We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A pleasant lunch experience'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joe's Restaurant
602 W Buffalo St, Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 256-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 234 restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Lenham
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“'A pleasant lunch experience'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My friend and I needed a quick and convenient lunch spot in Ithaca and Joe's filled the bill admirably. A very good two-course lunch and very attentive service by Matt was just what we needed!
Although you can't tell from the outside, it is Italian.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

35% Recommend
    13
    10
    12
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superior Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Eggplant Parmesan was the best ever! The crispiness of the breaking on the eggplant paired with the delicious marinara sauce was breathtaking. The spaghetti and meatballs were unbelievable! The service was a little slow due to the fact that there was only one server working, but she tried very hard to keep everyone happy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Always loved Joe's, but quality declining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A few years ago, Joe's was my absolute favorite place to eat in Ithaca. But after my last visit a couple weeks ago, I am very disappointed with what they have done. They still give bottomless breadsticks (which are awesome), but a bowl of salad is no longer delivered for the table. You have to buy that now. My friends and I looked over the menu and were sure that they only had brought us half a menu, but nope! They have chopped their menu in half since a year ago. My favorite dish, fettuccine alfredo, is no longer available. In fact, they do not even have fettuccine noodles in the building. Isn't that somewhat of a staple dish? They brought me some penne alfredo instead, which was good but it got cold really quickly. Their menu seems to be a little more pizza focused now, and I am sorry, Ithaca has enough pizzerias. Another problem is that our group of 5 tried to make a reservation (or see if we could) but we could not even reach the restaurant by phone! This was a Saturday night, and the line would just ring and ring every time. I have always really loved their food and I still like it, and I would still recommend eating here, but it is just not what it used to be. And that is very sad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After leaving another restaurant after waiting 1 hour and 30 minutes without being sat at a table. We looked up pizza and found Joe's Restaurant. We arrived at 10:00 and everyone was so friendly. We had one of the best pizza's we have ever eaten and my husband and I have eaten our share of pizza. We would recommend this place to everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pine valley,ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“heard good things but disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

So bummed, disappointed since I heard good things. Marinara sauce for spaghetti and lasagna was acidy, no italian spices, not a hint of garlic. The meat and cheese in the lasagna was of poor quality and had very little taste. The italian dressing on the salad was thick as molasses and very sweet, not really italian. Now the good part: fed 3 people for $40, but it had less taste than the olive garden. The inside decor is very cute, but the food was sad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Restaurant also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Joe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.