We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Class Near Cornell Campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Quarry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Quarry House
Save
You added Stone Quarry House to your Saves list
26 Quarry Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Ithaca B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and Class Near Cornell Campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed with Nancy and Buzz in the apartment at the Stone Quarry House for a 3-night fall weekend from 9/29/11 through 10/2/11. I am a hotel school alum and consider myself a tough critic. We had four people (wife, three-year old, and best friend from college), and we were pushing the limits of this one-bedroom, one-bathroom apartment. Nonetheless, we had an excellent experience. This is a beautiful residential neighborhood and property, the apartment was clean, cozy and well appointed. Nancy and Buzz were warm and gracious hosts.

The Stone Quarry House is a grouping of three buildings on a large residential property - the main house, the apartment (which is on top of a non-used three-car garage close to the main house), and the cottage (a large one-room cottage). Some reviews mention that this was a B&B, but it is not now, though I would be interested in Nancy and Buzz's cooking if they took that up again. On the property are: a small pond with a handful of ducks; a dozen or so chickens either roaming or in a tidy coop; a beautiful vegetable garden, an outdoor seating area (didn't get to use - cold, wet Ithaca weekend!), large solar panels, and an expansive spread of land on all sides. There are three dogs kept in the house that were very friendly when out (rarely) and the property is dog-friendly, as the guests in the cottage had two dogs with them. The property was extremely quiet and peaceful at all times, especially at night.

When we arrived (BTW - be careful if you are using GPS - there is also a "Stone Quarry Road" in Ithaca a few miles away - but the Stone Quarry House is located on Quarry Road!!), we were greeted by the ducks and then by Buzz and Nancy. We found out that not only was Nancy accommodating to our needs, but also that she was well in tune with our three-year-old. We did not bring much in the way of toys, and Nancy let us use a crate full of wooden railroad tracks and trains, a perfect toy that we could never have brought with us, and which our boy played at for hours. We were also lucky enough to have Nancy babysit for us when we went out to dinner, though she does not advertise this service!

The apartment was cozy and clean. It has a beautiful brand new kitchen which easily fits two people and the counter has two stools underneath it on the living room side. There is also a full-sized dining room table that could fit six easily if you wanted to entertain. The sofa bed in the living room was very comfortable according to my buddy from college, who is six feet tall and finicky. It is made comfortable mainly by the use of a visco-elastic pad add-on and good bedding. The bedroom contains a wonderful king bed, beautiful dresser, matching night tables, and a full closet. A twin-sized aero bed was added for our kid, which definitely made it tight in there. The bathroom, with tub/shower and large sink/vanity/cabinets (and a nice window) was perfect, and included soft, absorbent towels and a built-in dispenser in the shower with basic products. There are two doors to the bathroom - to the bedroom and the living room. The only minor drawback was a difficult placement of the toilet paper dispenser (and I am told that Nancy is strategizing how to fix this - how about under the window Nancy!?).

Overall - this was a great, relaxing, clean and comfortable experience. Nancy obviously strives to please her guests, and my sense that she would do whatever was requested within reason to accommodate her guests. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I drove from Ontario Canada and spent 6 days in the apartment to explore the Finger Lake area. We truly enjoyed our stay. Nancy and Buzz were very accommodating and even let us keep our motorbike in their garage as it appeared that there could be rain during our stay. The grounds are beautiful and accommodated a flock of ducks, hens and a rooster. As a result we enjoyed fresh eggs for our breakfast. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The king size bed was so comfortable we could not believe how well we slept at night. The accomodations are in the country side of Ithaca yet very close to a supermarket and just a short drive to the Ithaca Falls, Cornell University and downtown which was a nice surprise as we could drive into town for dinner at night after a full day of sightseeing in the area. We would definitely stay there again if we ever visited the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stone Quarry House offers luxurious solar-powered eco-friendly lodging. We are traveling through the world a lot, but this cottage is our favorite so far.
We loved the kindness of Nancy, who made us unforgettable waffles.
Fresh air, very nice neighbourhood. I hope we will come back someday.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

The Stone Quarry House is wonderful. Just got back from a week in the stone cottage, and I can't wait to go back. It is beautiful, quiet and elegant. The care and craft in the cottage-- and across the entire eco-friendly property-- is inspiring. Guests with refined sensibilities will appreciate the luxe touches (Tempurpedic mattress, super soft towels and sheets, Stickley furniture, etc.). It's a true respite from the everyday, and a great place to experience the best of Ithaca's natural beauty.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

Myself and two of my best friends stayed at the Stone Quarry House for a fun and relaxing "girls weekend." It was one of the most beautiful and picturesque places I had ever been! The property is just gorgeous - like out of a movie. Beautiful architecture, a serene little lake and cute dogs - oh my!

We stayed in the apartment which was perfect! It was stocked with everything a traveler would ever need to feel right at home. The place was spotless and homey... we didn't want to leave. The bed was so comfortable, I fell asleep on it at 10:30 on a Saturday night!! Yikes!

In response to other reviewers... I'm absolutely stunned that anyone would ever suggest that the rooms are anything but immaculate! Both the apartment and cottage were as clean as a whistle and decorated beautifully. I fell in love with the photographs that lined the walls in the apartment! And to say the beds are uncomfortable, I guess that person doesn't appreciate cozy mattresses, big fluffy comforters and giant pillows!

We also had a tour, given by Nancy, the nicest woman you'd ever want to meet, of the cottage. It is outstanding! It is an impressive arts and crafts style cottage perfect for a romantic get-away!

If you are ever in Ithaca - a terrific little town by the way - do yourself a favor and stay here! It was the best B&B I've ever stayed at and we can't wait to come back!

Thanks Nancy!

  • Liked — The atmosphere. Calm and relaxing!!!!! A great break!
  • Disliked — Nothing - the place was perfect!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

This property and its owners are amazing. It was a relaxing, beautiful place to stay. The morning's by the pond with a cup of tea and a book is just the type of meditative and relaxing moment anyone can use.
I was here for a girl's weekend (perfect) but I would also bring my husband and two small children to stay. There is plenty of room in both the apartment (where I stayed) and the cottage. Everything is really well done with a great style ala Frank Lloyd Wright.
The bed was so comfortable and beautiful. The apartment was nice and clean and the fact that there was a full kitchen was great.
Nancy is wonderful and caring. She is very helpful and knowledgeable about Ithaca. Thank you for the lovely time. We can only hope we were as good of guests as you were hostess.

Thank You.

  • Liked — That is was NOT a hotel
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

The Stone Quarry Cottage is an open plan, large, one room cottage built of quarried stone and rich hardwoods. It is tucked into the side of a hill and thus benefits from the natural coolness in the summer and warmth in the cooler months. It pays homage to the land and natural building materials. There is a lot of natural light and if you wish, fresh air provided by the many windows. AC is available if needed.

The Jacuzzi bathtub sits in one corner of the room. The comfy king size bed juts from the opposite wall. A fireplace faces two leather armchairs. The toilet is closeted and relatively private. A coffee maker, small fridge, microwave and TV are all available. There is an Ethernet jack in the room-bring a cord. The grounds are well kept and parking is close.

Maid service and food are not available on the premises. Check out the website - it is very well done with many photos.

If you enjoy being together, this is a great retreat.

  • Liked — It was spacious and unique. The craftsmanship was excellent. In the country but close to Cornell U conference.
  • Disliked — Minor issues - somewhat difficult to locate if arriving after dark; not feasibile to walk to restaurants, etc.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Quarry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Quarry House

Address: 26 Quarry Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat from everyday life one of our four private houses - the stone cottage, the tower cottage, the apartment, or the hilltop house. Situated on five peaceful acre as near Cornell and Ithaca College, four miles from downtown Ithaca, each space offers understated design, high-count line-dried linens, down comforters over superior mattresses, fine Stickley and Harden furnishings, hand-knotted carpets, stone and iron artistry . . . All designed for your comfort. From the full kitchen in the apartment and hilltop house to the kitchenettes in the cottages, you can create meals at home or enjoy Ithaca's many excellent restaurants. For a weekend or an extended stay, the Stone Quarry House is ready to be your home away from home in Ithaca. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Quarry House Hotel Ithaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Quarry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.