We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn NY - JFK to your Saves list
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144-10 135th Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11436   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flying out of JFK? Save $
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Jamaica
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Clean comfortable rooms with nice fresh smell. Lots of space in the room for all your bags and suitcases. Fast free internet. Helpful and polite staff. Nice breakfast in the morning. Shuttle runs like a Swiss clock.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Chungashvilli,
Thank you got a perfect 5 star review. This is what we aim for all our guests to walk away with. And we are working together to make this happen. We are thrilled that we have achieved our goal and we will do so in the future. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again next time you are in the city.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    469
    174
    57
    34
See reviews for
329
272
124
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fantastic staff, very informative and willing to help. Breakfast good just like all Hamptons. Room clean, a little wear and tear on building but clean. Important is the staff was WOW thanks. They had a taxi waiting for me at any time, let me know how to get to the city various options, spoke of things to do once there. Very patient with all my questions. Beside they comfy beds and clean linens what keeps me going back to Hampton Inn is the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Kimberly R,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We agree with you "Customer Service is What counts" as we try hard every day in making sure guests walk away with wonderful experiences like yourself. Our staff will be here ready to welcome you on your next visit.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great staff, very friendly, helpful and caring. Ivy and Kristle made my day very very pleasant . They helped and cared for me and my son's comfort with a genuine caring service. Ashley and Kevin from the night shift made my night very comfortable;thought there wasn't any non smoking rooms available, they offered to accommodate the best they could by offering to put something to clean up the air in the room. I don't have words to express my gratitude. They all care for your comfort and are willing to help you in any possible way and that's why I call a 5 star personnel. Regarding the hotel, it's very convenient located to JFK., which was a plus for my trip purpose. The room was cleaned and breakfast was good too. Coffee, chocolate and tea are available 24/7. They don't offer lunch but the staff at the front desk give you options. The bathroom was cleaned and they can provide you with a travel kit if you forgot something, like they stated on their post, they have you covered. Well, Thank you for everything. A2 star hotel with a truly 5 star personnel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear mariabreyes,
Thank you for a wonderful review. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn JFK while visiting the area. We are delighted to see that our staff members went above and beyond to accommodate you and they will be glad to read your wonderful feedback. The team at the Hampton Inn JFK thanks you for staying with us and for sharing this wonderful review with our future guests.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was my first stay at the Hampton Inn and probably unless really have to will i go back on check in after notifying the hotel that my flight will be arriving from Africa early in the morning when i got to check in the staff members were rude and i was told at that part of the morning 9am was to early for a check in the staff member was rude to the point of telling me that baggage storage is a problem and i do so at my own risk. The room was clean and had signs that clean sheets were put in for new guests realy???should this not be the norm for all hotels to change linen when a guests check out. The taxi services are expensive so catch a yellow cab or verify the amount befor final destination. Dont expect a smiling face on welcome and as for breakfast dont expect much maybe a few lessons can be learnt from hotels in India and Africa.What is it with disposable plates and cups is this not an environmental hazard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Rehina R,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us. It is not the norm at the Hampton Inn JFK to hear about our staff's behavior, we have take note and looking into this for you. Please allow me to apologize and we hope to welcome you again at our property for a chance to make it right, the Hampton Inn way!

Thank you,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My actual stay at the Hampton Inn JFK was not that bad (hence 2 stars instead of 1), the rate was good, it is convenient to JFK, rooms were quiet, and parking was free. The last bit may not be a positive as I somehow did not feel safe with an open access parking lot that was out of view of the front desk.

Now on to the reason behind my rating, which was the Hotel's (very) unprofessional response to an item of sentimental value that I unfortunately left behind during my 6 hours there.
After managing to have the item located, I was surprised when I was asked to send an "image" or scanned copy of my credit card which they would use to Fedex the item to me. Surely this violates even the most basic credit card safety "do's and dont's"?
The easiest thing would have been to have me fill out an authorization form and use the card I had used to pay for my stay.

Then came the bigger mess-up; I rescheduled my departure from the US to go via JFK instead of O'Hare solely because that would allow me the chance to pick up my item from the Hotel. I called them a day in advance and mentioned I would pass by to pick it up, and that as time would be at a premium, if they could have my item handy with a note that I would pick it up.

When I arrived at the hotel, they looked around and could not find my item, then they said they were trying to locate my item which may be in some downstairs area where the front desk did not have access. Then I was told that the item was lying next to the front desk all these days but somehow someone had taken it away a day back even though I called and requested that it be kept there.

I was offered to be sent the item by post, but, shockingly again I was asked to write down my credit card number on a piece of paper.
I am not sure why they could not swipe my card for an estimated shipping amount. After 20 minutes of waiting, i left as my flight time was close, and somehow managed to catch it after running at the airport.

So this is what I did; rescheduled my flights, rented a car, ran all the way back to the airport, and went through a lot of stress.
What did the Hotel do? They could not manage to do the only thing they had to do; which was to keep an item near the front desk.

And I would have expected that after this mixup they would have volunteered to send it to me, which they did not and made me even more disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Rover82,
Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps us understand what we did wrong. I did look into this in detail and i would like to personally apologize for such an inconvenience!
If there is anything at all that i can assist in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ideal for what I needed it for. I had a morning flight from JFK and this is a few minutes from the terminal. The staff were friendly, the shuttle service is efficient and the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast is pretty bad but for less than $100 a night I think overall this place is good value and I’d use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Wilko82,
Thank you for staying with us. I do apologize that the breakfast wasnt to your expectations. We are looking into this and see what happened. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed one night for an early morning flight out of JFK. All round good experience.

Good:
- friendly staff
- convenient location
- rooms was spacious and comfortable
- free shuttle to airport
- free breakfast, I left to early to taste food
- battery dead in TV remote, reported to front desk, fixed by room service in 10 minutes
- good price for New York Hotel

Bad
- can't think of anything !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPW Communications & Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear stmalcolm,
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you found everything to be to your liking and all the staff to be attentive and accommodating to your needs. Thats what we always like to hear.
We will be thrilled to have you again at our hotel.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Address: 144-10 135th Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn NY - JFK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.