We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than we imangined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   356 Elmira Rd., Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“better than we imangined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We weren't expecting much, the better hotel chains were booked, and we were very pleasently surprised. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were attractive, and modern. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    30
    18
    15
See reviews for
58
24
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BellaLola
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Room was comfortable, didn't smell, fairly clean- aside from stray hairs from previous guests. The staff was rude and snooty, it's a Comfort Inn, not The Ritz! Aside from ourselves, every other room had a pair of dogs, crying, whining and scratching was heard all night.

  • Liked — The room was updated, close to downtown, comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — Pets, inadequate cleaning, staff.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2007

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very nice and compenent. We have stayed in many hotels in Ithaca and this was an excellent value.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Was thrilled to actually find a room in Ithaca during a busy time. Until I actually got there. The price was outrageous at $149 a night. Definate price gouging. The room was not clean. Stains on bedspread that looked like it was never washed. Carpets stained and badly worn. The bathroom looked ok until I realized there were dirty towels in the towel holder! They were still damp from the last person that stayed in the room! The traffic was quite loud and there seemed to be a party happening at my end of the hall. Complained and got a "ya, I'll take care of it" from the front desk twice. Gave up and went without sleep. When I mentioned it to the desk clerk in the am. Was told "Those kinds of things happen at a motel." I asked for a discount for my inconvience and they refused. I will never stay at comfort inn again. Next time I happen to be in Ithaca and there are no rooms to be had but at this place, I'll just sleep in the car!

  • Liked — Getting out the door!
  • Disliked — Dirty towels!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

Stayed here for three nights on Labor Day weekend, 2006 with friends, one other couple. Our friends, both Cornell alums, have stayed at this hotel before and made our reservations.

Each of our rooms had two double beds and was clean and comfortable with a mini fridge, coffee service, and iron/ironing board.

The bathroom was clean, had a hair dryer, enough towels, and sufficient counter space.

Breakfast was included. Although we didn't make use of it, a quick glance showed a waffle iron with batter so I suspect breakfast was at least adequate. The lobby had coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available at all times.

Only negatives: No elevator (hotel is two stories); the lobby had no space to sit/socialize except for the few tables used for breakfast. The rooms didn't have a closet, just a coat rack with those annoying non-removable hangars. I was told that a planned remodeling would add both closets and a lobby. Stay tuned.

Upon check-in we showed our AAA cards and the higher room rate we reserved was voluntarily reduced, a gracious touch.

The location is on a commercial/retail strip, the kind found near the outskirts of every town in America. No view except for the muffler shops, a Lowes and Home Depot and other chains. But it is up the road from a Wegman's 24 hour supermarket, however, and Wegman's is a notch or two over most other supermarkets. It offers eat-in and take-out as a less expensive option to restaurants and fast-food.

The hotel is just a few minutes from central Ithaca and you pass the Purity ice cream shop on the way, an Ithaca institution. You can treat yourself here and be part of history as well.

Nothing fancy at this Comfort Inn, but it's perfectly acceptable. It delivers an honest value for a hotel of its type. I'd stay here again.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

This hotel is old, outdated, and uncomfortable. Please go down the street to the Hampton Inn like we did. It is worth the few extra dollars.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2005

A clean hotel, quiet, and no surprises. The breakfast was breads, fruit, pastry and cereal - best to take away as there were few tables in the cramped eating area. Still, OK if you just want the basics.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 356 Elmira Rd., Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ithaca
Comfort Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.