We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Za Za's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZaZa's Cucina

ZaZa's Cucina
622 Cascadilla St, Ithaca, NY 14850
607 273-9292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 220 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Reservations
Description: At ZaZa's Cucina Restaurant we offer the most authentic Italian food following the recipes of mother and daughter, Viviana Valenti and Flaminia Cervesi. You can dine with family and friends at one of our large main dining room tables, or you can enjoy a very private and cozy dinner near our fireplace, or at one of our dimly lit corner tables. Enjoy!
Ithaca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Za Za's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

We only go once a year, if that, but I love this place.
Fine dining, best place in Ithaca, IMO, but I do like The Boatyard and The Heights, too.
Also, a fully staffed and stocked bar with some great elite cocktails.
Food always top notch with great daily specials.
If you're new to Ithaca or just passing through, a good idea to set aside an evening for Za's.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone - Even a Crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Had a large group dinner here with a downstate crowd, and heard nothing but great things from all the attendees. There's something on the menu for everyone including vegetarians. Ate way too much good food with all my friends, and even went for the black forest tart that included some lovely brandied cherries. I did make up for it by eating kale earlier in the meal.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food & Handles Large Groups Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I was part of a group that went here for a dinner. The staff did an excellent job handling our very large group. The food was very good, too; I had fried calamari, fried mozzarella, and veal parmesean- not healthy, but if I was going to go down that night, I would have been happy!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Hit or miss.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We've eaten here twice in the last month (2/13 & 3/7).
Last month I had the caesar salad and smoked mozzarella ravioli. Dad had the calamari and short rib gnocchi. My husband had the burrata and cavatelli. All delicious!
Last week I had the lasagna; we shared an order of calamari to start. My husband had the mushroom pappardelle. He loved it. The portion on the calamari was half of what my dad got last month. So, he either got too much or we got too little. Odd. For $18 I received one piece of lasagna. Was it an $18 piece of lasagna? No. Very disappointing. The bread arrived half way through our meal the second time, right after we sat down the first time.
Both times when the calamari was ordered we were not offered a choice on sauce as otherwise indicated on the menu. We realized it afterwards. I guess eating here all depends on who is in the kitchen and who is waiting tables on any particular night you go. Good luck!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Very nice, quiet place to dine with an expansive menu (especially the wine & drink menu). Our server was relatively new, and wasn't afraid to find out the answers to any questions we had about the menu (I have food allergies). The atmosphere was very nice and calming. Food was excellent and timed well. The onsite parking was great given the snowy conditions.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZaZa's Cucina also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to ZaZa's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZaZa's Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.