We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a few issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rose

Rose
2255 N Triphammer RD, Ithaca, NY 14850
607-257-5542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Watkins Glen, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food with a few issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stopped here around 4pm. There were people at the bar - but no one at the hostess desk. Waited approximately 4-5 minutes before any staff came to seat me. Ordered the Bourbon Chicken and then the Bourbon Shrimp to go. Both were quite tasty - but I would honestly order the sauce on the side and add my own as they are VERY generous with the marinade, and although it is tasty - it flooded the plate. I ordered the Shrimp to go with sweet potato fries and when I got it home for my husband - we discovered they were regular fries. Don't get me wrong the fries were also tasty, but my husband prefers sweet potato fries - that is why I ordered them. We also had the Caesar Salad as well - again - would recommend getting the dressing on the side as they add quite a bit - and some of the lettuce was rotted - not a huge deal as I just did not eat that. Service once I was seated was quick. And the food very good - just would again recommend sauces on the side - so you can taste the meat or the rice too. Check out was easy. The restaurant is conveniently located - seemed clean and staff was mediocre - nice but not overly attentive. I left without even being noticed I think. Would I go back - yes. Would it be my first choice - not necessarily - but the food was good, and the restaurant seemed nice. Have to work on the service issues to be outstanding though. All in all - I would give it a B or B- - but would not be averse to eating there again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, NY
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Salad Bar with Plenty of Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We enjoyed lunch here on a recent week day. It was not busy-but there were people in the restaurant. We have dined here several times, and the quality of food seems to remain about the same.
The French Onion Soup is spectacular. Add in the salad bar and the meal is a more than satisfying lunch. There are so many toppings for the salad. There is also a "hot" portion of the salad bar which has meat, potatoes, pasta, etc. In the past there has been pizza-but did not see it on this particular visit. I only had the cold salads, but enjoyed the fact that there were so many delicious additions.
Others in the party enjoyed Chicken Chimichanga and Pot Roast dinner. They enjoyed their choices.
Our waitress was nice, but did not seem to know very much when asked about food choices. She may have been new, but she seemed to say she had been there a little while. She needed a couple reminders to bring us some parts of our meal. Not a big deal-just a mention.
Overall, I will return, as it is an easy place to get into and have a decent meal for either lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Sandwiches for a Light Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had the french dip and it was superb! It comes with an order of fries, but I ordered it with garlic fries instead of regular, and they hot, fresh, and perfectly seasoned. My friend had the open face steak sandwich which was cooked perfectly and the regular fries were great too! The only complaint was that even though the place wasn't very busy, the service was rather slow. My water glass stayed empty for quite a while. Very nice laid back atmosphere, and definitely a wide variety of options on their menu, so a group could go here and everyone would be able to find something they liked.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Some of the best onion soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

and a credible salad bar. Prices are good, food not too imaginative but dependably tasty and great service. Have been coming here for 10 years and never had a bad time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Food was ok. Scallops and mushrooms good. Service was nice and people at the bar were sociable. Nice salad bar offering.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose also viewed

 

Been to Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.