We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tourelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Tourelle to your Saves list
La Tourelle
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1150 Danby Road, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Winter Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly Relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had such a great time at La Tourelle! We were there during the "off-season" but there was no lack of service. The spa was amazing and everyone who worked there was friendly and very accomodating. Our room was beyond our expectations with a beautiful view even in the dead of winter. The package deals are a great value and allowed us to relax and just enjoy the time. We will definitely be back, during any season!

Room Tip: Go for the King Bed! The view is worth it and the fireplace keeps the room soooo toasty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    81
    20
    21
    6
See reviews for
57
129
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at La Tourelle over a long weekend recently, with my husband. The goal was R&R, with some fun thrown in... and this Finger Lakes destination fit the bill perfectly. We had a deluxe room (off season rates are very reasonable), which was well appointed. I would have liked to have a better view than the parking lot, but no big deal. Guessing the views of the property are MUCH better. Room had double sinks, tub with jacuzzi (don't get carried away - it's standard sized), a gas fireplace, very comfy king bed, refrigerator (though no water). All in all I could make improvements but was very satisfied. The hotel itself is nice but not ahead of itself, meaning i didn't feel uncomfortable walking around after dirty hike or post spa appointment.... We ate breakfast twice at the Bistro, which was very good - excellent coffee from the local Ithaca shop.... The free wine tasting and honor bar are nice touch and Kim who serves the wine is personable and knowledgable about the area. John Thomas steakhouse is ideally next door, so dining options decent... though I would have liked to see a bar with tv close by since football was on.
We both had fantastic massages at the spa and the spa itself is clean and nice to visit and not ridiculously priced. Appreciate that the steam room is available for use to hotel guests, and we did use it.
Bringing me to the area: we were pleasantly surprised by the amount to do - visited local wineries, hiked the Buttermilk falls and trails and went to eat in town.
All in all a great stay. Will be on our list to return to the area when lake sports are possible!

Room Tip: I would get a deluxe room with view of the property, we didn't ask and got a view of the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found this hotel as a midway point to get together with friends over New Year's weekend and were pleasantly surprised at what a find it was! La Tourelle is a moderately sized inn (55 rooms?) with an onsite spa. In summer when we were planning our trip, the manager Leslie put together a package for us that included three nights, breakfast at Simply Red Bistro (onsite), massages and a dinner credit at John Thomas Steakhouse (located right on the property). Where to start! The inn is very comfortable, with an intimate seating area by the fireplace -- perfect to relax with friends. Every day around 5pm they offer a wine hour featuring wines from local wineries -- a very nice treat! The spa is quite comfortable, particularly the two tranquility rooms and the massages were well done for each of us -- they were even able to accommodate schedule all four of us at once! John Thomas Steakhouse is excellent, but the real star of the show is Simply Red Bistro. Breakfasts are delicious and you can tell the ingredients used are very much farm to table. Rooms are roomy and yes, as another reviewer mentioned, a bit dated, but they're kept very clean...and things get dated,it's a small inn...it's all okay. Every one of the staff was warm and welcoming and Leslie, the manager, makes sure to make everyone feel welcome. It was a pleasant surprise to meet Scott, one of the owners. We can't say enough about all of the staff from Simply Red, to the spa, to the front end, as well as housekeeping! Additionally, Leslie made recommendations to local restaurants for us and we found her recommendations to be helpful and the restaurants very enjoyable. The four of us know that we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for New Year's Eve. The staff, including the manager, Scott, his father the owner, front desk and the cafe could not have been more pleasant and welcoming. They truly appreciated our business. Our room on the first floor was large, comfortable and warm. Furnishings were a bit dated but what you would expect in a reasonably priced non-chain Inn. The included wine tasting, featuring local Finger Lakes offerings was a pleasant surprise and the free coffee and tea in the lobby were appreciated. We had breakfast at the cafe on New Years day and the service and food were exceptional. The John Thomas Steakhouse on across the parking lot was perfect for a New Year's celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel has a beautiful and convenient location up against buttermilk state falls and a quick drive to downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful (recommending restaurants, hikes, etc). The room was unique, clean, spacious and the bed was super comfortable. The free wine at happy hour and steam room sauna in the spa was a bonus! Got a massage there that was decent. Our room had an old tv but noticed some have flat screens if that matters. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplace, jacuzzi, balcony, flat screens. Ours didn't but it was still really n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice athosphere, big and clean rooms, good restaurant, good parking, quiet, spa services, excellent restaurant in the same lot, comfortable beds, nice views, nice decorations in the lobby, nice size, different to chain hotels

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose this place because of the natural beauty and the boutique appeal. The catering director Eileen was a pleasure to work with as she really made it work with our wedding coordinator. The manager Scott went out of his way to make sure our preceding stays up to and during the wedding weekend were wonderful. He set up a bonfire for our guests down by the tennis cottage so we could have an after party which was great. For all of those who contributed to our wonderful day, we are eternally grateful. We look forward to staying here on future anniversaries!

Room Tip: Best king bed I've ever slept on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tourelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tourelle

Address: 1150 Danby Road, Route 96B, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tourelle 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a getaway that offers deluxe accommodations; fabulous food; great wine; a destination spa and adventure experiences all nestled in the gorgeous New York Finger Lakes wine region, you've found it! La Tourelle's 54 deluxe rooms have dreamy pillow-top mattresses to ensure a restful night's sleep. You'll need that sleep if you plan on touring the wine trails; visiting the museums; taking a hike in any of five state parks, or participating in the numerous adventure excursions available in "gorges" Ithaca. After experiencing all that Finger Lakes wine country has to offer, you'll really appreciate getting pampered at August Moon Spa. We offer all the services you expect from a destination spa, plus we have two Tranquility Rooms where you can relax and enjoy cuisine from our "farm-to-table" menu at The Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Tourelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tourelle Hotel Ithaca
La Tourelle Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tourelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.