We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Original Vegetarian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moosewood Restaurant

Moosewood Restaurant
215 North Cayuga Street, Ste 70, Ithaca, NY 14850-4323
607-273-9610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 220 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Vegan
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“The Original Vegetarian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

These are the same folks who wrote the legendary Moosewood Cookbooks. The vegetables are great, the salads impossibly fresh, and the service was prompt and very friendly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    139
    82
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill, nj
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Rather Surprised--and not in a good way . . .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Went out of our way to drive through Ithaca as part of a five-day trip and was eagerly anticipating lunch at Moosewood. I am allergic to onions--strange, but true. We eat out a lot and, in about 30 years, can only remember leaving a restaurant once because I couldn't find anything without onions. Well, Moosewood makes it two. Every entree had onions and all were "prefab" enough (including salads and Asian vege rolls) that they couldn't be made without. I was shocked. That doesn't seem "fresh" to me. The waiter was pleasant enough, but when we left he said "good luck" as if finding food without onions was impossible. Good grief. Three evenings before, I found myself eating in a hotel bar after 9 in the evening. Having looked at the limited menu, I found two vegetarian options. I pick one and asked if it could be made without onions and the waiter said "no problem, that's easy." Hmm--a hotel bar can do it, but Moosewood can't . . .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“4 Star Vegetarian Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Was not sure if Moosewood could live up to the James Beard reputation its cookbooks have earned, but it came close. Had cod special at lunch - the fish was perhaps the best cod I have ever had, but the lukewarm temperature (I am being too kind) of both the carrots and asparagus that accompanied it was quite disappointing. Split pea soup was a clever creation and very fresh. While I am glad that my steamer (steamed milk with flavor of your choice - I picked vanilla) was awesome, the beverage is not supposed to be the item that I will remember longest. Having said that, the crew here is incredibly nice (host), helpful (water/busser) and funny/engaging (waiter). Definitely worth a try, check out the lunch and dinner menus on line if you are a picky eater to make sure they have something you will want at the upcoming meal

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The icon of vegetarian cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After using Moosewood's cookbooks for over 20 years, we finally dined there. Dinner was creative, delicious, and professionally served. So good we went back two more times in our two day stay in Ithaca.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent vegetarian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Problably not among the best all-time, But that's a very high standard! Excellent vegetarian food, creatively prepared, and served by very nice people!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moosewood Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Moosewood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moosewood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.