food. No significant minuses to speak of except for the non-airconditioned floor hallways.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Bryan M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you found our property to meet your travel needs. We will be happy to welcoming you back next time you are in the city.

Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    469
    174
    57
    34
See reviews for
329
272
124
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived at Hampton Inn NY-JFK and found that everyone, from the bus driver of the free shuttle, to the staff at the desk, to the breakfast staff, to those that were available as we checked in, were very welcoming and eager to make our stay a pleasant one. We were a group of 21 so things were hectic, but we quickly settled into our clean and comfortable rooms, then came down and asked for information on getting to a nearby casino. They quickly arranged cabs for us and we were on our way. Their every half hour shuttle was supposed to take us to the airport in between their scheduled trips, but with traffic and many people wanted to leave the hotel, the shuttle ended taking all of us plus others. But that was fine as we were able to load and board first, then were dropped off as a group at the airport.
Mishalla was extra nice and patient in giving us directions to catch the shuttle, and for her, everything was possible and she followed through with all our requests. A big Mahalo to Hampton Inn NY-JFK for taking care of us with professionalism and warmth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear 525Christine,
WOW!!!!! What a nice review! Thank you. We are so pleased to read the wonderful remarks as it helps us understand what matters to our guests.
"Clean Hotel, Friendly,Helpful Staff" is how you describe our hotel in a sentence!
This is what we aim for every day, we could not be happier to have such a statement coming from our guest. What we strive for every day, clean hotel, clean and comfortable guest rooms and common areas and we do so with a wonderful team of hospitality professionals, starting from a detail oriented team of housekeeping staff, to our front office and every other individual. We thank you for taking note as your comment will not go unnoticed.
We are also very luck to have Mishalla on out team, her dedication to customer service makes her one of our many stars than shine every day. And make our guests wanted to come back.
We will be thrilled to welcome you back at the Hampton Inn JFK.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a very comfortable, clean hotel and reasonably priced. The shuttle service makes it easy to get to JFK and they run every 30 minutes. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a shuttle. There is access to the Hilton restaurant next door which makes it convenient to get a bite even if you have a late arrival. Would definitely recommend for layovers at JFK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Dorothy M,
Thank you for an overall wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to our future guests. We value your opinion and we thank you for sharing in here with our TripAdvisor community.
We look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were leaving for Hawaii out of JFK on Thursday June, 20th so we decided to play it safe and stay the night before (it's a 2.5 hour drive for us). Our intentions were to arrive much earlier that evening, however some last minute running around prevented that from happening. We ended up arriving extremely late for check in, approximately 3am Thursday morning. When we got to the hotel we searched the parking lot for a parking spot and there were none available! I went inside to check in; the receptionist (sorry I don't remember her name) was pleasant and professional. At the end of our conversation I asked her where we should park and she told me the hotel was completely sold out and there was no parking available. She told me the only option was to park on the street, that it was a residential area and that it was relatively safe. I definitely was not comfortable with that idea, we weren't familiar with the area and the last thing we needed was to have our car stolen the night before our 2.5 week trip. I explained that we'd only be there for a few hours considering how late we'd arrived and how early we'd be leaving. The security officer on duty overheard our conversation and said he was going out to double check the parking lot. He came back in a few minutes later and said the he had moved his personal vehicle so that we could park our car there! I thanked him repeatedly because he certainly did not have to do that for us. Fortunately, I had already booked our long term parking through a different company for the next morning. The hotel's website does say they have a limited amount of parking so I was somewhat prepared for the issue, however I will say there was actually a ton of parking spots they were just all full. We finally headed up to our room; it was on the smaller side but very clean. Once again I was very happy to find a nice note stating that all of our bedding had been cleaned for arrival, such a nice touch. The bed was really high off the ground as someone else noted! That did not bother us seeing our bed at home also sits very high. The bathroom was nice, modern and clean as well. The only other issue we experienced was that the air conditioning system was extremely loud and it was ice cold in the room when we arrived. At first we tried to turn up the temperature so it would be more comfortable but after a little while and not seeing a difference, while we just shut the system down. Even after turning the thermostat off the blower continued to run all night long. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of blankets to keep us warm but I did inform the front desk at check out so that they could hopefully fix the problem before someone else freezes all night long. Unfortunately because it was such a short stay we did not have a chance to check out any other parts of the hotel. It was extremely busy and crowded at checkout time and in the lobby so we did not even get a chance to see what they had to offer for breakfast. The location was great, approximately 15 minutes from the airport so it definitely served its purpose. My only recommendation would be to have another receptionist available at checkout time; the person at the desk was also handling phone calls as well so it did not seem to be a smooth running process as it could have been.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear BethanyS4,
We thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn JFK for your recent stay while in the area.
We are glad to see that your found your room clean and comfortable to your standards. That is something we strive every day. Glad to see that our efforts are being recognized. I have also taken note of your suggestions and recommendations and we are trying to find ways to best implement and better our guest's experiences.

Many thanks.
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heaven
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After being up 20 hours after returning from a European trip. I called from Federal Circle at JFK and was placed on HOLD for 15 minutes!! When she finally returned to the line, she told me I DID NOT have a reservation and she had no rooms available. I tried to tell her I had a reservation and she finally decided to listen. She then said she would notify the shuttle driver and promptly hung up on me! I arrived at the hotel and one of the other receptionists was MUCH nicer (thank you, Jennifer!) and apologozed for the other receptionist. The room was comfortable; however the bed is very tall - a bit difficult to sit on. The room was moderately quiet. I was surprised there was no arm chair in the room. The desk chair and bed provided the only seating in the room. Breakfast was good - but very crowded. Fortunately there was plenty of seating available. The breakfast staff worked dilligently to keep up with the guests - kudos to them. The lobby area was very spacious with plenty of chairs and sofas available. Both my nighttime and daytime shuttle drivers were very polite, kind, helpful and efficient. Aside from the one receptionist, the staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear George O,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope you enjoyed your short stay at the Hampton Inn JFK. Please accept my apologies for the first encounter you experienced with the hotel. "I do not know the day of you arrival" please feel free to reach out to me and provide the information as it will help us look into the this for you. I am glad to see that your interaction with Jennifer was what you expected to be. Jennifer mirrors all other employees at the hotel, she is very attentive and a true hospitality professional. We are lucky to have her as part of our great team. I am pleased to see that your interaction with everyone else was a wonderful one.
We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel itself is really quite nice, lobby area, breakfast area, very nice. The room was lovely, very comfortable bed & great shower, etc. What sucked was deciding to take a cab to get there. We had 2 cabbies tell us they had no idea where it was...both times we were driven out of the way & in circles until we ended up paying close to $30 for each ride. When I got home I was looking at the hotel's website & realized they not only tell you it should be a $10 cab ride, they provide directions & a map on how to get there from JFK. So my words of wisdom are by all means stay at this hotel, but print out everything you need so you can tell the cabby before you get in that you know this ride should be no more than $10 & you'll tell them how to get there. If they can't do that, get another cab. It's a pity that our experiences staying with the inn was tainted by these unscrupulous cabbies. When we were leaving the Inn (we stayed 2 nights 2 weeks apart) we took the Inn's shuttle & the 2nd time they called a car for us because we missed the shuttle by seconds & were going to miss our flight. Both times the drive took 5-7 minutes to get to JFK. Their driver's helped with our bags & were polite. So, do enjoy the convenience & comforts of this hotel but be aware of the thieves known as Yellow Taxi drivers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear IrishPrincess57,
Thank you for staying wit us and for your wonderful feedback about the Hampton Inn JFK.
I am very sorry to hear the story about the TAXI and the inconvenience. We will be happy to provide you with phone numbers of taxis that we often call for our guests, which are pretty reliable. Also, the directions on our website as you mention are a great tool if you do not know the area. It is always best to have them accessible. If at any time we can provide with any assistance on your next visit please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Address: 144-10 135th Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jamaica
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn NY - JFK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.