We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eastern University Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
new york
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Best Eastern University Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Bit of a misnomer in the hotel name, its actually south east of the university, more east though a little bit south, but its all good. Actually its very good. This place was recommended to me by a good friend who was getting married on campus and told us not to be fooled by the name, its a very nice best western. Ithaca is not much of a city, more like a large town, or even village, and the hotel is located somewhat close to the sights. Though granted there is not all that much in the immediate area, a pizza shop (i think) and a few craft stores and a nice bagel breakfast and coffee place nearby. The hotel is quite nice, its only 2 floors and can be accessed by the street, so its kind of motel style but nicer; rustic is a good term to describe. While I did lounge out at the pool (outdoors) I did not get to go in for a swim, and I did not check out the gym. Since only 2 floors (i forget if there was a elevator) its very long and narrow, but there is parking all around, so you can get your room key and park close to your room. Rest assured, there was no outside noise, and the bed was average/comfy. There is a "woody nature" theme to this place, some rooms even had fireplaces. The breakfast had basic items, but plenty of them and displayed very nicely. There was not a abundance of seating (its served in the lobby/lounge) but it may have seemed crowded only because it was full of people from the wedding. I believe they had a computer for guest use. According to this site this place ranked middle of the pack for ithaca hotels. Im surprised; there didnt seem to be many of them in this town, I wonder what could have been better then this one, It was a bit more money then typical best westerns but this one was better then best western, it was best eastern.

Room Tip: id imagine a room with a fire place in the winter time would be nice and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    102
    67
    34
    21
See reviews for
117
57
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked this place to take a break en route to Niagara Falls. We reached here after a hectic day in Catskill Mountains. Situated on the university campus, the 300 room hotel is spread out over a large area and hence keeps the crowd filtered at different times.

Though the rooms were spread over a large area, the parking areas are conveniently located. Rooms were clean and fresh when we checked in. The rooms had high ceilings and were practical in design. Beds were comfortable with an additional sofa bed to make it comfortable for families with kids. The only hitch we felt was that the bathrooms didn’t have exhaust fans. The staff was friendly and helpful.

During breakfast hours, the staff was very efficient in managing the spills and refills. However it takes a bit of walking in open air to get to the lobby for breakfast, if you are the kind who wears minimal stuff to grab the morning food. Overall, we got good value for money and it suited our travel plan and budget

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Please! get new beds we always stay here every thanksgiving. to visit family in Dryden. We had a room with 2 full beds and a sofa sleeper. The beds where in so bad a shape you could feal springs in your back. The rooms are big enough to have 2 Queen size beds in every room and a sofa sleeper. The Heater/AC UNIT from Hell WAS SO LOUD you had to leave the tv on to drown out the noise to try to sleep! The breakfast was good . The workers are nice and kind . The rooms are clean. but old looking.please update its time to. we would like to come back in the summer we hope you update . thank you for your time. The Pigeon Family From East Aurora NY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our family stayed overnight in August. We arrived late and the night staff was excellent, very helpful. The breakfast selection was wide and very good. We loved the waffle maker and choice of regular and cinnamon batter. We loved it so much we bought a waffle maker and make cinnamon waffles every Saturday morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. The location is very close to Cornell and a small strip mall. The rooms are a good size, but in need of an update. It was difficult to regulate the heat in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Good deal for the money. We paid about $115/night before tax on a Sunday and got a very large room with two queen beds and a sofa that could also fold out into a full size bed. We stayed in room 103 and the ceiling rose up to the 2nd floor. Very spacious. The room had a HD TV, refrigerator & microwave.

My daughter was visiting Cornell and the Best Western is one mile or less from the northeast section of campus. The hotel itself was slightly difficult to find even with GPS as it's set back from the road, towards the back of the shopping strip.

Didn't use the exercise room. Free parking, free wifi, free breakfast. Like I said, a good deal. The walls are thin though. As folks walk by in the hallway, you can clearly hear their conversation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 1/2 mile from Cornell University and 12 minutes from Ithaca College, the hotel is located in the East Hill Plaza, location of 5 eateries, 24 hour grocery store and pharmacy. Hotel is approximately 1 mile from downtown Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.