We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer; lacking menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ithaca Beer Co.

Ithaca Beer Co.
Ithaca Beer Drive, Ithaca, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good beer; lacking menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The new brewery is a little off the road but definitely a good find. We tried a number of their beers. We really liked the Apricot Wheat beer. The brewery seemed to have of fans. We met a few others that were there from out of town, and made a point to come to refill on their favorites. We really wished the place would have had more food options. Similar to wine tasting, we wished the place would have offered pretzels or crackers to eat before the next beer. Also thought it would be great if the place sold soft pretzels or pizza sticks to dip in marinara as a snack. Needs more snack options, in my humble opinion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go for the Food, Not Just the Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When given a gift certificate for the Ithaca Beer Company, I was a bit deflated because I'm not a beer connoisseur. But we were blown away by the great food - real gourmet quality. We were so impressed w/ the food so we took foodie friends to IBC, one of whom does LOVE beer. We were all very pleased with the high quality food & the beer was darn good too. The view from the outdoor patio complements the great food & beer. The whole IBC experience is a Finger Lakes highlight & perfect to share with visiting guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“GREAT Beer... and food too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wow, the new Ithaca Beer facility is great. The beer has always been awesome and now they have a facility and great food to match. Grab a Partly Sunny and head out to their outdoor area for a relaxing sunset. You'll thank me later!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate at IBC on Father's Day. We ordered salads and pizza. Both were excellent. The salad dressing...yummy! The pizza crust...perfect. And of course, the beer was excellent. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca,ny
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“4-Star Restaurant, 5-Star Attraction, and here's why...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

IBC is a great new addition to the Ithaca restaurant scene, but...it would have to be in "town" for me to give it the five stars that the service and food deserves. Unfortunately, it's located a bit out of the way (on a small side road out toward Newfield). The ten minute drive is a pain...and even more of a pain if you've had a few of their excellent craft beers.
The staff is very knowledgeable about the brewing of beers and good for debating the intricacies of hoppy vs. porter-y vs. lager-y. If you are a beer aficionado, it's a "must stop."
This review is focused on the restaurant side.
It's clear here that the focus is on beer.
That said, the food offerings, while limited, are very good.
The salads are fresh and offer that extra bit of local herbs that make your mouth water and wonder "what is it that makes it taste so fresh and good?" The burgers are fantastic and have(again) a fresh and wonderful taste. The "French fry flight" is genius! On my three visits, the deserts have been very limited. I hope management will flesh this segment out in the future.
Personally, I would also like to see some protein offerings that don't include red meat...some chicken, pork or egg would be welcomed.
Over all, a good meal with good service.

As an Ithaca attraction...a solid 5 stars (see review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ithaca Beer Co. also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ithaca Beer Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ithaca Beer Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.