We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative pub food in a fun college town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Grill

Mahogany Grill
114 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4302
607-272-1438
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creative pub food in a fun college town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Mahogany has solid burgers/sandwiches- the Altered Ruben was delicious, fries extra crispy and the burgers were cooked perfectly. Those who enjoy beer will like the selection of local brews!

Service was friendly and attentive....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really enjoyed the dining experience at Mahogany Grill. The food is very high quality and they are well-staffed and well-trained. The atmosphere is also great. Great location on the commons.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great burger size, average potions for everything else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I got a bacon burger which was fantastic, seriously great. My co-workers got salmon, and tuna taco's. i heard the salmon was great, the tacos were very tiny. Prices a little high, and the service we had was not the best. After being seated, we didn't get a waiter or ever water for nearly 10 minutes. I can get better faster service with a similar burger at Ale House.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Table side mimosas, delicious omelette, and outstanding crab cakes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We walked around the commons looking for brunch and we found The Mahogany. Great food, fresh ingredients, spot on service and lovely table side mimosas. The fresh orange juice went well with the sparkling wine. We sat outside and enjoyed the lovely day. The side of potato was interesting, with cheese and some spice. We will return the next time we are in Ithaca.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ate, Drank, Was Merry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I had a phenomenal late dinner here this weekend. We sat at a table outside and got to people watch while eating great food and having delicious drinks. Our host was super friendly and gave us a warning that the kitchen was very backed up so it might take a while for our meals to come out. However, our food came out very fast. We had the crispy portobello fries to start. We ordered the Banana coconut crusted mahi mahi and the Lobster and fettucine for entrees and were told those are their 2 most popular dishes. I now see why. The mahi was 1 of the best mahi meals I've ever had. I've had Mahi all over the world and this was phenomenal. i would make the 3 hour drive back to Ithaca just for this meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grill also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mahogany Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.