We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great JFK Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145-11 North Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11436   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Great JFK Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

I stayed for a night at the JFK Courtyard prior to an international flight. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the airport, which promptly arrived after a phone call from the courtesy phone at Federal Circle (Station C, airtrain).

Hotel staff were fantastic and very accomodating. Room quality was great - clean and comfortable and well-insulated from the nearby airport noise. I did not eat at the hotel, but did try some delivery Chinese using one of the menus provided in the room. Skip it unless you are desperate - the food was not good. Restaurants in the area require a $15 one-way taxi ride or a car, unless you go back to the airport to catch a train into the city.

The hotel is highly recommended if you need a short stay near JFK.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    136
    43
    14
    13
See reviews for
69
77
34
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

My daughters and I stayed here for a few nights when they were on their way to overseas summer programs. We came in after a redeye flight and were immediately checked in, no line, and slept very comfortably in a clean, quiet room for a good part of the day. I was always served immediately when I went to the front desk with a question and every staff person was very courteous. The shuttle always left on time for the airport/AirTrain. I would stay here again if I needed to be close to the airport, and I would recommend it to others. The only thing I would change would be to have fresh healthy food available for sale throughout the day, instead of just snack food. E.g., yogurt, fresh fruit, etc.

  • Liked — Convenience, low key clean, comfortable accommodations
  • Disliked — Food selection (lack of)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Hotel staff are very nice, friendly and accomodating, but the rooms need some work. The hotel recently went all no smoking, but the first room we were given still had residual cigarette smoke smell and we had to move to another room. The previous smoking rooms need additional deep cleaning and replacement of the carpet and drapes. The next room did not smell like smoke, but the closet door was missing. We left and checked back in because our trip was interrupted, and the room we got next had a broken toilet seat and the iron was broken as well. The rooms were clean however, and the beds very comfortable. The food in the hotel restaurant is horrible. I was served a soft, molded cherry tomato in my salad.

  • Liked — Closeness to airport
  • Disliked — Rooms were broke down and still smell like smoke
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2007
The kind words of this reviewer regarding our staff have been shared with all hotel associates! The reviewer was kind enough to share additional helpful information when contacted.

The toilet seat was reported as loose during the stay, and was promptly tightened. After the room number was supplied when the guest was contacted, we were able to identify the iron that was not working properly, and replace it. The room the reviewer identified as having smelled like smoke was checked. While it was not a prior smoking room, it appears that a prior guest had smoked in it against policy. While it had then been treated, there was apparently still a residual smoke smell, and the room has been re-treated to eliminate all traces of odor.

Comments from our guest are always appreciated, and enable us to identify opportunities to improve our services. Thank you to this (and all) reviewers for taking the time to pay us compliments, and provide constructive criticism. Both are appreciated. We look forward to accommodating your lodging needs when in the NYC/JFK vicinity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We used this hotel after a late night flight to JFK before moving onto Manhatten. Good value for money - shame no real late night food since it's an airport hotel but has everything you need. Cab into Manhatten should be no more than $60 or get the train from the airport. Hotel doesn't supply a shuttle from the terminals so had to get a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2007
The kind words of this reviewer are appreciated, and have been shared with our staff.

Our hotel provides 24 hour shuttle service, which picks up or drops off guests at the airport via the central hotel shuttle pick up area. This is located at the Federal Circle stop of the JFK AirTrain (sation "C"), the light rail system that transports travelers around the airport and between terminals.

In addition to our restaurant food offerings, we have installed The Market, a "grab and go" that provides 24 hour access to food and beverages including chef salads, sandwiches, fruit salads, garden salads snacks, frozen items (microwave available) and beverages. These can be taken to the guest room or into our restaurant seating area, whichever the guest prefers. In addition to the hotel restaurant and lounge menus, we also offer various outside services that will deliver directly to the guest room or to the restaurant/lounge area upon request. These menus are in the guest directory, with some offering services as late as 2 AM.

As the reviewer mentions, we are a 35 minute commuter rail ride away from midtown Manhattan, and all the attractions and businesses located there!

We look forward to welcoming you to the Courtyard by Marriott at JFK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott JFK last week for one night. The front desk, maintenance, valet and restaurant staff were outstanding. It's not easy to service anxiety-ridden airport travelers and they are extremely tolerant and helpful. The front desk staff were respectful and efficient from the time I booked, asking for a quiet room, to the time I checked out. The coffee maker didn't work and I had a new one in 10 minutes from the maintenance staff. The room was a little small but clean, with thick and comfortable beds. The bathroom was good quality. The room was quiet despite overlooking the Belt Freeway. The food was good, but just like the room a bit expensive. But, it's NY. You can take the shuttle or it's a 5 minute drive to drop someone off, which i did. It was worth paying a littel more when I saw the physical plants of the Ramada and others. The hotel is on the smaller side with a very small lobby. They don't have a real gift shop. But you don't need that for who they service. The lobby bar is being renovated. Nice job JFK Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

Excellent hotel, convenient to JFK. Friendly staff. Clean room, very comfortable bed.

  • Liked — Convenient to airport, good shuttle service. Clean and very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — Small cramped reception area.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

When we arrived at the Hotel we had to wait for almost 15 minutes to take the elevator!. There are only 2 elevators and it takes too long. Also we got stucked in the elevator for about 5 minutes. The staff at the reception was friendly, however the breakfast lounge was a complete nightmare. When we arrived there was no host/hostess at the entrance, so after waiting for 5 minutes we decided to sit somewhere. There were only 2 staff on duty and it took 45 minutes before the waitess came to our table. your coffee is comming up....ummm noting like tea or hot chocolate?....I guess the hotel assumes all guests drink coffee. again we waited for another 15 minutes. apperantly we were forgotton, so we just left. The Hotel was clean but do not expect any Service from the Restaurant.

  • Liked — check in staff was polite
  • Disliked — waitress with very slow service/Airport shuttle driver thinks he drives a racecar!
  • Tips/Secrets — do not use the breakfast lounge unless you want to wait for over 1 hour
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport

Address: 145-11 North Conduit Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11436
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jamaica
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott JFK Airport is located adjacent to JFK International Airport in southeast Queens NYC, convenient to Queens, Midtown Manhattan, Brooklyn & Nassau County businesses and attractions. Our 24 hour shuttle makes us perfect for stays the night prior to flying out of JFK or upon arrival to NYC. Take advantage of the JFK AirTrain/LIRR link for quick, convenient, affordable commutes to midtown Manhattan or points east in under 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jfk International Airport Hotel Jamaica
Courtyard Hotel Jamaica
Marriott Jamaica
Courtyard Jamaica
Jamaica Courtyard
Jamaica Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.