We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here often” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ling Ling Garden

Ling Ling Garden
331 Pine Tree Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 273-1668
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 221 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Come here often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We order food from ling ling's about twice a month and I really enjoy it. The food is very consistent and always tastes good. The people are very friendly and the place is always clean. This is one of my favorite places in Ithaca to get take-out

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good standard inexpensive Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice little Chinese place, fast takeout, plenty of seating, plenty of parking, handy to a strip mall for a couple errands after lunch (especially handy for eating lunch with laundry finishes at the laundromat). Good choice for a work lunch, as the lunch special is very reasonably priced. Standard Chinese menu, with better-than-average potstickers / dumplings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Steamed Dumplings were absolutely DEELISH! Definitely recommend those. I had all white meat General's chicken and beef and broccoli. Everything was very good. The crab rangoons were okay but the breading too thick!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Service not so good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First of all, the picture shown does not go with this restaurant. I've had excellent takeout from this restaurant in the past. We took our college-age daughter and her friend here for dinner. The service wasn't too good -- the waiter brought us two waters and two teas and I couldn't seem to get him to bring me white rice. The pepper stead I ordered was pretty good although it seemed to have more pepper than steak. My hot and sour soup had way too much black pepper in it and not much else (I have this kind of soup often and was disappointed with this). I got the feeling the regular staff was away or something. We had another Chinese restaurant in mind for this dinner but it was closed (on a Tuesday night). Anyway, I was disappointed this time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality slipping down very fast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are takeout customers of Ling Ling Garden for many years - practically since
it opened. The service, quality and price of food has been quite reasonable if not very good.

In the last month ( August of 2013) we have been very surprised with the unacceptable quality of food - did they change chef or they started cutting corners on their food quality and preparation? For example,
we ordered General Cho Chicken a few weeks ago and to our surprise there was
no MEAT in what we received. It was cartilage or breading.. It was simply disgusting - Nothing we have learned to expect from Ling Ling Garden, After hesitation to go back for 2 weeks, we returned in late August and the food was also below the standards we have learned to expect.

We don't have many take out Chinese restaurants in Ithaca. We hope whatever it is, the owners of Ling Ling Garden address fast their problems (cooks?) and return back to satisfying quality food. Otherwise they will be missing reliable customers like us .. and I am sure we are NOT the only ones noticing this changes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ling Ling Garden also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ling Ling Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ling Ling Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.