We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the first visit but still disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Ithaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
new york
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better than the first visit but still disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel due to business travel and not being able to select my own hotel to stay at. I am still not thrilled with the property, especially for the price. This holiday inn does not live up the holiday inn name at all.

This property is alittle run down but over all the staff were pretty helpful, cheerful and nice which was a huge improvement from my first stay. Room was standard and did not include a micro or fridge. Since I was staying 4 days I requested a fridge and it was brought to my room within the hour. It looked pretty banged up but worked great.

The pool is out of service for some reason so be aware if swimming is on your agenda. MY room was on the first floor facing the road and it was VERY loud all night long. Not much sound proofing in this place. Could hear my neighbor in the next room talking to his wife on the phone.

My biggest complaint continues to be the iffy shuttle service. The hotel was practically empty during my stay as the University was closed for break. Reserved the shuttle for an early morning trip to campus and upon arriving was told that they didn't have anyone to drive the shuttle (only one person covering the desk) so they called us a cab (and they paid the fare). The cab was DISGUSTING. Reeked of cigarette smoke, car was tiny and the driver had her small child with her in the front seat. Had asked about service back to the hotel and was told by the front desk that we should call and see IF a shuttle was available when we were ready. After making the call - and luckily having the shutle available - we waited 45 minutes in the cold for it to arrive. Next morning we were able to get shuttle service in the AM but the afternoon was another long wait. My colleuges mentioned that they had been stranded on campus by the shoddy shuttle in the past.

I inquired about the quirky service and was told that actually it was very quiet so we were lucky. When the college is in session they shuttle is very hard to get in the afternoon. I don't like having to worry about being stranded on the Cornell campus in the winter.

The location is convenient to restaurants, shopping centers (Wegmans, Tops, Barnes and Noble, etc.) but the iffy shuttle service and the high price (no included breakfast either) would not make this my first choice in Ithaca.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a tower room - I hear they are newer and nicer. Also, if you require a micro or f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear mysterie91,

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am deeply sorry to read that you were inconvenienced by the shuttle service. I appreciate you letting us know about this unsatisfactory circumstance as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your review and we all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    74
    77
    48
    23
See reviews for
75
52
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I plan to make regular visits to Ithaca, and this will be my place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was quiet and comfortable, the bedding and towels were excellent quality and attractively arranged. The shower head had multiple settings, and the water was hot quickly, even on the ninth floor. I had a corner room with a lovely view in both directions. The controls for heat and air conditioning are easy to adjust. The cafe is delightful, with quick service and generous portions of great food.

The downtown location is perfect, and I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I will always request a corner room on the ninth or tenth floor. The view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed overnight for an early morning college interview at Ithaca. Grabbed this room for a GREAT price on Priceline, and I would have been more disappointed had I paid any more for it.
Staff was very friendly getting us checked in, and the hotel was clean and attractive. When we entered our room the heat was blasting, we were immediately too hot and uncomfortable, and the overhead light at the door didn't work.
The bedding looked new and was very comfortable, they offered pillows labled "firm" and "soft" on each bed which was thoughtful. Accessible outlets for our phone chargers and laptops would have been nice. We had to go behind furniture to find them. The bathroom was clean but older-looking with the permanent grout dirt, dripping faucet, etc. The toiletry samples were from Bath & Body Works which I'm allergic to.
The pool and gym were both very nice, but you're sharing the lobby restroom (with a separate entrance to the gym) to change your clothes--so better to change in your room and bring a cover up. Pool was long enough to swim laps and the treadmills (two total, also one nautilus machine and a stationary recumbent bike) had TV's attached to each.
The restaurant, Max's, was great and staff there was friendly too. We enjoyed the 1/2 price appetizers deal on weekdays.
Priceline advertised a free breakfast with this room so we were disappointed when there wasn't one. Fortunately, we did have the restaurant right there to grab something before our early morning appointment.

We had just come from a PERFECT hotel stay in Syracuse the night before, where we paid an even lower price for a larger room with a sitting area, microwave, granite bathroom, free hot breakfast...so maybe if we hadn't just experienced THAT, this would have been a better review...

If we had had more time to visit downtown Ithaca this would have been the ideal location for that, it's a very walk-able distance to the commons area for restaurants and shopping. In summary, I agree with Scott D's review:: "a bit rundown", but I will consider this hotel again if I'm coming back to Ithaca.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and large. The bedding all seemed quite new. It had a nice comfortable chair with an ottoman for your feet. The desk was large. It is easy walking distance from many restaurants and shops, and a large library. It is not walking distance from Cornell. The restaurant is standard for a hotel of this type. The breakfast was very nice but typically overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly upon check in. Room was immaculent, even had turned on the heat before we arrived. Great ammenities and bedding. Close to everything and reasonably priced - what more can we ask for? Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

the property is a bit rundown. On the surface everything seems as thought it is fine - pretty standard stuff. But then one by one you start noticing the things that just aren't right. This was once a slightly more high end property (under another name and brand) but hasn't had the maintenance investment to sustain it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My first room was dirty and bed looked like that someone has slept there before. The room was in the side building next to the parking lot. I got another room which was little cleaner, but toilet got stuck. Bathroom does not have a sink, it's in the room. I got finally the third room from the tower, but still bed was not made well, so it looks used, because the linens are not well ironed. Reception gave really bad service and when they finally let us talk to the management, everything started working well.

Room Tip: Check other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.