We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel that seems a little out of place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Jamaica/Queens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Jamaica/Queens to your Saves list
Ramada Jamaica/Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164-40 Hillside Ave, Jamaica, NY 11432   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice hotel that seems a little out of place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We chose Ramada because it was cheap on New Years Eve. When similar hotels in Manhattan were charging 3-4 times their normal price we managed to stay the 31st and 1st with 4 people for only $37 per person per night including tax. It is convenient to the airport, costing only around $20 to get a taxi from JFK. Two blocks from the subway that takes you into Manhattan without much trouble. As for the area...it is colourful to say the least. I never felt unsafe, even walking from the subway late at night, but you definitely want to keep your wits about you. There seems to be a large migrant population which makes for a great selection of food from loads of different countries. The hotel serves a continental breakfast from 6 to 10 which is quite substantial considering the price of the room. While my preference will always be for Manhattan, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    95
    85
    37
    46
See reviews for
96
75
38
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

While the staff was very brusque and a bit inept, the rooms were clean and gorgeous, nice amenities, and there was a small free parking lot. The location was just a few blocks from the subway which was perfect for us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresina - piauí
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

The location is not good, neither the service. The staff doesn't pay adequate attention to the necessities of the customers. There was a smell of smoke, despite the advisor of "non-somking". Bad breakfast. The lobby is a mess. At last, an employee simply entered my room without asking or knocking at the door...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

In each previous visit to Manhattan on business, time has been a premium, so I've stayed in Manhattan and paid accordingly. On this occasion, with fewer meetings and more time, I sought a less expensive option, easy access to Manhattan and with the quality key characteristics one seeks in a hotel.
I struck 'gold' at the Ramada Queens.
Extremely comfortable King size bed, in room refrigerator, large LCD TV, phone with free local calls, Continental breakfast included in room rate, Laundromat within 1 block.
The staff are enthusiastically helpful and extremely accommodating within the usual commercial parameters - no 'attitude'.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Hotel is perfect oprtion for those who are looking for excellent and worth professional services and hospitality option.
Room was very nicely furnished and equiped with almost all necessary equipments. Cleanliness of the hotel was truly unbetable in this affordable price. Looking at the breakfast area I was not expecting the fresh and HYGENIC breakfast they served me. Location of the hotel is very convinient as far as transportation to city and airport (JFK and La-Gurdia) is concern.
24 Hrs access to business center, unintrupted wi-fi intrnet access, 24hrs acess to coffee and tea , adding unexpected satisfactory value against what I paid.
Housekeeping and frontdesk staff is very frinedly and efficient. I would say you will hardly find an alternative for this hotel in city like Newyork, in this affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

first we thought about the place coz it says jamaica but when we reach to hotel our view has been totally change ,it was good hotel rooms are clean front desk staff are really helpfull breakfast ,gym and etc etc are good hotel for the money and we can say very good place for the money in new york city

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This hotel was great! I had read the reviews online and was desperate to stay in NYC to see the Christmas Tree but couldn't afford anything in the city. I saw the reviews on this place and decided I would give it a whirl. When we got to the bus station and looked at an NYC map, we got a little freaked out by the distance between the city and the hotel (this hotel is the 2cnd to last stop on the F line) but when we got on the subway, the ride was only about 20 minutes! ...We also forgot that the subway systems are much more efficient than in Boston :)

The room was spotless, the workers seemed pretty nice, free breakfast in the mornings, and it was right next to the subway station (not much of a walk at all!) I definitly plan on staying here again. The only thing i have to say is there really isn't anywhere good to eat in the area of the hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Jamaica/Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Jamaica/Queens

Address: 164-40 Hillside Ave, Jamaica, NY 11432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Jamaica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Jamaica/Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Jamaica/Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Queens Hotel Jamaica
Ramada Hotel Queens
Ramada Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Jamaica/Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.