We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Banfi

Taverna Banfi
130 Statler Drive, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853
6072542565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Banfi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 221 Restaurants in Ithaca
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 130 Statler Drive
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Banfi is very convenient if you are staying at the Statler Hotel - we had all our meals at the Banfi. We loved our breakfast and lunch. However, dinner was just average. Too pricey and choices were very limited - especially, for vegetarians. Since they get a all their produce fresh, one would have expected the chef(s) to be little more creative. Next time, we may probably venture off campus for dinner...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great place to dine on the Cornell campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A large and lovely restaurant in the Statler Hotel on the Cornell campus, it's a great place for dinner or brunch, whether you are a guest at the hotel or not. There is complimentary valet parking, as there is no on-site parking. Although not staying at the hotel for the weekend, four of us had dinner Friday night and three of us had Sunday brunch, and we were all happy with our meals. The dinner is strictly from a menu, but there are so many tempting choices. Not able to choose between the duck breast or the braised short ribs, two of us shared both. The short ribs were the clear winner. Brunch is an elaborate and wonderful buffet that includes hot and cold breakfast foods as well as hot and cold salads and entrees, and fabulous desserts. The restaurant and the hotel are training grounds for students in Cornell's Hotel School, so service can sometimes be less than professional, but that's understandable and forgivable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxation at Cornell campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant lunch with the smart guys.

On a hot summer mid day we entered this restaurant for a cool break. This hidden jam is located on the second floor of the hotel within Cornell university campus. It is operated by Cornell students of hoteling. They serve lunch buffet which looks, smells and taste better then the offering of the surrounding cafeterias. It does cost more but the atmosphere and the company worth it.

You can also take a half buffet offering of soup and salads.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The restaurant is extremely convenient if you're staying at the Statler. Had dinner here the first night we stayed. The food is nicely presented but my cavatelli bolognese had very little taste, meaning it was bland, as was the mozzarella & tomato salad. My husband had the Mussels appetizer which was tasty but some had sand in them and some didn't open. The steak he had was very good, though. Overall, the food was just so-so for the money and the high expectations. The staff was very friendly and fun to talk to about their hotel and restaurant studies. But they are still learning and the service isn't comparable to the prices paid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bleh, don't go here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Bleh. Too much money for a sub par meal. Filet was overlooked, potatoes in the roasted chicken salad were undercooked, and when my daughter got the ratatouille, she said " there's no food in my food". A few vegetables floating in a flavorless broth. Service was adequate, not stellar. Don't bother.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Banfi also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Taverna Banfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Banfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.