We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Just a Taste

Just a Taste
116 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4302
607-277-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 234 restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American, Tapas, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to this little gem. We requested seating on the outdoor patio and it was great. The food was fabulous! My favorites were the potato wedges, garlicky greens, and pulled pork. The desserts were a bit underwhelming though. We will definitely return:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    122
    43
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“really fun and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Make reservations if you can; we called a few minutes before getting there to hold a table and it was a good call. The food was great; lots of options and so so fabulous. Tapas but not just "spanish" flavored so you can try a lot of things. the service was a bit harried but they did a good job of keeping up. Its small; good wines and flights. Reasonable prices. delicious

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I haven't experienced a tapas-style restaurant, so it was a real treat to be able to select a variety of dishes and experiment with different flavours to see what went with each other, along with a variety of drinks. Food was of good quality and always hot, the orders came quickly and we did not feel pressured by the wait staff as sometimes busy places will 'encourage' you to get out in order to have a faster turnover in customers. We were there on a Tuesday night and it was crowded with every table filled, which should tell you something about the restaurant.

Will definitely go back again the next time we're in Ithaca!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Delicious small plates, beautifully prepared. I love sampling a few bites, then trying something else. A nice variety available. Very reasonable price. We got there early so seating was no problem

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed by Unwelcoming Staff and Average Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose this restaurant because of the positive reviews. The restaurant was very busy and loud with super cramped seating. I ordered the baked brie with melon, house-made foccacia with garlic and romaine salad in balsamic. The food wasn't bad, but I've definitely had better. The wait staff were unprofessional and unfriendly. They weren't in restaurant uniform and their overly casual clothing seemed unfitting. The waiter we had didn't even introduce himself and every time he brought a dish to the table he said absolutely nothing and walked away. It made us feel unwelcome. There are tons of other places to eat in Ithaca.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just a Taste also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Just a Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Just a Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.