We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible bed and bogus service promise” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Ithaca to your Saves list
The Hotel Ithaca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Phish Magnaball Package
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
SE PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Horrible bed and bogus service promise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a family event and had a two room with king bed and two queens. Shared it with my in-laws. First problem, no elevator to our part of the hotel so we had to lug everything up the stairs. Next problem, extremely dated rooms with cheap furniture. Worst part. The queen beds were horrible. They had a canyon in the middle of the bed. It was so bad that my wife actually put her at the foot of the bed to try and get more comfortable while I hugged one edge of the bed while trying not to fall off the edge or slide into the black hole in the middle. I also started running out of hot water in the morning (I presume) since I had to keep turning the temp up to keep the water comfortable. On check out when I brought this to the attention of the three people at the front desk I got a stiff smile and was told they would look into it. Holiday Inn has a guarantee that you will be happy with your room or they will compensate you in some way for the part you were not happy with. No one offered to do that, nor did they offer to get the manager. I was tired and cranky with a sore back and 4 hour drive ahead of me a did not want to deal with people who obviously have no idea about customer service or how to make a service recovery. I made another complaint to Holiday Inn Corporate Office online and basically got the canned response of thanks, we will let them know, have a nice day. So I would have to say the lack of customer service runs all the way to the top. It would appear they just don't care. Hopefully they read this!!! Maybe it will get someones attention since nothing else has. Do not stay here!!!!!! Stay at the Hilton Garden about 3 blocks away. A bit more money but you get a full buffet breakfast that was very good.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have had problems with rooms before but most places will try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear medic303, I am very sorry for the poor nights sleep that you experienced. The employees at the front desk did report back to myself and the General Manager regarding the bed and it has since been fixed. We appreciate feedback and normally act quickly to rectify any situation that a guest may have. We are going through a renovation, we began in November, and hope that you do give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    98
    90
    60
    27
See reviews for
92
75
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

As others before us, we were also placed in the large, old section of the hotel that used to be a motel. In our case this was done because construction work is taking place in the tower, but the section also seems to be used regularly.

In general, there is nothing to complain about staying in somewhat older rooms but it was my impression that these rooms could use some remodeling. Entering in the dark, we needed to keep the entrance door open to have enough light for making our way to the other side of the room where we could switch on one of the bedlights, as there was no other light easily available (apart from the bathroom light around the corner). In the light, we could see that the room was cleaned improperly with crumbles lying around the floor and stains from bottles or glasses left on table and drawer. Most notable, however, was the absence of hot water from the shower, which is unfortunate when you return from the pool during the winter.

While the rooms largely failed at making us feel home and comfortable, the remainder of the hotel (i.e., the tower-section) was in good shape. The pool was clean and nice, as was the gym. Unfortunately, the room is the most essential part of the hotel experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jacapsicum, I appreciate your feedback! We are actually renovating our hotel and the old motel section will be eliminated within a year. We are in the process of renovating our Tower rooms right now. We hope that you do come back in the future and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
582 reviews 582 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Located just South of the commons, this hotel is convenient for any stay in Ithaca though a bit high priced for the quality. Really more motel-style with rooms that are dated and older amenities but perfectly serviceable. For just a few dollars more, the Hilton Garden Inn 2 blocks away is a better value. Breakfast is not included.

Room Tip: get a room in the tower if you can - these are more modern than the motel-style ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jon1796, we do hope that you try us again in the future! We are under renovation and will be making some major changes. We are renovating the Tower rooms first, so if you are in the area, they should be done in a few months. We would love to show you are new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We were in Ithaca for Cornell Freshman Parents' weekend, and had another pleasant stay the Holiday Inn, Ithaca. Friendly staff, comfy beds, clean rooms, and a very nice reception featuring local beers and wines as well as appetizers made with local ingredients. Room rates were jacked up a bit due to all the parents visiting, but, not as bad as Boston hotels for the World Series!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Julie, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We truly appreciate the positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Holiday Inn downtown Ithaca and it wasn't really good value for the money. I'm not sure if this isn't so for all the hotels in downtown Ithaca. They all seem to have high priced accommodation and I'm not sure why.
The one redeeming factor of this hotel was that it was situated right down town so that it was close to walking distance to great restaurants and bistros and to the Common. But this hotel is tired and needs a renovation. Our first room smelled of smoke and the night manager was very understanding so he gave us a new room across the hall. Both rooms were on the second floor and were kind of dingy and disappointing. The second room overlooked the rooftop and its large industrial vents - no view at all. The bathroom was okay and quite spacious but the taps were a bit grungy and the tub was small and shallow. Our beds sagged and the cleaning staff didn't clean our rooms on the last day that we were there - they didn't realize that we had booked to stay on the Sunday night. So overall, though I loved the area and the city, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: I heard the rooms in the tower might be better than the ones on the ground and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear lackrill,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the room you received. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel got barely lukewarm reviews in Trip Advisor, but we really needed a hotel room for my daughter's Ithaca College concerts, so we made a reservation for one night at the Holiday Inn. The location is great. The room was clean. We got a complimentary water and small bottle of wine for signing up for the rewards program. The staff were friendly. Everything good so far. The room was fine - it's a Holiday Inn - not a five star hotel - a good price, nice room EXCEPT we were facing the parking ramp and there was no curtain to draw! There was only the sheer curtain. Several times during the night I woke up and the room had an orange glow from the parking garage lights. Seriously? I would definitely stay there again if they invested in some room darkening curtains. I heard from a local that they were renovating the rooms. Maybe they hadn't made it to the curtains yet. I would definitely consider staying there again, if I had a room with curtains, because it is a great location, and otherwise the hotel was fine - a Holiday Inn at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHIIthaca, General Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn- Ithaca Downtown to stay while your daughter visits Ithaca College. We are in fact starting renovations this November. Unfortunately it is a common oversight but there are black out curtains behind the sheers which sometimes get hidden but the drapes. Please next time if you have difficulty finding them contact our front desk and we will be happy to show you. Hope to see you on your next visit to Ithaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for a recent wedding. The rooms were well appointed and the staff was extremely friendly. We lost our luggage on the way to Ithaca. The luggage was delivered at 2 am, and the staff kindly held the bags until early the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHIIthaca, General Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful for your stay here in Ithaca. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the wedding you were in town even with the hiccups you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.