We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Grill

Mahogany Grill
114 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4302
+1 607-272-1438
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 248 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were just in town and wanted a local place for a nice lunch. This hit the spot. Lots of local character and the food was very good. Loved the locally brewed beer too! Very attentive service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    71
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Wide choice of dishes with fresh produce. Fast, efficient service.Main reason for eating here is to watch some kind fo sport on various screens........we were not disappointed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant + friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Not too loud, great ambience, and nice selection of apps, salads, burgers, + sandwiches. Very pleasant place for a summer Saturday lunch (outdoor seating available, too).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I wish I'd looked at Trip Advisor reviews before going here, but we were desperate to eat, and the menu looked possible.

We requested no cheese on three of the sandwiches we ordered. My daughter's grilled chicken sandwich was served with cheese. We pointed it out, and our server returned it to the kitchen. When the sandwich came back, we didn't notice right away that the cheese had merely been scraped off (that's because they flipped the chicken over so we wouldn't see the remaining bits). My daughter has a dairy allergy and ended up having a reaction after we left the restaurant. We were not impressed!

From what I heard, the burgers were enjoyed by those who ordered them. I had the pulled pork sandwich, and felt it lying heavy in my stomach afterward - quite sickening, actually. Perhaps there's too much mayo in the coleslaw, or perhaps coleslaw doesn't belong on a sandwich...?

The sweet potato fries were the best part of our order; in fact, yummy.

Our server (Chris) didn't seem to enjoy his job very much.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wonderful meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Mahogany! Our simple cocktails were well made (many restaurants only give you a hint of alcohol.....Mahogany served a real drink). The shrimp in the shrimp coctail were large, sweet, and perfectly cooked. Our dinners were both tenderloin medallions oscar -- the beef was closer to medium rare than medium, but was tasty none the less. The asparagus was grilled (or maybe roasted...not sure) and added a nice flavor to the dish. The creamed corn had quite a spicy kick to it. Dessert was cheesecake for my husband, and chocolate-peanut butter pie for me.....both were quite rich, but delicious. Our server was fabulous, friendly, and attentive. She did forget to bring us our bread, but that's OK with us because we often don't even eat it. Maybe the server was a mind reader and just KNEW we wouldn't want it!)

We thoroughly enjoyed our outdoor seating with all the people-watching, and would recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grill also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mahogany Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.