We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Statler Hotel at Cornell University to your Saves list
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Statler Drive, Ithaca, NY 14853   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A great place to park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

- Super location in the campus
- Excellent rooms
- Friendly service
- Wifi etc

Minor nits: Your food choice are pretty much the hotel restaurant (which is quite ok - just that there aren't other choices) and the student cafeteria in the basement.

Overall, I'd gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor rooms have somewhat of a view - the front facing rooms overlook building/parking while th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    93
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
145
34
33
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Statler definitely lived up to its reputation. We stayed at the Statler with our son, who was attending an event at Cornell and also looking at one of the colleges. Yes, it's more than we would normally pay for a hotel, but nothing beats being in the center of campus, where you can really get the feel for the place. We walked to Collegetown and North Campus to eat. They are both quick walks and offer a lot of choices. We were there on a cold, wet October weekend but the hotel always felt so cozy to come back to. The lobby was always abuzz with people but it had this intimacy about it. A great home base. The staff at the Statler, from the young woman who gave me a courtesy call before we arrived, to the valets/parking attendants, to the front desk and everyone we encountered in the hallways there, were just on top of their game and made us feel very welcome. Our room was very nicely designed and arranged. The view had a bit of an obstruction from part of the roof/setback, but beyond that you could see various historic buildings on campus. Really beautiful. We will be going back for another campus visit in February and can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStatlerHotel, Director of Rooms at The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear girlycheckin:

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit in October; I hope that your stay is as delightful when you return during the cold days of February. If your son has any questions about student life here on campus our staff are always happy to share their experiences so please don't hesitate to ask.

See you next month!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Rypkema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A teaching hospital is a concept that is well known. Less popular is a teaching hotel. The parallel concept is applicable at the Statler: senior managers training students of the famous Cornell School of Hotel Administration. And it works! Our reception and check out by members of Class of '16 was flawless and friendly. The room was modern and comfortable. Criticism: old style ton/shower arrangement and a single sink. Apart from that, it is hard to find fault here. Smiling, happy, helpful, aspiring hoteliers make the difference. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStatlerHotel, Director of Rooms at The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lawrence 2300,

We think our students are great too! As a full time employee here at the Statler, I can definitely say that one of the best benefits we have is the opportunity to work with the student employees and share in their passion for our industry.

Thank you for your feedback on our guest rooms. We are in the early stages of discussing updates for the bathrooms to address issues such as the tub and shower. We are very excited for this project and will share information via our social media sites as it is available.

Best regards,
Rebecca Rypkema
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Certainly the best location when visiting the Cornell Central Campus.
Stayed for 4 nights in Oct, 2013 in a well appointed King room, view to the Cornell Tower. Average price, $320/night for a couple.
The room has quite a Marriott Renaissance style.

Bar and Italian restaurant in site.

Charged $12/day for a very efficient valet parking, but no free parking option.

Staff (basicly formed by students) was friendly and always ready to help, with good attitude and attention to details.
I was very impressed with the quality of service provided by the students , one of the things we most enjoyed at The Statler.

With no doubt, the students deserve an A+ here.

Room Tip: Room 620 (King) has a nice view of Cornell Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Cornell with our daughter. It was super convenient and the hotel was very nice. We paid an extra $40 for the prospective student package which got us an upgrade to a vey well appointed and large suite. The staff is comprised of eager to please college students studying hotel administration at Cornell. They couldn't have been nicer and they do a great job!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel, friendly, energetic, helpful and enthusiastic staff. That means, everyone from the Valet to the Housekeeper! Luxurious rooms with lovely, yet practical furnishings. The shower was the best I have ever experienced! Eco-friendly, down to the smallest detail.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Statler Hotel this past weekend. Our traditional king room over-looked campus and Cayuga Lake. The Fall colored leaves were absolutely beautiful. Saturday morning we enjoyed both the Big Red Band playing tunes as well as the Chimes from our room.

The staff is always very friendly. Great training for students!

The room was extremely clean!!! THE BEST HOTEL in Ithaca! Hands down!

Love the location on campus. We were able to walk to the football game, hockey game, and the campus store!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of campus are the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Statler Hotel at Cornell University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statler Hotel at Cornell University

Address: 130 Statler Drive, Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ithaca
#2 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Statler Hotel at Cornell University 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury Hotel In the Heart Of The Cornell Campus Nestled amidst the picturesque gorges and eclectic architecture of Cornell University, The Statler Hotel blends dignified Ivy League ambiance with the bustling energy of campus life. Experience the unique character of this elegant hotel. You will be welcomed by passionate, ambitious students from Cornell’s world-renowned School of Hotel Administration, working alongside seasoned hospitality professionals. Delight in the upscale accommodations and service you would expect from a first-class hotel. Overlooking the gorgeous Finger Lakes countryside – – only minutes from colorful downtown Ithaca – – we offer university visitors, corporate travelers, and alumni a truly unique lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Statler Hotel at Cornell University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statler Hotel Ithaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Statler Hotel at Cornell University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.