We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Columbia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Columbia
Save
You added Inn on Columbia to your Saves list
228 Columbia Street, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice for a one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

Founds hosts to be friendly but distant. Our room was fine, it was an attic room so was very hot. The B&B is in a good location and easy walking distance from the town. The breakfast was nice as well. Would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
17
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a little romantic getaway and when we called, the Inn Keeper assured us the Inn on Clumbia was just what we were looking for. However, when we arrived we found that the Cottage we booked was filthy. When we booked it no one told us it was on a property away from the main inn. The Inn was also under construction which the Inn Keeper also failed to tell us when we spoke with him. There was a dog roaming about the property when we arrived. When we told the Inn Keeper we were not pleased with the state of the room, he was rude and told us that our reservation was non-refundable. Even so, the room was so unacceptable that we decided not to stay and we had to pay for the room anyway. The Inn Keeper never made any effort to remedy the situation. An Econo Lodge would have been nicer. Don't waste your time or money. For $215 a night the Inn should be pristine. The Inn owners should be ashamed of themselves! They don't even serve a hot breakfast in the morning. What kind of Bb&B is that, especially when you are paying over $200 a night?

  • Liked — I didn't like anything about it!
  • Disliked — It was filthy!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiaIthaca, owner at Inn on Columbia, responded to this review, January 21, 2009
We are sorry that these guests didn't give our place an fair chance. She wanted a typical country B&B and is afraid of animals. He decided to surprise her with an urban Inn that is pet friendly. Our Inn is how we portray it on our wedsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

The owners really do take pride in their properties! The Villa Madeline is an offsite property that the owners of the Columbia B&B operate, and I stayed in the downstairs red room w/ a queen size bed. I checked in at the main house and was super impressed with the architecture and the interior, and was given easy directions to the Villa Madeline which was very close. I was only there for two nights, so I didn't need much from the owners.

The kitchen was stocked with continental breakfast treats, and the overall feeling was very comfortable. The living room offered a lot of reading material for the area. My private bath had personal toiletries which I thought was a nice touch. The pictures of the other units look just as good, and I would definitely choose Columbia B&B for all future visits to Ithaca - I don't think ANY hotels in Ithaca can compare to this place!

  • Liked — Overall feeling of warmth, well stocked and inviting kitchen
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

Four of us enjoyed a weekend in the private Hillview Holiday House which is a separate dwelling and operated by the owners of the Inn on Columbia. We were welcomed by the owners at the B&B with fresh cider and cookies. They were very accomodating and provided maps, brochures on the wine country, restaurants etc. All the facilities were newly renovated. .
Although the Main House offers a full breakfast, at the Hillview House we had a well stocked kitchen with a basket of fruit, cereals,scones and coffees, teas, juice and milk.
All of the properties are close to the Square and a short drive to the campus. check out [--] for photos.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Columbia

Address: 228 Columbia Street, Ithaca, NY 14850
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn On Columbia Hotel Ithaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.