We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Ithaca

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Ithaca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Ithaca
222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here while attending a sports tournament for the weekend. It is a decent place. Rooms are average nothing spectacular. Location is convenient to Ithaca Commons. Ask for a room in main building on a high floor. There are first floor banquet rooms located directly below second floor guest rooms. Very loud if there is any type of entertainment which can go past 11pm. Hotel restaurant food is decent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    79
    78
    50
    23
See reviews for
77
56
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Unable to get a room at any other nearby hotels during parents weekend at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY, we stayed here for 1 night the last day of our visit. We should have stayed at the hotel in Binghamton that was 50 mins away. The location is great, right by The Commons (shops and restaurants) with free parking. The outside of the newer Tower main building looked promising. The lobby was standard, a bit dated but was nicely spruced up with fall decoration. The front desk rep who checked me in was professional and friendly. She made me feel as a valued Priority Club member. Unfortunately things took a steep dive as we walked to the elevator. Immediately smelled the stale smoke that other reviewers had written about. The elevator and the hallway of the floor smelled like an ashtray. The furnishings in the room were very dated, and set up more like a motel ( open closet) than a hotel with rates of $189 - $269. Rates do not include breakfast. The internet was good.The bed was comfortable with fresh linens. However the rest of the room was not clean, carpets stains and there was dust on almost every surface. Which I could not understand, never seen that before. I am allergic to dust, so I was actually using a wet cloth to wipe dust of the the lamp, night stand etc. I take baths, not showers but the bathroom floor, the toilet and tub was such that I wanted to spend as little time as possible time. It is really a shame, the hotel is in a great location and the staff tries so hard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband & I spent one night here due to a friend's wedding. We chose this hotel due to it's location (downtown) and the fact that it did not require a 'two night stay 'as some of the other hotels did for that weekend (Homecoming weekend). For what we paid we were disappointed. Although we found the hotel room itself to be somewhat current in decor & the bed very comfortable, the bathroom was seriously outdated & unattractive. In fact, there was still a phone (with a long cord) attached to the wall next to the toilet!!! The wallpaper appeared to be slightly peeling & the tub caulking looked aged & black in spots. The hotel did not offer a free continental breakfast, which we found very disappointing for the price we paid (over $200). It seems the only positive w/this hotel is its location & they know it. We will not be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: HIgher floors offer a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When staying in downtown Ithaca you don't have a lot of options and this Holiday Inn seems to know it. It is frequently sold out. I would say this hotel's greatest asset is its super close location to the Ithaca Commons. This is the reason we chose to stay here.
I was definitely not impressed at all during our stay. Everything seemed to be a litte dated. We stayed on the third floor. The entire weekend it seemed our floor was an extra storage area. There were numerous refrigerators, microwaves and cribs stockpiled right outside of the elevator in the hallway. We went out for the whole day on Sunday from noon to 5PM. Our room was never made up. After calling the front desk two times housekeeping finally came up. It seemed like they just never got around to cleaning our room. (And from the calls coming over the housekeeper's radio more rooms still needed attention at 5:30PM). My next visit to Ithaca I will definetly stay someplace else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was visiting Cornell with my son. I was looking for a reasonably priced option. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. It is a somewhat old fashioned hotel but the rooms are spacious, the hotel is well maintained, the service is friendly and the parking is free. Plus you are in the downtown Ithaca, so there are numerous dining options. The one downside is that you have to drive 10 minutes to Cornell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We (5 in total, 3 adults, a two year old and a three months old baby) had arrived there for one night while visiting the finger lakes on the way to Niagara Falls. The room was spacious and was enough for what we needed.

The reason I gave it 3 stars is because it was too pricy for what we got and it could of been cleaner.
Regarding the location, it's right in the downtown but we were more interested in the falls so it might of been smarter to get a motel outside of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First, friendly by clearly overworked but desk staff tried hard to make the welcome efficient. Second, the room was clean and the cleaning staff discreet. The maintenance staff also came promptly and fixed things - cheerfully and several times. I have read the positive reviews and wonder if I am in the same hotel or whether the wing I am in (close to the lobby and not in the tower) has been lost in the mists of time. The ceiling paint peels, the air conditioner cannot be run at night if you wish to sleep, the shower runs only lukewarm unless you get up very early. This is not shabby chic. But perhaps the most disappointing aspect off my stay is the quality of the food. It has been woeful. Maybe in terms of the room I was just unlucky. By I know from several colleagues staying at the same time that my views are shared.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear 180Opoho,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased you found the room clean. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation specifically with the condition of the room. In addition, I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Ithaca

Address: 222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hotel Ithaca located in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lake Wine Region on the Ithaca Commons. Our hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness room, two penthouse suites and our restaurant, Max s Classic American Grill featuring thick, juicy burgers and nostalgic diner specialties.While staying in Ithaca, shop in one of a kind specialty boutiques on the Ithaca Commons, take in a show at the Historic State Theatre, enjoy a glass of wine along the Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails or take a stroll along Taughannock and Buttermilk Falls. Come and enjoy a summer of festivals and events including the annual Ithaca Festival , Finger Lakes Wine Festival , Grassroots Festival , and the Dragon Boat Festival . NASCAR and Indy fans will love to catch a race at Watkins Glen International Raceway. The Hotel Ithaca is an ideal location for business travelers and college families. We are only a mile away from Cornell University and Ithaca College, and close to many companies including Emerson Power Transmission, Borg Warner, TPG Inc., Goodrich Ithaca Space Systems, Wilcox Press, Cargill Inc. and Cayuga Medical Center. We are the perfect location for planning your next business meeting, seminar, wedding or small convention.The Hotel Ithaca awaits your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Ithaca Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Ithaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.