We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Average Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant

Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant
113-117 Dryden Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 256-8212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Average Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Service was not very good, the servers were quite cold and not very helpful. The food quality was average. They have a good location in collegetown and it's nice that there is delivery. Too pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food is really good, but the place could be better. Too expensive for the experience. I would rather buy and take home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“There are ONLY TWO places to eat sushi in Ithaca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have lived in Ithaca the past 14 years, and the only where you can consistently get great sushi are Plum Tree and Sushi O Sake.

Hiro and David are the true sushi masters in Ithaca. Other places are haphazard at best.

My wife and I ate at Plum Tree last night. We sat at the sushi bar, chatted with the Hiro and his sushi chef staff. They're quite personable and immediately make you welcome.

The fish is always fresh as he gets it every other day and cuts it quite generously. I've eaten all over this hemisphere and no one cuts it more generously. We had chirashi and Hiro made us a special roll that added shrimp tempura to the fire dragon (see pic). All I can say is amazing!

Namé is quite welcoming. Jesse is a great server.

As an aside, we often get take out. Edmund and Chris are very fast and likable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Best sushi outside Manhattan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been eating here for years. We eat sushi weekly. Fish is fresh with a great variety.

I've eaten sushi on East and West coast, and all Ithaca sushi restaurants. Plum Tree is the best.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORAVIA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I took my granddaughter here for her first sushi. She loved the lunch in a botu box. I enjoy the fresh food, good service, and very reasonable prices. Best Japanese restaurant in Ithaca!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Tree Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.