We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont care how hungry you are...keep driving.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rose

Rose
2255 N Triphammer RD, Ithaca, NY 14850
607-257-5542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“I dont care how hungry you are...keep driving.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I shouldve walked out when the guy wearing an apron started hacking up a lung. I was told that he only washed dishes...shouldve left. The fajitas were aweful. No flavor just meat and overly-oily onions and peppers. Nothing served with it to add zest. And nobody checked up on me until the last few bites. So my water was also empty for over 10 min. The only reason it gets a 2 rating is the decent chili. Obtw there was only one other diner so dont think i am too harsh on service. There is a real dearth of places to eat on this exit but you really should keep driving.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Salad Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Almost every time we go to Ithaca, we have lunch at The Rose. We take visitors there for meals--lunch or dinner--as well. We have not been disappointed, and they usually select the salad bar, with its set of hot dish offerings, just as we do. On occasion, I have selected a special dessert, as well. Always, their food is first-rate! Their waitpersons are delightful as well!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Typical bar food is good choice here, This is an American restaurant that has Italian & Mexican items on the menu as well. Stay away from these choices. They no longer serve pizza

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfort Food, "Cheers" Atmosphere, A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a favorite place of mine to eat. The food is always good: steaks, chicken, ribs, sandwiches and pizza. One can choose Mexican fare, Italian food, or American cuisine. Fantastic desserts abound. The salad bar includes greens, pasta and potato salads, coleslaw, veggies, pepperoni, eggs, peppers, bacon, olives, cheeses, etc. It will delight both vegetarians and omnivores. The sports bar area is mostly separate from the restaurant, but has plenty of seating for sports enthusiasts to watch the myriad of games on the TV sets. It's in a strip mall, with plenty of parking. For lunch, there is a hot buffet salad bar that is always delightful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This time the food was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Rose is a location that our team meets once a month. The food this month was great. The wait staff is alwasy top's.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose also viewed

 

Been to Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.