We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sumo

Sumo
Cayuga mall, Ithaca, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 248 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Newly opened
NY
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Very good, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

In order of best to worse:
1. Great service
2. Sushi pretty good: chirashi made well. Good dragon roll
3. Teppanyaki beef, scallops, and veggies cook well. However, the marinades too similar
4. Teppanyaki noodles weren't particularly inspiring,
5. Fried rice wasn't cooked long enough on grill, so it was mushy
6. Dipping sauces weren't good
7. Ginger Salad dressing was mayo based, not good at all.

Summary: I'll get sushi takeout.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Circus atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to this place after hearing wonderful things about it. I brought visitors from out of town, thinking we were in for a treat. We sat at a hibachi table at first, and were miserable. It was so deafeningly loud that we asked to be moved. They put the 5 of us in a private room, which was at least quiet, but not really heated so we all kept our winter coats on through dinner. The food was not bad, we all enjoyed what we ate, though the prices seemed quite high for what we had, maybe 50% more than at other places with similar food. We ordered a range of hibachi and menu dishes, and the servings were ample across the board. The staff were very helpful and solicitous.
Bottom line: if you're looking for a carnival atmosphere then check out the hibachi tables. If you want a quiet dinner look elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Sushi was pretty but tasteless. The restaurant is very loud. With a concrete floor, it felt like we were eating in a converted parking garage. There are much better Japanese restaurants in Ithaca.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went to SUMO with my family and had a fantastic time. We went to a hibachi table, and the chef was fun and excited to cook for us. The wait staff was also very friendly and inviting. The food was delicious in my opinion, definitely worth your money. My 3 year old nephew was with us and the chef even made him a balloon sword, I would recommend going with a group of 4-8, it's much easier for the chef to get everyone involved and assure everyone to have an entertaining time. If you're going to SUMO, go to the hibachi table! you will love it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Big surprise inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This restaurant is located it a rather run down strip mall, but what a surprise when we opened the doors! It was beautiful inside. Lots of dark wood and a lovely fish tank. The food was spectacular. Very fresh and well crafted. The service left a bit to be desired, appetizers forgotten, condiments not supplied when asked for, but everyone was very pleasant and polite. They have a bar unlike most of the other sushi available in town. They also have private rooms available at no charge. Definitely worth it to reserve one ahead the main hibachi room and main dining room are rather loud and echo-y.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.