We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptuous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi O Sake - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi O Sake
107 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 272-1200
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Scrumptuous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Best sushi I've had in a long time. I am from a more urban area and was a bit snobbish, thinking that Ithaca might not have the best sushi. Wow, was I wrong. The menu is creative and voluminous, with specialty rolls for anyone's taste. The prices were very reasonable for a true sushi lover. I had an enormous roll with tuna, soft shell crab, avacado and eel for $14 and it was more than enough for a meal and was one of the pricier rolls. So delicious. Staff and sushi chef very sweet and friendly. Classic modern japanese interior. Great to impress a date or any sushi lover!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Stand-out in a Crowded Field”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As Asian restaurants seem to be springing up in the Ithaca area like dandelions in spring, it is a pleasure to note that Sushi O Sake is the best in a very crowded field. Ithaca has a high number of Thai restaurants, & now Japanese restaurants seem to be the new trend. Sushi O Sake stands out because of its high quality & elegantly served food (The Mermaid appetizer is divine.) and its refined atmosphere. No detail is overlooked in this restaurant, even down to the impeccably clean bathrooms. The friendliness of the staff matches the creativity & quality of the food. You're in for a true treat at Sushi O Sake!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been eating here for years. We eat sushi weekly. Fish is fresh with a great variety.

I've eaten sushi on East and West coast, and all Ithaca sushi restaurants. Sushi O Sake and Plum Tree are a close tie to be the best sushi in Ithaca.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We am not down on the Ithaca Commons too often, but found ourselves there at dinner time on a Friday night, so we thought we'd try this place. Dining partner and I had a sushi appetizeer, Sukiyaki, Napeyaki Udon, ice cream mochi & fried icecream. And salad came with our dinners. Including tax & tip, it cost us around $70. It took a while to order, espcieally considering there were several empty tables when we arrived, but once the food came, it was excellent quality. Entrees were plentiful and we ended up taking them home to finish enjoying the next day. The ice cream mochi was tasty with only 2 little pieces, so that was a bit pricey. By the time we left, the place was absolutely packed. We would definately go back again and bring the rest of our family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Only at Sushi O Sake...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

...will you find the Sunrise Roll. It is a Salmon roll topped with buttery mashed potatoes. Everything else is delicious but you must include that amazing roll in your meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi O Sake also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi O Sake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.