We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep - Park & Fly - No problems!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Ithaca to your Saves list
The Hotel Ithaca
222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sleep - Park & Fly - No problems!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Lobby & Check In Experience
Beautiful lobby and check in was a breeze with Joshua at the main desk who was friendly, helpful and arranged for our shuttle to the airport the following morning. (Want to fly out of a quiet beautiful little airport? Fly out of Ithaca!) Joshua also told us we could leave our vehicle in the parking lot free of charge for the week we were away and call for the shuttle to come and pick us up when we returned. He also told us to help ourselves to the fresh cookies at check in as he was tired of looking at them. He was a funny and polite young man - but spoke like an auctioneer. Or perhaps we're just getting old! :-)

Room
We were upgraded to a corner "tower room" which gave us a view of the parking garage and the town. It was a good size room and very clean. The king bed was very comfortable. The WIFI actually WORKED!

Note: When parking the vehicle we noticed some rooms at the back of the hotel which looked like they were once "motel" rooms (the kind you drive up to) with an windowed hall way built along front. I am assuming these are older rooms and probably not as nice as the rooms in the tower. This being said, if you are a smoker, they would be perfect for you as you can just step outside your room and walk ten feet to go outside for a cigarette.

Bathroom
Exceptionally clean with all the amenities you could want.

Room Service
There wasn't a room service menu in the room, so my husband and I (dog tired) wandered down to the restaurant in the hotel. The server, a wonderful girl, told us there was room service available - so we placed an order and went back up to our room. She delivered our food - it was hot, delicious and to say it was plentiful would be an understatement. We could have shared one meal and unfortunately, we both had to waste food or have our stomach's explode. I had an enormous club sandwich that could have fed a family of four! My husband had a rack of ribs that could have fed a village.

We had a good night sleep in this comfortable clean room. As stated in other reviews the building looks a little tired (in spots) but other than a bit of wall paper peeling that you REALLY had to look for it was still lovely.

Airport Shuttle
The driver, a young local woman, is an asset to Ithaca tourism. She brought us a little out of her way to see a waterfall and told us about the 4th of July celebrations on the lake. When we returned we had to wait about a half an hour for the shuttle to come and get us but this wasn't a problem. It was nice to stretch our legs after our flights. The driver of the return shuttle was quiet and didn't say too much but was a nice young man just the same.

At $140.00 for the night - which included a free shuttle to and from the airport I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    90
    87
    55
    25
See reviews for
85
72
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The room was clean, but getting worn. There seem to be rooms that were built or renovated at different times, since when we checked in we got a description of the different kinds of locks on the doors and how to hold the card to use that lock. You don't want to slide the key in the direction indicated by the arrows... The wifi worked fine and the front desk person was friendly. We got a good price on hotwire, and would probably have been unsatisfied if we had paid full price.

The room design was also a bit strange. The sink was outside the bathroom, which is fine, but had no towel rack. There wasn't a desk or table, but there was a big empty corner. Parking was free.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I booked the Holiday Inn at the last minute through Trip Advisor's search for the cheapest (Expedia at this time). Despite all of the reviews about being outdated, my daughter and I thought it was perfect. We booked a queen in the main building. When we arrived around 9 p.m. we were pleasantly informed that they upgraded us to a King size bed. We only stayed one night to tour Ithaca College. It was a perfect location, walking distance to State Street, the little area where traffic is blocked so you can shop, eat and dine. We walked to a local pizza place, Sammy's and grabbed a quick slice. In the morning we walked to Collegtown Bagels and enjoyed a healthy wholesome breakfast and a great cup of coffee. Then we checked out, drove 3 minutes to Ithaca College and left the town.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Sayed here for 2 nights in February. Room ready on arrival. Promised refrigerator for meds but none came for 4 hours despite numerous calls. Tried to order room service breakfast the night before, told to call in the AM. Called 1 hour before needed it and told it was a 2 hour wait. Supervisor apologized and knocked off $50, but we really wanted breakfast. When I told the front desk that they needed better staffing they blamed it on too many other guests. They had staffed the restaurant (medium size) with one waitress, what did they expect. And she probably cooked the food too. If you need things done efficiently don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I first stayed in this hotel about a year and a half ago, had a lovely stay. Booked another room through Hotwire for two very comfortable nights. Had a lovely room in the tower with a view of the Cornell campus and a King size bed.

My only complaint last time was the outdated cable channel selection. That has now been corrected and I was very pleased.

The food is so-so. Lots of good places to eat in walking distance. Breakfast was tasty and served very quickly via room service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherstocking Region New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Used a free night on our way back from wine country on Columbus Day weekend. Hotel is in a great location to the downtown area, but parking is at a premium. We left hotel to go out to dinner at The Boatyard (see review) and could not find a spot in the hotel lot when we returned. Told to park across the street in the parking garage which happened to be free on weekends and holidays. I don't know what we would have done if it was not Columbus Day. Watch out for the restaurant. We went down to use our free drink coupon from Priority Club and it cost me $12 for two Thirsty Owl Riesling's. When I inquired whether BT included "free" with this, she told me it took $4 off the price of the wines. Apparently buy one get one only refers to beer and rail drinks. $8 for a glass of wine is a little steep for a Holiday Inn. Room was on 10th floor in tower building. Hotel looks as if it also includes a motel unit, so be careful when you book a room. Ceiling in room 1004 was at least 20 feet high. Flat screen tv was nice, but room was not as big as the one we had the night before in Waterloo. Check-in was fine, but there were several other families in the lobby complaining that their rooms were not ready at 5 pm. Some had been waiting over an hour and were not too happy. We were checked in within 10 minutes and received a welcome bag (Priority Club) with a small bottle of wine, bottle of water (which the seal was broken) and some animal crackers and trail mix. A nice little welcome that not all Holiday Inns provide for Priority Club members. Bathroom was not very big, but had a jacuzzi tub which I used on Monday morning before check out. Overall, nothing great, but if you need a nice play to stay in Ithaca while visiting Cornell or Ithaca College, it will do the job.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I would recommend this hotel for people who want to be near downtown. The hotel has an almost ideal location. With that said, the hotel is outdated and needs a serious makeover. Staff was perfectly nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.