We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adjust Your Expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   654 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Wonderland Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
DC Region
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adjust Your Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We looked hard for a decent place to stay but apparently the first weekend in October is a busy one in greater Ithaca, so, despite some negative reviews on this site, we went with the Rodeway.
First of all, this is an old fashioned MO-tel, where you pull your car up to the door of your room; though in this ase we backed up as there was a great puddle some six feet in diameter covering the parking space (my wife joked about the "lakefront" room) .
The room itself was shabby but reasonably clean. It offered a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board. The bathroom was small (so small the bathroom door had been cut so it could close without hitting the toilet.
There was a working shower, though the controls were a challenge.

We didn't end up using any of the appliances; however when my wife prepared to shower, she noticed that the Rodeway had provided shampoo but no conditioner. She went to the "office" to ask for some and was told that the shampoo also contained conditioner.This information was, at best, mistaken and resulted in a drive into Ithaca to purchase some actual hair conditioner.
A minor inconvenience perhaps, but reflective of the establishment and its concern for the comfort and well being of its guests.

The bed was not particularly comfortable but adequate and we spent a quiet night at the Rodeway. It could have been worse but If we ever need to stay in Ithaca again, we'll hunt even harder for a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    17
    5
    22
See reviews for
24
15
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Musty times ten and damp. Stayed when it was raining out..but the room, (in my opinion) took a long time to become that musty. Disrepair and not clean. I should have been paid to stay there. We booked through expedia but could have paid $40 less if we had called the hotel.

Room Tip: When no other rooms in the town, sleep in your car or go to another town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two night, the room was clean and comfortable. It had a fridge, tv, next to door parking and breakfast. The breakfast itself is not great but is enough to get you started. The location is tight out of Ithaca so a lot of nature around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed just the one night based on dollar value and previous Travel Adviser comments. The Rodeway Inn’s outside appearance harkens back to another decade and can be a little deflating at first blush. However, the Wi-Fi equipped room was quite adequate, clean and more updated than the outside might suggest, offering a TV [not flat screen], microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, and hair dryer. My wife was pleased with the ironing board & iron. The small bathroom has a shower only. Breakfast was basic but adequate. The staff was the bonus – helpful, pro-active and friendly. The hand-written bedside envelope for tips made us smile. A satisfactory place to rest your head for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just OK for a few days. Good low price. We didn't try the breakfast but preferred to drive to Wegman's for good coffee, muffins and yogurt. I'm particular about pillows and wish I'd taken my own.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the motel for two nights. The accomodations were modest in appearance but the staff was just great. For a college town the rates were very reasonable. The motel location is just south of the city, and so it was not a walkable location for access to restaurants but everything was minutes away by car or bicycle. The room was well equipped and very adequate for our needs.The breakfast was more than continental and included waffles and eggs along with muffins. The motel and its staff were a great find for us, and we expect to returning on our visits to the city campuses in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Extraordinarily helpful staff even when canceling 2 nights. Even made the waffles for us for breakfast. Low price compared to other Ithaca properties. Facility is somewhat worn but everything is in perfect repair. Approximately, 2-miles from town was slightly inconvenience for us bicycle tourists but shouldn't be any problem for motorists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 654 Elmira Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Wonderland Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Ithaca
Rodeway Inn And Suites
Wonderland Hotel
Rodeway Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.