We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at a Great Cuban Joint in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria

La Gloria
8611 Northern Blvd, Jackson Heights, NY 11372
(718) 806-1270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 185 Restaurants in Jackson Heights
Description: Sexy, seductive, sophisticated... all aptly describe La Gloria"s decor & clientele, who stop by for food, drinks, socializing, & even a little online wireless Internet time. Upon entering, one is first struck by the sweeping front bar. It is illuminated by ambient lighting that washes the venue's interior walls and plush leather seating in exotic crimson hues. Adding further dramatic effect are the intricate wood, granite & red-brick finishes that bring texture to La Gloria's architecturally-inspired detailing. And it is within this one-of-a-kind setting that guests enjoy signature cocktails, plus a selection of fine wines that is every bit as impressive as the dynamic interior and its equally dynamic fashionista crowd. Try one of the best cafe con leche in Queens along with traditional Cuban-Dominican homestyle cooking. Chef Marcia Ortiz's menu offers savory chimi and frita sandwiches, plentiful paella, ropa vieja, &more in an informal setting. Check Out Our Great Sunday Brunch!
Restaurant details
Description: Sexy, seductive, sophisticated... all aptly describe La Gloria"s decor & clientele, who stop by for food, drinks, socializing, & even a little online wireless Internet time. Upon entering, one is first struck by the sweeping front bar. It is illuminated by ambient lighting that washes the venue's interior walls and plush leather seating in exotic crimson hues. Adding further dramatic effect are the intricate wood, granite & red-brick finishes that bring texture to La Gloria's architecturally-inspired detailing. And it is within this one-of-a-kind setting that guests enjoy signature cocktails, plus a selection of fine wines that is every bit as impressive as the dynamic interior and its equally dynamic fashionista crowd. Try one of the best cafe con leche in Queens along with traditional Cuban-Dominican homestyle cooking. Chef Marcia Ortiz's menu offers savory chimi and frita sandwiches, plentiful paella, ropa vieja, &more in an informal setting. Check Out Our Great Sunday Brunch!
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Time at a Great Cuban Joint in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Finally I found good cuban food in NYC, Being from Miami and cuban, This place has to be the closest to what my abuela used to make.

I had the skirt steak and my girlfriend had the fried snapper.

Both dishes were perfect, cooked just right and plenty of portions, as it should be in a cuban joint.

Would and are planning on going again !

Thanks for a great time and even better food !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I went to La Gloria Saturday February 23rd for dinner, although I had no reservation we were seated right away. The place was nicely decorated but the space itself is a bit narrow and if you are seated at the first table every time the front door is opened you will feel the cold air coming in. Plus it becomes a very tight space when the band comes in you basically have them on top of your table. I did ask for a different table but was told the other tables were for a party bigger than three. Due to info mentioned above I was nervous thinking this was going to turn into a bad experience but I received an unexpected surprise. Starting with the attentiveness of our waitress, the great sangria (white-passionfruit), the awesome food & the wonderful band that began to play at 9pm. All and all I will definitely go again and again & as long as my experience stays on a positive note I will continue to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Took suggestions from the owner and had an incredible ribbon flank steak and salad. Dinner was really incredible. So lucky that we found this place through tripadvisor. It's worth the walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Went for the tops views and they did not have it for serving. Very disappointed so I ordered the steak and it was very good.

Flavorful and a nice portion. Call ahead if you want ropa vieja to ensure they have it

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Musical chairs instead of eating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Had reservations for two and was given a table towards the back. Little did we know they put us in the middle of a b-day party in which the party was all over us that my wife could not even see the door and/server. Complained to waitress and was moved towards the middle of the restaurant and that lasted for about 15min before we were told to move again because there was another party coming in and they needed the space and was moved again near the door. That lasted 10min. before the owner told us to move again because the band was coming in and they needed the space. I was fed up and decided to leave without finishing our food and was charged full price for cold half eaten food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria also viewed

Jackson Heights, NY
Jackson Heights, NY
 
Jackson Heights, NY
Jackson Heights, NY
 

Been to La Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.